No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Manor House Hotel & Spa

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Front Street West Auckland, Durham, DL14 9HW
The Manor House Hotel, a 35 bedroom AA 3* hotel conveniently located in the charming village of West Auckland, is a historic, family owned hotel offering a friendly welcome, comfortable accommodation and extensive facilities.

With 35 well appointed bedrooms, a mix of doubles, twins and spacious Four Poster rooms split between the main building and the courtyard area, The Manor House Hotel is the perfect destination for both business & leisure.

Food is served all day in the hotel’s Juniper Restaurant with a range of quality, affordable dining options. Relax after a long day with a drink in the lounge or Stables Bar. Make use of the hotel’s leisure facilities - free for all hotel guests - complete with pool, sauna, steam room and gym. A variety of spa treatments are available on request - pre booking essential.

We also have extensive business facilities, with two meeting rooms and free wifi available in the hotel’s public areas, which include the hotel’s lounge area.

The hotel is ideally located for exploring everything that County Durham has to offer, including the famous Bowes Museum, and is less than half an hour’s drive from Durham Cathedral & Castle.

The hotel is famous for it’s history - reputed to be King Henry VIIIs hunting lodge, the Manor House Hotel offers character, heritage, and history all rolled in with friendly customer & modern conveniences.

Part of the family run STR/Keeping Inn group, who also own the the Honest Lawyer Hotel in Durham, the Centurion Bar in Newcastle Central Station, and the Victoria Hotel in Bamburgh.

Picture of Manor House Hotel & Spa, Durham at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 60 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
81% recommended this accommodation to a friend 83% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fabulous stay at The Manor House Hotel & Spa
We loved the atmosphere and ambiance of the Hotel. The use of the pool, steam room, sauna and jacuzzi helped us to relax. The Deluxe four poster bedrooms were great and we intend to go again soon. We loved the suit of armour on the landing, we even gave him a name and look forward to seeing Herbert soon. The staff were very helpful and even helped my daughter to find her misplaced mobile phone. Thank you to the lovely young lady member of the night staff.

Reviewed by
Julia Plews

From Stockton on Tees, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

No lighting from car park to reception, enjoyed spa and stay at the hotel

Reviewed by
Robert Smith

From Kidderminster, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Disappointed
Disappointed and I use that word lightly
Could be a little bit cleaner for the hotel
Reasonable spa area but far too crowded and small
The bedroom we were given was very small and dusty with cobwebs
As for the restaurant leaves much to be desired on the highly rated price
Breakfast was very bland and not much on the Continental side
Dried out cakes and croissants not very appetising at all

Reviewed by
A Sciara

From London, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

very enjoyable stay staff Very friendly , only complaint, Guest above us was VERY heavy footed.

Reviewed by
Kenneth Rowlands

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Slow meal survices

Reviewed by
Tony R

From Sutton Coldfield, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Banging doors
We were given room 11, the doors directly outside the room were banging every time someone went down the corridor, this is not good at 3am with a baby in the room.

Reviewed by
Stuart W

From Redcar, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

serves a purpose
We really didn't have a nice stay here, the room was nosy as it was close to the door into the part of the hotel we were staying. The bed and pillows where so uncomfortable it was hard to sleep and the room was also very dark. The overall service from the staff was very good and they were helpful.
The food was just awful lacking of flavor really could be a lot better, the coffee was just as bad.

Reviewed by
r kruyer

From Canvey Island, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We were disappointed with cleanliness of the room, there was a dead insect squished on the wall, cobwebs around various areas and the toilet was leaking which wasn't pleasant.

Reviewed by
R Hunter

From Middlesbrough, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Relaxing Stay
Loved the pool/sauna/steam room/jacuzzi. Really nice facilities. Also had dinner in the restaurant, which was lovely. Good wine list with reasonable prices. No draught real ale which was a big disappointment to my husband. Also, the hotel's a bit of a maze - more signage needed! However, the staff were very friendly and helpful. Really lovely place and as we booked on Late Rooms it wasn't too expensive.

Reviewed by
P Thomson

From Dundee, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent
Staying away on your own for business purposes needs a certain type of hotel. This is absolutely ideal. Quiet, well maintained and excellent value for money. Pleasant surroundings, very relaxing and a good gym to boot. My new regular place to stay in the north east!

Reviewed by
M Grainger

From Crewe, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 Next