No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Ocean Hotel

2Self Classified Small Hotel Ratings explained
180-182 PROMENADE , BLACKPOOL, FY1 1RJ
The Ocean Hotel is the first family-run hotel situated on the promenade, conveniently located to access most of Blackpool’s glittering attractions. We are in easy reach of theatres, clubs and bars not to mention the Tower, Winter Gardens AND North Pier. All of our rooms are comfortable and accommodating en-suites, featuring televisions, hairdryers, tea & coffee making facilities and full central heating. Several of our rooms even boast a lovely view of the Irish Sea, available at no extra cost! We are centrally heated throughout and our helpful staff-base are willing to assist you in everything you need. We really do put our guests comfort and relaxation first.
Picture of Ocean Hotel, BLACKPOOL at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 60 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
63% recommended this accommodation to a friend 69% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Shame about the beds
For the price I suppose it is what I should have expected. The beds were really poor, fortunately I took a pad I had made up and put it on top of the mattress.... If you stay there you need to take ear plugs, for there is a night club just down the road. Water nice and hot, though you have to run the tap for a while. An electric shower would have been better. The shower in our room just ran from the boiler and the water flow could have been better. Extractor fan in our room thick with years of dust. The best bit of the experience was the breakfast.

Reviewed by
Stephen H

From Warwick, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pretty decent for price!
Stayed here for 1 Saturday night in October. Upon arrival we arrived late afternoon and all the parking spaces had gone, were advised to use pay and display car parks near by costing £13-£15 for 24hours *tip* park on the side road next to the hotel and it is free parking after 5pm and Sundays
Receptionist (maybe owner) was friendly and welcoming.
Room was a good size and looked clean and tidy, bathroom as clean (I had read reviews of dirty bathrooms but ours was very clean)
Only negative was that the bed covers had a couple of dirty marks on and pillow cases had what looked like mascara on them - I honestly think they were clean but just stained if that makes sense.
Saying this is would still stay here again, great location for theatres and bars!!

Reviewed by
D Sanderson

From Sheffield, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly hotel, a bit like staying at your Nan's
Good stuff. Friendly staff who spoke to us as people and not just as 'money'. Breakfast was well worth the extra, plenty of top ups and mores if needed. Easy access to the shore front and close enough to the 'action' to walk too. We had.a front room that was quiet enough for a good nights sleep. The kids had a back room and they slept well.
Bad stuff. The hotel is clean but too be fair the decor is stuck in the 80's and the carpets are a bit worn.
That's all the bad I can say.
No ugly.
Overall good value for money and we would stay thee again

Reviewed by
john g

From Hook, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A Drop in The Ocean
This hotel overlooks the sea and thus receives it fair share of sea air and salt water. That is no excuse however for the filthy state of all the frontal windows. The whole place could do with repainting. My room was good and reasonably clean. The Owner was very helpful with my particulars needs.

Reviewed by
John C

From Cirencester, GL7 6AL, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

nice stay
the room we had was very clean and well nice and could not of asked for more and the staff were very friendly too

Reviewed by
tina fern

From Burton on Trent, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

parking was poor. because i was early i had to park at the back not a lot of room and scratched my wheel arch of my car on the wall not happy. other than that it was ok needs the rooms updating bit of paint wouldent go a miss and windows cleaning.very friendly and i would stay again.

Reviewed by
paul byrne

From Manchester, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

friendly staff
I was overall happy with my stay staff let me make my baby's food in their kitchen, staff also friendly. Room was ok comfortable but just your typical Blackpool room lol kitchen lady was lovely made us a nice breakfast same with the Irish guy.

Reviewed by
donna r

From UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very high class for blackpool
Had a fab stay in this hotel was near all the night life and only £2 on tram from the pleaser beach. Very clean and rooms are big. One of the best b&bs I've staied in yet in blackpool.

Reviewed by
Louise M

From Coatbridge, England
Who stayed in September 2013

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Highly Recommend
Great value for money, really friendly staff, would definitely stay again.

Reviewed by
C Mason

From Stalybridge, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Twin rooms are better
Stayed here with my boyfriend, his bro an niece. We had a double room which was very small only just got the double bed in, while his bro ha a twin room which was massive and had a double and single bed in. If we had have known this we would have booked a twin aswell as much better rooms for the same price.

Reviewed by
K Bettany

From UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 Next