No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Prince of Wales Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Lord Street , Southport, PR8 1JS
Located in a prime position for those Golf lovers and shopaholics, 5 minutes walk from Southport train station! This beautifully kept Victorian hotel boasts the most beautiful landscaped gardens and detailed architecture from days gone by. Throughout, the reception, lounge area and the bedrooms the decoration is in keeping with the elegant and stylish character of the building. All 143 en-suite bedrooms are fully equipped with today’s modern facilities.

The restaurant is the Colonial, which serves excellent traditional fayre dishes and the Clubhouse bar, themed in true Golf style, has a friendly atmosphere. The hotel also features the 11 Conference Rooms available for any occasion with first class facilities and accommodating up to 450 people. WIFI is free to all guests and is available in all public areas of the hotel.
Picture of Prince of Wales Hotel, Southport at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since February 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 160 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
70% recommended this accommodation to a friend 72% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

You get what you pay for
There are lots of negative reviews about this hotel but the reality is, for the price you pay this is a good hotel. It is a building with lots of potential and the communal areas are reasonably comfortable. The room I occupied was of a very good size but the decor and equipment was tired but functional. However, for the price, I think the hotel was more than acceptable. The Britannia chain offers good value for money - it is at the lower end of the price market - and therefore, expectations about the quality of the accommodation should be in line with this. There are things to complain about if you look for them - worn carpets, flaking paintwork etc - but if you want hotel accommodation that is modern, has new carpets and excellent paintwork, then pay £100 a night as opposed to £30 and stay somewhere else. Britannia offer clean if dated rooms, a reasonable breakfast, interesting buildings that require investment and acceptable customer service. For the price, a good deal in some excellent locations.

Reviewed by
Andrew B

From Darwen, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Prince of Wales
The first room we were allocated was 408 or 410 which was disgusting to say the least. I spoke with the lady on reception (she was pregnant if this helps to recognise her), she apologised and moves us to a much better room than the first. Again, although better than the first room, the stains on the furniture was very off putting but the bathroom was much better than the first (if u kept your shoes on so the wet carpet didn't wet UR socks or bare feet). The room was ok for a night. When we arrived the restaurant was serving dinner which smelt very strong and not very appetising so we dos not use those facilities.
Would we stay again? Probably not.
Such a shame a lovely building that needs ripping out and completely renovating.

Reviewed by
Lyndsey R

From UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

very old fashioned and run down
when entering the hotel a nice coal fire greets you, after this its downhill all the way
the main lift wasn't working so we had to use the service lift which had a dirty unpainted entrance.
the corridors to the room had damaged walls with paint peeling off,the carpets should have been thrown out years ago.
the room had a old tube telly and the remote was held together with tape .The bed sheets were clean but the valance was filthy and un ironed..The room was cold due to the radiator stat turned down, it did warm up aller when the heating gets turned back on at 5 o'clock. I have since been told by locals that this is one of the three hotels to avoid.The breakfast was barely edible coffee and tea are pre served on all the tables in flasks which are so stewed you can barely distinguish what they are

Reviewed by
paul f

From Ashford, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely weekend just a rubbish mattress
We stayed bed only there were too many chairs in the room on one of them I knocked my leg and have a massive bruise. The mattress was worse than sleeping on a bed of nails. Would have been better if the mattress was decent.

Reviewed by
B Atkinson

From Rotherham, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Could do better
This is a lovely old hotel albeit a liitle bit of faded glory. The room we were first given was freezing cold because the radiators were turned off and the valve defective. We were given another room which heated up after we turned the radiators on. We know that economies need to be made during low occupancy times but as we had prebooked our room should have been pepared and heating turned on for our arrival. No heat in bathroom !!

Reviewed by
Peter Barnes

From Leyburn, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

prince of wales
The room we were given was brilliant. Have stayed here before By far best room we have had. Unfortunately breakfast was diabolical. would have breakfast elsewhere next time .Would definitely use Late Rooms again.

Reviewed by
L Whyatt

From Manchester, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

we were moved from the prince of wales to another hotel. so never got to see the hotel.
so not happy about being moved to the scarisbrick hotel. although the room was nice, i was looking forward to taking my wife for a birthday treat to the prince of wales. have had really good reviews from friends. we go away quite often but this has really put us off trying for the prince of wales again. this
really spoilt our break.
the reviews are for the SCARISBRICK

Reviewed by
thomas g

From Carlisle, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Value for money old fashioned hotel with history I will stop here again some .

Reviewed by
David P

From St Helens, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

John
Myself and my partner have stayed at this hotel in the past and always think you get value for money. The room was very spacious and the food was plentiful with a lot of variety, and the hotel staff bent over backwards to help. Overall, we enjoyed our stay and would stay again at the hotel....

Reviewed by
John H

From Bordon, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Prince of Wales Hotel
number sixes allround!

Reviewed by
peter morris

From crewe, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Mixed group

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next