No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Ocean Hotel

2Self Classified Small Hotel Ratings explained
180-182 PROMENADE , BLACKPOOL, FY1 1RJ
The Ocean Hotel is the first family-run hotel situated on the promenade, conveniently located to access most of Blackpool’s glittering attractions. We are in easy reach of theatres, clubs and bars not to mention the Tower, Winter Gardens AND North Pier. All of our rooms are comfortable and accommodating en-suites, featuring televisions, hairdryers, tea & coffee making facilities and full central heating. Several of our rooms even boast a lovely view of the Irish Sea, available at no extra cost! We are centrally heated throughout and our helpful staff-base are willing to assist you in everything you need. We really do put our guests comfort and relaxation first.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 60 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
63% recommended this accommodation to a friend 69% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Blackpool stay
Hotel owner was most helpful and really nice. Offered a great service from lending us wine glasses to letting us park for free even after checking out and letting us have a late check out. Hotel could do with updating but In really great location. And we had a sea view for no extra cost so that was just brilliant.

Reviewed by
R Halladey

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly and good value.
This hotel is on the front and close to the centre. Peter is very friendly and helpful. All you would expect is present in the room including drink making facilities. I had no problems sleeping. The price is good, but you should expect the standard of accommodation you might get if you paid twice as much. The room was not the cleanest. I would have liked to have had a desk or dressing table as I was there on business and needed to use my laptop. There is wifi but I could only access it by going downstairs which was a nuisance (true for phone, iPad and laptop). Breakfast was great and set me up for the day each morning.

Reviewed by
Will R

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

You get what you pay for, although at £45 that's not a bad thing
Room for the night with parking for £45 , Close walking distance to North pier, tower & town, can't argue with that in Blackpool centre,
I would say manners cost nothing to the lady who booked us in & notice of a seemingly long term cash only policy wouldn't have gone a miss,
Room was as you expect at low cost accomodation, but all clean and more than fine for a one night stay, tv & radiator not working and a few random hairs in the bed! But in general a decent secure place to be at the end of a 5 Minuit stroll from the north pier theatre.
All in all, is £45 value for money? We'll if the car park next door alone is £15 per 24 hrs then yes, of corse it is, warm secure room with parking is all we needed.... & that's exactly what we got

Reviewed by
j morris

From Northampton, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

you get what you pay for!!!
stopped in the hotel for 1 night and to be honest if you want 4 star then don't stay, its true what other people say it could do with a lick of paint all over,
we didn't get the best welcome coming in the back way and to be honest it wasn't a pleasant site not the best first impressions, but it was cheap

Reviewed by
mark h

From Nottingham, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Cash only
As the title says this hotel is cash only despite having visa and MasterCard signs in the main entrance and really annoying that they tell you this when checking out along with attitude that you don't have cash on you only Visa debit and MasterCard credit cards.We should have known this whilst checking in at the very latest and had to pay an extra ATM charge as well.
The location is okay as is the view if you are on the front side (facing the sea) as we were although the Windows needed a thorough clean.Parking is too tight for comfort,feared for my car
paintwork.A lot of noise from the nearby entertainment late at night

Reviewed by
nigel d

From Cramlington, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Ocean Hotel
It was well situated for what we wanted.

Reviewed by
Ian M

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

you get what you pay for
arriving at the front door we thought we were entering Bates Motel( Alfred Hitchcock film). A coat of paint would not go amiss on entrance. But must say room and beds were clean. Was going to order breakfast but was put off with seeing entrance first.

Reviewed by
sylvia hayles

From Newcastle upon Tyne, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very basic
Room was small and in need of decoration. Fittings and furniture is old. Would do if all you're looking for is a bed. A big plus is off road parking to the rear and location is ideal for blackpools attractions and nightlife.

Reviewed by
Kevin P

From Skegness, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

My Stay
In need of decorating and some repairs required.

Reviewed by
Stephen E

From Hull, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Shame about the beds
For the price I suppose it is what I should have expected. The beds were really poor, fortunately I took a pad I had made up and put it on top of the mattress.... If you stay there you need to take ear plugs, for there is a night club just down the road. Water nice and hot, though you have to run the tap for a while. An electric shower would have been better. The shower in our room just ran from the boiler and the water flow could have been better. Extractor fan in our room thick with years of dust. The best bit of the experience was the breakfast.

Reviewed by
Stephen H

From Warwick, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 Next