Last Minute Accommodation > World > Europe > UK > England > Devon & Cornwall > Devon > Plymouth > Plympton Hotels > Elfordleigh Hotel, Golf and Leisure Club
No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Elfordleigh Hotel, Golf and Leisure Club

3Visit England Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Dartmoor National Park , Plymouth, PL7 5EB

Simply the Guest Awards Winner

Category: Golf 2013
Based on 100% genuine guest reviews.

For that somewhere truly extra special, why look anywhere else? You are
warmly invited to relax, unwind and savour the unique atmosphere that is,
the Elfordleigh. Set within spectacular South Devon countryside, yet only
minutes away from the main A38, Devon Expressway and the heart of Plymouth,
the Elfordleigh offers the perfect location whether your visit be business
or pleasure.

At Elfordleigh we pride ourselves on offering the finest food and wines. At
the very heart of the hotel is the spacious and comfortable Brasserie
serving light meals and tempting snacks throughout the day. Enjoy the
splendid views from the Brasserie Terrace. Just a step or two away is the
classically styled Churchill's Restaurant. With its adjoining airy
conservatory, this elegant restaurant provides the perfect setting for fine
dining, with menus to suit even the most discerning palettes.

All residents have free use of the leisure centre, which includes a fully
equipped gym, indoor swimming pool, sauna, steam room and jacuzzi.
Picture of Elfordleigh Hotel, Golf and Leisure Club, Plymouth at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 149 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
87% recommended this accommodation to a friend 89% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A good pre-Christmas one night stay
This is the 2nd time I've stayed here. I booked a single room and was pleased on arrival to find I had a large room with a small double bed and bay windows overlooking the golf course. Debbie in reception was friendly, the pool was quiet around 4.30pm though the water could have been warmer. I had a great night's sleep, no noise though of course the hotel must have been virtually empty. The room could have been warmer bearing in mind this was mid-December, the radiator didn't come on until about 5.30. My egg mayo sandwiches with garnish from the bar were fine, as was breakfast in the morning (apart from poached eggs being quite soft). £64 B&B was good value and I would stay here again..

Reviewed by
Peter B

From Bournemouth, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent Elfordleigh
Fantastic experience from check in through to check out

Reviewed by
P Watson

From , UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Prestigious old style property but needing some updating and refurbishment
Staff very friendly and helpful. The pool and spa were modern and a good facility. The hotel needs some investment and updating. There is a particular need for some decorating and new furnishings to bring it up to date and to enhance its previous grandeur.

Reviewed by
Caroline P

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Welcoming and Friendly
I found the staff very welcoming and friendly. Only stayed one night but it was a pleasant experience.

Reviewed by
A Huggins

From Nottingham, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

excellent staff and good food
We had a very good short weekend away at Elfordleigh Hotel. The staff, particularly Alex at reception and the Hungarian waitress, were very friendly, kind and helpful. The room decor was dated, but it was clean and pleasant. TV reception was not good for BBC, but the staff offered us another room (unfortunately, it was a twin and we needed a double) and let us use the TV in the bar. Use of the leisure facilities made the cost of the room very reasonable. And dinner in the restaurant was very tasty and good value for money! Thank you.

Reviewed by
Holly R

From Plymouth, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

comfortable friendly and clean hotel on the edge of the moor but close to Plymouth. Facilities were very good just opened at 8am which was a little late start for me. Plenty of choice for breakfast. Would definitely recommend and visit again

Reviewed by
Ali P

From Kidlington, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great break, friendly staff, good food, big rooms.

Reviewed by
B Rowlands

From Wantage, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very good value for money
A very pleasant stay ,our room was clean and had everything we needed..staff where friendly and very helpful ..and the food was very tastey

Reviewed by
Matthew Ball

From Plymouth, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

No hot water and no coffee

Reviewed by
Daniel Simmonds

From Barnstaple, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not recommended
1. Room could do with a makeover. Curtains probably 40 years old - did not coordinate with the brown leather headboard & black leather dining chairs. Carpet well used & worn. 2. Too much use of microwave - the tomato & red pepper soup was served still boiling in a dish ! Similarly the temperature of the pork dish was far too hot. 3. Waitress placed the lids of the large silver dishes on the carpeted floor in order to serve bacon, egg etc ! 4. A cat walked through the restaurant on its way to the kitchen !

Reviewed by
Judith R

From Godalming, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next