No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Waterhead Hotel

4AA Assessed Town House Hotel Ratings explained
Lake Road,Waterhead , Ambleside, LA22 0ER
For six months from November 2003, the Waterhead Hotel underwent a £2.7 million refurbishment and extension to become the Lake District's first four star Townhouse Hotel. You are now invited to experience the most contemporary and luxurious surroundings, staying in bedrooms with the most modern, yet user friendly, equipment, including CD/DVD players and flat screen TVs.

Whilst the Waterhead's facilities have been transformed, what has remained is the relaxing Lakeside setting and superlative views over Waterhead Bay with its backdrop of Wetherlam Fell and Coniston Old Man. Probably the most spectacular time to appreciate the view is as the sun sets behind the fells, the sky turns crimson and the lake reflects this beauty.

Now picture yourself admiring this majestic natural spectacle from the comfortable surroundings of the Bay Bar and Lounge whilst being presented with a glass of your favourite tipple. Or allow yourself to be pampered with our courteous, friendly, anticipatory and professional service in the Bay Restaurant. The menu features local produce imaginatively prepared and presented. Lessening the number of 'food miles' (distance from producer to plate) is an important consideration for Chef Michael Weston-Cole.

Should you fancy something more energetic, then the fells beckon from our doorstep, or you can utilise the complimentary membership of the Low Wood Leisure Club, which is located less than a mile from the Waterhead. Facilities include an indoor pool, sauna, solarium, gym and beauty treatments.
Picture of The Waterhead Hotel, Ambleside at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 14 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
85% recommended this accommodation to a friend 86% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Beautifully landscaped! Mountains and a lake!
A beautiful setting. The staff were all very polite and efficient. The rooms were clean and modern. The food was fabulous. All in all very good.

Reviewed by
Robert H

From Stafford, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great location but not great value for money.
Extremely expensive for what it was. Room was very clean with a comfortable bed - but then a premier inn has that as well. We'd paid extra for a lake view, but the windows had heavy net curtains that didn't open, and despite having a bay window, didn't actually have chairs, so the view was a bit of a non starter. At the price, would have been nice to have bottled water and biscuits on the tea tray - we got nothing the first night, and one gingerbread biscuit between is on the second. Dinner in the bar was nice but expensive at £60 for two main courses and a bottle of wine. Breakfast was actually pretty shocking. We had staff flouncing about in a temper and thundering past the table on the first morning - and 30 mins after sitting down we were still waiting for a cup of tea, never mind food - which was greasy, overcooked and luke warm when it did arrive, toast was cold, lightly coloured bread, with the texture of a value loaf. On the second morning I ordered poached eggs on toast. Two poached eggs without toast or any garnish were presented sliding around on a large white plate - completely unappetising. The eggs were in fact inedible - cooked to rubber, but also strangely cold. We pointed this out to the server who just looked blankly at us. We gave up and took ourselves off elsewhere for a late breakfast. This is a lovely hotel in a gorgeous setting, but at the price, I expected a lot better. A decent breakfast and some touches in the rooms such as chairs, snacks and opening curtains would have gone a long way to make it a much more positive experience.

Reviewed by
Joyce W

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Family trip
We arrived Friday evening to a warm welcome, the rooms were excellent and had a meal in the restaurant which could not be faulted.

Reviewed by
john l

From newcastle, England
Who stayed in March 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely Lakeland stay at the end of January 2014
We stayed at the Waterhead during a very cold wet weekend and were suitably impressed by the quality of service we received. We dined in the hotel on the Friday evening and the food was excellent.
Can thoroughly recommend the Thai style Sea Bass. Saturday proved to be wet and windy however our room was lovely and room when we returned tired from walking. Impressed by hotel staff who were ready to recommend activities to guests. Would definitely stay here again.

Reviewed by
Ron Wilson

From Wirral, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great - but pricey
Excellent hotel, great location near the top of Windermere; and a modest walk into Ambleside itself. However, a bit over-priced for what it is.

Reviewed by
Martin B

From UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Hotel
Wonderful hotel in every way, accommodation, food, aspect, comfort and level of service.

Reviewed by
Gill R

From UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

All excellent
This was a "boutique" hotel without the attitude. The staff welcomed all ages with warmth and care. The attention to detail was extraordinary. We loved our room and could not fault anything in the hotel. We would stay there again.

Reviewed by
L Carey

From UK
Who stayed in April 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent hotel in a fantastic location. Friendly helpful staff.

Reviewed by
Ian L

From UK
Who stayed in January 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely place an great location
Great hotel with character rather than big faceless place. Bed and particularly pillows very comfy. Breakfast was beautiful, very good quality food. Only issue was that I made a note through booking site that we were celebrating my husbands 40th birthday and asked for ideas on available extras to make special. Nobody seemed to take any notice of this which makes me wonder why the box is there in the first place.

Reviewed by
Sharon S

From Bolton, UK
Who stayed in January 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

excellent accomodation,the staff were friendly and helpful. The bar and grill served a wide range of
food at good value for money.

Reviewed by
m sharkey

From Manchester, England
Who stayed in October 2012

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next