No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Ocean Hotel

2Self Classified Small Hotel Ratings explained
180-182 PROMENADE , BLACKPOOL, FY1 1RJ
The Ocean Hotel is the first family-run hotel situated on the promenade, conveniently located to access most of Blackpool’s glittering attractions. We are in easy reach of theatres, clubs and bars not to mention the Tower, Winter Gardens AND North Pier. All of our rooms are comfortable and accommodating en-suites, featuring televisions, hairdryers, tea & coffee making facilities and full central heating. Several of our rooms even boast a lovely view of the Irish Sea, available at no extra cost! We are centrally heated throughout and our helpful staff-base are willing to assist you in everything you need. We really do put our guests comfort and relaxation first.
Picture of Ocean Hotel, BLACKPOOL at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 59 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
63% recommended this accommodation to a friend 68% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

No frills b and b. Room was clean and had a very comfortable bed but the shower was not great. Had a decent view of the Irish Sea and the guy on the desk said he could fit me in for breakfast for an extra £4.50 but I did not take up the offer. Ok if you are going to the Rebellion Festival

Reviewed by
T Moynihan

From Deptford, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Family break
The hotel is very dated, however it was spotlessly clean and comfortable . The breakfast was a little late in the morning but very good and lots of it, nothing was too much trouble.

Reviewed by
k roberts

From dewsbury, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Bang on
Came for a Saturday night for a mates birthday. Spot on for what we wanted. 22 quid each and a stones throw away from the nightclub. Owners seemed pretty layed back too. Check out time was 10am... But they didn't start banging the door down when we overslept like some hotels would. Fair play.

Reviewed by
Jonathan B

From York, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

weekend all dayer
The hotel is very very nice it is ideally situated in the centre of the town and has perfect sea views and to allow people just for a one night stay is excellent

Reviewed by
terence farrington

From Wigan, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

weekend break
Had a great time

Reviewed by
Angela O

From Bradford, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

shocking
Myself and my boyfriend aren't in the slightest the kind to complain; we booked this BnB in full knowledge that it was a last minute booking and that we weren't going to be staying in the best hotel in Blackpool. When we arrived we were directed to park and then entered the building to collect our keys- although we were early on arrival the manager gave us our keys instantly which was helpful. However, after a full day at the Pleasure Beach we arrived back to the hotel and our room ready to shower and unwind, although we instantly found that not only was our shower cold, it was also producing very, very little water. After being moved to another room to have said shower, we returned back to our room to discover that the complimentary hairdryer didnt work either (in both rooms). The overall cleanliness of the hotel was on the whole horrendous; visible limescale on the taps. As I said we were under no illusion that the hotel would be amazing, but we were expecting fully-functioning facilities. I would definitely not stay here again as the price didn't even remotely reflect the quality of the stay which you are offered. We refused breakfast due to the visible uncleanliness of the manager. Oh, and also, he offered absolutely no refund or part-refund for our inconvenience. This hotel is stuck in the 60's and needs a serious furniture, facility and staff renovation. Do not stay here.

Reviewed by
T Keers

From Manchester, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Just what was required
The hotel is in a good location on the Blackpool promenade near the north pier. It is very close to the nightlife and the tower, which was exactly what we required. The hotel itself is a little dated in its decor but the gentleman who checked me in was very friendly and efficient as I was checked in and in my room 5 mins after arriving. The room was also dated but clean and had everything required for a 1 night stay. I slept really well so the bed must have been comfortable. I would definitely recommend and stay here again if I visit Blackpool again.

Reviewed by
l hales

From newcastle upon tyne, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Low expectations low room quality
Blackpool b&b's are not famous for being world class accommodation.... However smelling cigarette smoke from the toilet, stained walls and 1970's decor, dirty white sheet over the bed and bright orange carpet was not expected! I have stayed in b&b's in blackpool and at least they are clean! Will never stay here again, i will stick to what i know rather than making a last minute booking!

Reviewed by
v gregory

From stoke on trent, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

When I arrived Saturday I was met by a very rude man- If I wasn't so busy at work I would have cancelled the booking and gone elsewhere. When I left he was pretty rude too. Absolutely awful customer service skills. However room was nice and I had a good sleep. The room was cleanish and fresh towels were provided. Other than the complete rude bloke who spoke to me like I was a piece of dirt I would of recommended this hotel. Overall I don't think it was worth the money I paid.

Reviewed by
S Singh

From Birmingham, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

would stay here again
in need of a refurb but comfortable-didnt have breakfast so unable to comment on food etc

Reviewed by
susan s

From Preston, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 Next