Reviews - Stanhill Court Hotel


Stan Hill, Charlwood, Horley, RH6 0EP

Price From 144.15 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (30)

90% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • Valerie K

  • June 2015

Very Comfortable

This was very much a last minute booking as suffering from jet lag and couldn't face a long drive home.

The hotel is easily accessible from Gatwick yet set in lovely countryside that you hardly notice the aircraft. I booked a single room expecting it to be small but was pleasantly surprised to have a four poster bed and overlooking the countryside. The bed was very comfortable with lovely views and nice touches such as magazines in the room.


  • June 2015

unexpected charges for using lobby space

If you are planning to meet in the hotel "lobby" area be wary of a "sundry charge" I regularly meet people in hotels as do thousands of other people but this is the first time a charge has been put on to my bill for doing so and to make matters worse I wasn't warned.

I had ordered drinks and other staff had ample opportunity to let me know. Admittedly the seating area is small however when I was presented with my bill there was this sundry charge on it I was told it was because as we had used the seating area other guests in the hotel (including those at meetings in the pre-booked meeting rooms) were not able to sit there or use it as a break out area. Then to make matters worse the hotel had also mistakenly charged another guest's restaurant bill to my account despite there not being an accompanying slip to support the charge. The charge for the other restaurant bill was eventually removed after some deliberation but the "use of the sofas" charge was not. Having never experienced this before I was too shocked and surprised to argue.

A very nice hotel and lovely food just a word of warning to expect a charge for using their sofas in the lobby area or as I will do in future, meet somewhere else first!

  • G Jenkins

  • April 2015

Superb Experience

The staff are exceptional and the style is inspiring if a little tired.

Couldn't wish for a better start or finish to a holiday. For a short stay it would be a perfect place to base yourself. The quality of the accommodation is a little below par but is more than compensated for by the truly outstanding building.

  • Joanna F

  • March 2015

Stately Stanhill

My fiancé and I stayed one night before going onto Sussex the next day.

The weather was lovely, which made the hotel look very beautiful and regal. The gardens are kept immaculately. The check in was quick and friendly, and the room was full of character. Dinner was good, and arrived quickly even though the hotel was very busy with a wedding reception in an adjacent room. We were so pleased with the hotel that we are considering having our wedding reception there next February.

  • S Armston

  • November 2014

Staff very helpful and friendly, after arriving late did have to find someone to book us in.

Bedroom had all needed .. comfortable bed and en suite well appointed. Decor is a little dated but didn't detract from the visit and we would stay again.

  • Nicola P

  • November 2014

Excellent we thoroughly enjoyed our overnight stay the room was very clean good quality linen on a very comfy bed.

The meal was totally delicious and the service was otstanding

  • P Brine

  • October 2014

On arrival I was informed that my Late rooms receipt was booked with a double bed, but it did say twin and i requested twin on booking.

I was told that i may have to pay £89 not £79 as a double was more, but after seeing 2 workmen the receptionist changed her mind. The rest of the staff were friendly and helpful. The room was clean and good for price. The Patio Bar could do with a revamp(too many things going on)

  • f halsall

  • October 2014

Hotel room was very small for the size of four poster bed.

Bathroom window didn't open which didn't help with the steam from the shower fogging up the mirrors. Hotel was mainly for airport travellers waiting to catch an early morning flight from Gatwick, not very romantic as advertised.

  • G Rofe

  • October 2014

Stanhill Court

My husband and I stayed for one night at Stanhill Court.

We ate in the restaurant, the choice and quality of the meal was excellent and the staff were very professional and pleasant

We would definitely stay again

  • colin h

  • September 2014

A Beautiful Hotel

A beautiful old property standing in its own grounds.

Rooms are good. Decor excellent. Food very good. My only comment is that the place lacks soul. The reception is tucked away out of sight. The staff are very polite. No one once asked if we'd enjoyed our stay, had a good journey down etc etc or even struck up any sort of conversation. If you want to be anonymous this is the place. It would cost nothing to make this place a memorable place to stay at.