No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Crathorne Hall Hotel

4AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Crathorne , Yarm, TS15 0AR
One of Yorkshires grandest country house hotels, awarded four red stars for exceptional quality and service and has been recognised as one of the top 200 hotels in the country,
Crathorne Hall is set in 15 acres of woodland with views of the Leven Valley, the River Leven & the Yorkshire Moors, yet conveniently located only 8 miles from Durham Tees Valley airport, 10 miles from Darlington city centre, and Middlesbrough & Stockton-on-Tees.
For those visiting the area for pleasure, the Yorkshire Dales are close by, Captain Cook Museum and Lightwater Valley Theme Park is only 33 miles away. Crathorne Hall also provides the opportunity to take a walk, jog along one of the walking trails but also wander the well manicured lawns.
After this, return to the hotel for a hot toddy by the roaring fire in the drawing room or a chilled glass of wine under an umbrella on the terrace depending on the season.

Please note children under 12 years are accommodated free when staying with an adult however if an extra bed is required for this, these can only be accommodated in an Executive room.
From July, 2007 the hotel will be non-smoking throughout
Picture of Crathorne Hall Hotel, Yarm at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 9 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
88% recommended this accommodation to a friend 89% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent and consistent quality.
A real treat !Comfortable and friendly.Food is delicious.First visited some years ago and amazed that high quality has been maintained.

Reviewed by
Ann-Marie F

From Manchester, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Worth recommending to others
We had a great visit and really enjoyed our stay, everyone was really really friendly. The only downside is that we were above the function room where there was a disco until midnight which did keep my wife and son awake until just after midnight, but otherwise we would certainly recommend the stay and look forward to staying again and sampling the afternoon tea.

Reviewed by
M Clark

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

CrathorneHall Yarm
Staff were very friendly and helpful. On arrival, they changed our room as there was a wedding party and receptionist thought our sleep would be disturbed. The room was quiet, the bedding clean and bathroom clean. The bed itself was too soft and uncomfortable. We mentioned this the following morning and as we were staying another night, we were upgraded to a better room. On the downside, I felt the hotel, despite being a wonderful building, needs an interior upgrade. The bedroom furniture and furnishings are beginning to look shabby...ditto the bathroom and communal areas. Clearly the once nice new interior design look, is coming to the end of its useful life. The building deserves to look beautifully furnished inside. The dining room looked lovely with clean linen and tables dressed well. The cooked breakfast was nice but I think the 'help yourself' table was unappealing. The pastries looked old, fresh fruit looked dry, muesli powdery and yoghurt watery. The overall experience was good and would probably stay again because the staff were all so lovely and we felt to be made very welcome.

Reviewed by
Karen g

From UK
Who stayed in September 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic place to stay!!
We went to Crathorne Hall Hotel for my wife's birthday. On arriving at the hotel, the place is gorgeous. It looks absolutley fantastic!! Once we checked in the staff couldn't do enough for us, they were professional, friendly and extremely helpful. The rooms are vey spaceous and in keeping with the theme of the hotel. There was a wedding reception on the same night and but our initially concerns were totally blown out of the water, as we couldn't hear a thing. The staff are brilliant and I'd recommend this as a stay in a beautiful hotel in a lovely setting. I can't recommend it enough to be honest.

Reviewed by
D MCSWEENEY

From Leeds, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Overnight with the wife, on business.
This lovely stately home steeped in modern history, very impressive with lovely gardens. However, although the staff were very attentive, they were either overworked or forgetful. It took us over 2 1/2 hours to get through a two course meal, by the time we were finished, the external lights had come on, and this was in July ! In the morning at breakfast, the waitress forgot our coffee and toast for over half and hour. There is no bar as such, although drinks can be ordered through the staff !! The lounge bar food was very poor. My wife's steak was over cooked and my chicken Tikka Massala was terrible, I've had better out of a packet.

Reviewed by
L Ewart

From Inverkeithing, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A marvellous experience
Used this hotel on many occasions back in the 1970's & 80's & it became one of my favourites. Decided for nostalgic reasons to visit the hotel again recently & was delighted to find that the qualities that made it so special are still present in abundance making my stay extremely enjoyable.

Reviewed by
John Taylor

From Colwyn Bay, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great staff, food lovely, venue not as billed
Stayed at this hotel for two nights whilst I attended a course, my wife accompanied me so I choose this hotel as it looked great for couples and had some very good reviews.
The staff were by far the best part of this hotel,all very helpful with nothing to much trouble, a real credit to the hotel. The room was not of the same standard.
We stayed in the Dugdale room which on first arrival looks great, on closer inspection the window would not stay open as the sash window cords were both snapped, the bathroom looked to have had several leaks judging by the amount of brown silicone that had been smeared along most wall/floor joints, the bathroom fan was very noisey and sounded as though it was about to give up the fight. The double bed was two single beds joined together which resulted in a large uncomfortable ridge in the centre of the bed and finally on the second day of the stay the entrance to the hotel turned in to a car showroom for Jaguar with half of the day rooms off limits whilst they entertained prosective clients with test drives etc. not really the quiet country hotel as sold on the website. I can see why people have given great reviews for this hotel, the view from the room was great, the staff were a credit, the food at both breakfast and dinner most enjoyable but the room and venue turning in to a car show room was not as billed and certainly spoilt what would have been a great hotel stay.

Reviewed by
Jonathan H

From Ulceby, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic Experience & Would Highly Recommend Staying Here
I only stayed one night at the Crathorne Hotel but left feeling refreshed and ready for the day ahead!

Reviewed by
J Wheeler

From Cheltenham, UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

amazing experience.. could not fault anything.. 5 star service set in beautiful surriundings.

Reviewed by
Alex M

From UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.