Last Minute Accommodation > World > Europe > UK > England > Devon & Cornwall > Devon > Plymouth > Plympton Hotels > Elfordleigh Hotel, Golf and Leisure Club
No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Elfordleigh Hotel, Golf and Leisure Club

3Visit England Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Dartmoor National Park , Plymouth, PL7 5EB

Simply the Guest Awards Winner

Category: Golf 2013
Based on 100% genuine guest reviews.

For that somewhere truly extra special, why look anywhere else? You are
warmly invited to relax, unwind and savour the unique atmosphere that is,
the Elfordleigh. Set within spectacular South Devon countryside, yet only
minutes away from the main A38, Devon Expressway and the heart of Plymouth,
the Elfordleigh offers the perfect location whether your visit be business
or pleasure.

At Elfordleigh we pride ourselves on offering the finest food and wines. At
the very heart of the hotel is the spacious and comfortable Brasserie
serving light meals and tempting snacks throughout the day. Enjoy the
splendid views from the Brasserie Terrace. Just a step or two away is the
classically styled Churchill's Restaurant. With its adjoining airy
conservatory, this elegant restaurant provides the perfect setting for fine
dining, with menus to suit even the most discerning palettes.

All residents have free use of the leisure centre, which includes a fully
equipped gym, indoor swimming pool, sauna, steam room and jacuzzi.
Picture of Elfordleigh Hotel, Golf and Leisure Club, Plymouth at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 149 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
87% recommended this accommodation to a friend 89% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very good value for money
A very pleasant stay ,our room was clean and had everything we needed..staff where friendly and very helpful ..and the food was very tastey

Reviewed by
Matthew Ball

From Plymouth, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

No hot water and no coffee

Reviewed by
Daniel Simmonds

From Barnstaple, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not recommended
1. Room could do with a makeover. Curtains probably 40 years old - did not coordinate with the brown leather headboard & black leather dining chairs. Carpet well used & worn. 2. Too much use of microwave - the tomato & red pepper soup was served still boiling in a dish ! Similarly the temperature of the pork dish was far too hot. 3. Waitress placed the lids of the large silver dishes on the carpeted floor in order to serve bacon, egg etc ! 4. A cat walked through the restaurant on its way to the kitchen !

Reviewed by
Judith R

From Godalming, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Relaxing and peacful
Thank you for a lovely visit, the beds were comfortable and the staff very helpful

Reviewed by
Peter W

From Haverfordwest, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Beautiful Hotel
A Lovely Hotel in a great location.
Staff are helpful and the hotel has a really nice old fashioned non corporate feel to it.
Would love to stay there when not on business!

Reviewed by
Keith C

From Colchester, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Incredible value
I stayed here mid-week so the hotel was reasonably quiet but the place was excellent. My room was huge, the bathroom spotless with a great shower. The bar was a little basic but the restaurant good and the food was excellent (as was the beer!). Breakfast was excellent, perhaps if the place was a little busier they might revert to a buffet but my breakfast was freshly cooked and piping hot. I also used the gym facilities which were first class. The one sticking point was the Wi-Fi which in my room was completely lousy. I did not raise it with them as it seemed to be a reception issue (just too far from the router) so maybe something could have been done about it.
I just can't fault them however for the value. £64.00 for Bed and Breakfast with excellent facilities. I would heartily recommend this place.

Reviewed by
Denis Golden

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

excellent location
Booked this hotel as it has leisure facilities, unfortunately no-one told me where they were
Had dinner in the club house and the food was very tasty. Hotel room was basic and had a few cobwebs. The bathroom was nice but it had a very noisy toilet
The grounds of the hotel are fabulous.

Reviewed by
T Atkinson

From Little Sutton, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

What a very pleasant surprise!
When I booked i was looking for good value in this particular area and the Elfordleigh came up top of the list and great value. It was not until a couple of days later, when looking for directions that i realised that I had potentially booked a great hotel! I was not all disappointed and although the Hotel was quiet which I might have expected, my experience was excellent all round. I will be back with my wife in tow!

Reviewed by
Ian Harris

From Penzance, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Old hotel in a lovely location
Pros - Lovely location, large room, nice little swimming pool, bar area has been updated & is much brighter since we last stayed but menu choices of bar meals have reduced, although there is a restaurant with a pricier menu. Breakfast o.k. much the same in a lot of places we've stayed.
Cons - Smoking area at the entrance to hotel wreaks of stale cigarettes, car park full with non residents playing golf for the day, loud groups of golfers a little worse for drink at night.

Reviewed by
Sharon J

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The bed was like a bouncy castle
The office door should be closed so guest can't look in
The dining room door into the kitchen should be closed so guests trying to enjoy their meal are not disturbed by kitchen staff
The spa facilities were great
The bar staff were friendly

Reviewed by
C Attwood

From Wimborne, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next