No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Ocean Hotel

2Self Classified Small Hotel Ratings explained
180-182 PROMENADE , BLACKPOOL, FY1 1RJ
The Ocean Hotel is the first family-run hotel situated on the promenade, conveniently located to access most of Blackpool’s glittering attractions. We are in easy reach of theatres, clubs and bars not to mention the Tower, Winter Gardens AND North Pier. All of our rooms are comfortable and accommodating en-suites, featuring televisions, hairdryers, tea & coffee making facilities and full central heating. Several of our rooms even boast a lovely view of the Irish Sea, available at no extra cost! We are centrally heated throughout and our helpful staff-base are willing to assist you in everything you need. We really do put our guests comfort and relaxation first.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 60 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
63% recommended this accommodation to a friend 69% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Don't stay here! Room shabby, Service awful. Proprietor surly.
We are mother and daughter. We arrived and were not given the room we booked. The room was shabby, dingy, very pokey and needed a total refurb, as did the whole hotel. I looked in the kitchen and decided not to eat there, or even have a coffee. We were too late to find anywhere else, so stayed. They insisted on cash payment and then tried to charge us twice. They wouldn't even give us a receipt. The proprietor was surly. The only good thing about the hotel was that the bed was comfy. This hotel does not deserve any star rating.
I will not stay there again and definitely not recommend this hotel, except to avoid it at all costs.

Reviewed by
C Hunter

From Stratford upon Avon, England
Who stayed in September 2013

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

defo worth the money for a boys weekend away!
Nothing amazing but decent standard room for the money, best notes is the nightclub right next door! Plus kebab shop....easy days!!

Reviewed by
B Murton

From Farnborough , UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very clean room & hotel but could do with a lick of paint as décor was in serious need of updating. A warm welcome & accommodating as we asked to stay a second night and we could.

Reviewed by
C Marshall

From UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great!!!!
The Ocean Hotel could certainly do with a lick of paint, but the service is second to none!! Beds and bathroom were immaculately clean and the staff are exceptionally helpful and accomodating. We wouldn't hesitate to return. Some reviews of this hotel mention noise, but we had a peaceful night. Perfect budget,family accomodation. Top marks.

Reviewed by
E M

From Stockton on Tees, England
Who stayed in August 2013

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not very good
Hotel was dirty, tatty, in need of repair and not worth 2 stars. Way over priced.
Staff too casual and unwilling to help. The TV in the room did not even work.

Reviewed by
L Beckmann

From Newcastle upon Tyne, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

great hosts
from the time we arrived to the time we left we were welcomed and treated as friends more than guests.
whatever we asked they were very helpful weither it was information or directions or for small things like ice for in the room.
my mother in law lost a signet ring while we were staying here and a couple of days after we got home there was a small package with the ring in.
couldn't ask for a better place to stay

Reviewed by
laura jean m

From Leek, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Weekend Stay
We thought the Ocean Hotel was perfect for our needs. We had read some negative reviews after we booked online but were pleasantly surprised to find that all the staff were friendly and helpful. Everywhere was clean and tidy. Our room had a sea view which was a lovely bonus. If you want a pleasant place to stay and don't mind that the decor is homely we would recommend this place to stay. The breakfast was really good too! We would definitely stay again next year.

Reviewed by
Jacky W

From UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

No frills b and b. Room was clean and had a very comfortable bed but the shower was not great. Had a decent view of the Irish Sea and the guy on the desk said he could fit me in for breakfast for an extra £4.50 but I did not take up the offer. Ok if you are going to the Rebellion Festival

Reviewed by
T Moynihan

From Deptford, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Family break
The hotel is very dated, however it was spotlessly clean and comfortable . The breakfast was a little late in the morning but very good and lots of it, nothing was too much trouble.

Reviewed by
k roberts

From dewsbury, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

weekend all dayer
The hotel is very very nice it is ideally situated in the centre of the town and has perfect sea views and to allow people just for a one night stay is excellent

Reviewed by
terence farrington

From Wigan, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 Next