No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Ocean Hotel

2Self Classified Small Hotel Ratings explained
180-182 PROMENADE , BLACKPOOL, FY1 1RJ
The Ocean Hotel is the first family-run hotel situated on the promenade, conveniently located to access most of Blackpool’s glittering attractions. We are in easy reach of theatres, clubs and bars not to mention the Tower, Winter Gardens AND North Pier. All of our rooms are comfortable and accommodating en-suites, featuring televisions, hairdryers, tea & coffee making facilities and full central heating. Several of our rooms even boast a lovely view of the Irish Sea, available at no extra cost! We are centrally heated throughout and our helpful staff-base are willing to assist you in everything you need. We really do put our guests comfort and relaxation first.
Picture of Ocean Hotel, BLACKPOOL at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 58 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
64% recommended this accommodation to a friend 69% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Cash only
As the title says this hotel is cash only despite having visa and MasterCard signs in the main entrance and really annoying that they tell you this when checking out along with attitude that you don't have cash on you only Visa debit and MasterCard credit cards.We should have known this whilst checking in at the very latest and had to pay an extra ATM charge as well.
The location is okay as is the view if you are on the front side (facing the sea) as we were although the Windows needed a thorough clean.Parking is too tight for comfort,feared for my car
paintwork.A lot of noise from the nearby entertainment late at night

Reviewed by
nigel d

From Cramlington, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Ocean Hotel
It was well situated for what we wanted.

Reviewed by
Ian M

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

you get what you pay for
arriving at the front door we thought we were entering Bates Motel( Alfred Hitchcock film). A coat of paint would not go amiss on entrance. But must say room and beds were clean. Was going to order breakfast but was put off with seeing entrance first.

Reviewed by
sylvia hayles

From Newcastle upon Tyne, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very basic
Room was small and in need of decoration. Fittings and furniture is old. Would do if all you're looking for is a bed. A big plus is off road parking to the rear and location is ideal for blackpools attractions and nightlife.

Reviewed by
Kevin P

From Skegness, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

My Stay
In need of decorating and some repairs required.

Reviewed by
Stephen E

From Hull, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Shame about the beds
For the price I suppose it is what I should have expected. The beds were really poor, fortunately I took a pad I had made up and put it on top of the mattress.... If you stay there you need to take ear plugs, for there is a night club just down the road. Water nice and hot, though you have to run the tap for a while. An electric shower would have been better. The shower in our room just ran from the boiler and the water flow could have been better. Extractor fan in our room thick with years of dust. The best bit of the experience was the breakfast.

Reviewed by
Stephen H

From Warwick, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pretty decent for price!
Stayed here for 1 Saturday night in October. Upon arrival we arrived late afternoon and all the parking spaces had gone, were advised to use pay and display car parks near by costing £13-£15 for 24hours *tip* park on the side road next to the hotel and it is free parking after 5pm and Sundays
Receptionist (maybe owner) was friendly and welcoming.
Room was a good size and looked clean and tidy, bathroom as clean (I had read reviews of dirty bathrooms but ours was very clean)
Only negative was that the bed covers had a couple of dirty marks on and pillow cases had what looked like mascara on them - I honestly think they were clean but just stained if that makes sense.
Saying this is would still stay here again, great location for theatres and bars!!

Reviewed by
D Sanderson

From Sheffield, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly hotel, a bit like staying at your Nan's
Good stuff. Friendly staff who spoke to us as people and not just as 'money'. Breakfast was well worth the extra, plenty of top ups and mores if needed. Easy access to the shore front and close enough to the 'action' to walk too. We had.a front room that was quiet enough for a good nights sleep. The kids had a back room and they slept well.
Bad stuff. The hotel is clean but too be fair the decor is stuck in the 80's and the carpets are a bit worn.
That's all the bad I can say.
No ugly.
Overall good value for money and we would stay thee again

Reviewed by
john g

From Hook, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A Drop in The Ocean
This hotel overlooks the sea and thus receives it fair share of sea air and salt water. That is no excuse however for the filthy state of all the frontal windows. The whole place could do with repainting. My room was good and reasonably clean. The Owner was very helpful with my particulars needs.

Reviewed by
John C

From Cirencester, GL7 6AL, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

nice stay
the room we had was very clean and well nice and could not of asked for more and the staff were very friendly too

Reviewed by
tina fern

From Burton on Trent, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Family with young children

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 Next