You have not entered any valid search criteria.

Please enter a keyword and perform your search again.

Reviews - Elfordleigh Hotel, Golf and Leisure Club

3

Dartmoor National Park, Plymouth, PL7 5EB

Price From 107.26 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (53)

85% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • Allan W

  • May 2016

Excellent quiet country hotel

If even if you're not a golfer, this is a superb country location, but not far out of Plymouth.

Excellent rooms and good food

  • Richard G

  • May 2016

Good, but shame about the noise

The staff were friendly, food good, and hotel/facilities to reasonable standard.

However, I specifically asked for a quiet room due to the long distance I was travelling so wanted to be fresh. I was given a front room overlooking the carpark which i was assured was quiet. However, lawn mowing at circa 6am with early morning golfers loudly chatting and laughing was not a welcome wake up.

  • Tim B

  • May 2016

Elfordleigh Hotel, Golf and Leisure Club

Reception area disappointing.

All other aspects very good, value for £.

  • Steven P

  • April 2016

Pleaseant Stay at Elfordleigh

Warmly greeted at reception and given a great room overlooking the golf course.

Hotel still under refurbishment so unfair to be critical once completed should be great and will use again

food in the bar area was fine would say for me and I am not a big eater portion size was a little small. Bar menu and restaurant menu both the same maybe due to work being done didn't use the leisure facilities so I cannot comment but local people tell me it is really good.

  • Derek D

  • April 2016

Great accommodation but wait until the refurbishment is complete

Great refurbished room but still parts that need doing, the bar for instance.

We found breakfast salty and bacon undercooked. Lots of outside areas but no seating on some of it which was a shame as we had glorious weather. The Spa was disappointing, no seating by the pool, steam room out of order (Has been for some time I believe) the treatment I booked was screwed up by poor organisation and communication. Out side decking is not accessible if you're a wheelchair or scooter user but completely accessible inside the hotel with a lift to every level. We didn't use the restaurant as we felt the choice was limited. Give it a couple of years for refurbishment to be complete and it should be a great place to stay.

  • J Morgan

  • March 2016

Quiet, friendly location

Whilst the room is a little dated, was advised that the hotel us being refurbished.

Friendly and helpful staff. Lovely, quiet location.

  • m west

  • March 2016

Elfordleigh Hotel, Golf and Leisure Club

We had a really enjoyable 2 night stay at The Elfordleigh Hotel in Plympton.

All the staff we interacted with were very polite, attentive and helpful. The English breakfast was of an exceptionally high standard and the staff couldn't do enough to please us. We would thoroughly recommend a stay at this very comfortable hotel.

  • Dawn O

  • February 2016

Tired rooms but being refurbished

The hotel is in need of refurbishment but this is in progress at the moment.

The room was very spacious, the swimming pool, spa and sauna an added bonus and the staff were all incredibly courteous and helpful. An overall good experience.

  • Hugo W

  • December 2015

Misunderstanding

My stay on the Hotel was based on a Misunderstanding.

I googled 5 Star Hotels in Devonshire, and this one came up on Late Rooms. I booked it, only to find out on arrival that this was far from 5 Stars. Although I must say that the Receptionists deserve a mention, they were cheerful and friendly most of the time. I would not recommend the Restaurant, Food or Service though. In their defence, we were staying between Christmas and New Year, so perhaps they were short of staff, but they were certainly understaffed, and the quality of the food leaves very much to desire. I ordered a 'Bacon and Brie Croissant' for Breakfast. After some 20 Minutes this came, it was barely recognisable as a Croissant, it was badly burnt, black on the outside and not edible. That evening I then ordered a Burger at the Bar Restaurant. When served, the Bun was completely black on the outside, even the Waitress must have been surprised at the level of burning, before I could say anything, she asked whether the Bun 'was alright like that', she must have realised that they should not serve such badly burned food to a paying customer. How about that, two burnt offerings being served in one day.....

  • Lorraine A

  • November 2015

'Twixt City and Moor

Although we are non golfers we would recommend a stay here.

It wasn't far to visit Plymouth city and we stayed in at the Elfordleigh itself for a day and thoroughly enjoyed wildlife watching-deer and birdlife- in their extensive grounds, using their spa and availing myself of an excellent blowdry in the Hairdressing salon. We particularly liked their table d'hote fine dining option and the varied hot breakfast menu. As we choose to eat in, for a longer stay, more variety of main courses in the Brasserie/ Bar menu and Churchill Restaurant would be useful. The friendliness and helpfulness of all the staff was amongst the best we have ever encountered.