No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Matfen Hall Hotel Golf and Spa

4Self Classified Country House Hotel Ratings explained
Matfen , Newcastle Upon Tyne, NE20 0RH

Simply the Guest Awards Winner


Based on 100% genuine guest reviews in our 2012 awards.

Matfen Hall is a magnificent, privately owned, country house hotel set in 300 acres of parkland in the heart of rural Northumberland. The hotel has 53 individually decorated bedrooms, award winning & leisure facilities, 27 hole golf course, fine dining restaurant and Go Ape high wire adventure course. Despite its tranquillity, the hotel is within easy reach of Newcastle city centre, Newcastle Airport, the A1 and A69. Close by are the ruins of UNESCO World Heritage Site Hadrian’s Wall and Northumberland National Park. The stunning Northumberland Coast, North Pennines and Durham are all within easy driving distance.

Picture of Matfen Hall Hotel Golf and Spa, Newcastle Upon Tyne at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 67 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
94% recommended this accommodation to a friend 94% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent break at matfen
I was very pleasantly surprised with the excellent value for money at Matfen. The staff couldn't have been more friendly and helpful. The food was excellent; we ate at night in the Keeper's lodge and the menu was varied, delicious and excellent value for money. The spa was fantastic, as was the bedroom and the house was very interesting to explore and read about. The grounds are beautiful and we will be back without a doubt!! :) It is the best hotel we have stayed in so far.

Reviewed by
beverley h

From Dunfermline, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Maften hall
Maften hall was a wonderful place. Scenic, full of history and wonderful staff. There were 3 negative instances during our 3 day stay however. First was the quality of food at the bar restaurant we ordered a "Maften burger" the first night and for 13 pounds it wasn't any better than a McDonald's quarter pounder. Second instance was the room was very hot and there is no climate control within the room except to open the windows and hope for the best. The last was the worst we went to the lodge restaurant on out last night and splashed out in a surf and turf. The steak came out well done when we asked for rare and the surf consisted if 3 garlic shrimp not the best. In Maftens defence the bar staff replaced our steaks with correctly cook ones without complaint and brought over a round of complimentary drinks for our inconvenience which I appreciate.

Reviewed by
O Leith

From Edinburgh, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Mafen experience
Excellent location, excellent accommodation, excellent and friendly and helpful staff: what more could you want?

Reviewed by
D Breeze

From Edinburgh, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Overall fantastic experience at Matfen Hall. Very friendly welcome, nice rooms, lovely setting. Spa is really nice although sauna area was closed for refurb and would have been nice to know this in advance but pool was open.
We had a massage on the morning after and it was also excellent, great value for money, friendly service. Food in the library restaurant was fantastic, very tasty, great quality and excellent service, not too fussy but attentive.
Overall a great experience and would definitely go back

Reviewed by
A Driscoll

From Maidenhead, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Sunday break
Good comfortable hotel with decent food,service and environment

Reviewed by
N Saul

From Stocksfield, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Best rooms
Rooms in the the original part of the building are far superior to the ones in modern part. Also dogs welcome for an extra £10 but not allowed in bar or restaurant.....lots of good walks around grounds. Pub behind the hotel (Black Bull) allows dogs in so good for lunch or evening meal if you don't wNt to leave dog in room.

Reviewed by
G Kingsbury

From Glasgow, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Escape
Fabulous evening meal and service but breakfast was not so good. Had to ask three times for toast. By the time it arrived my husband's food was almost finished and what he left to enjoy with toast, was cold.

Reviewed by
J Routledge

From Cleadon, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent accommodation and delicious evening and breakfast meals.
We thoroughly enjoyed our short stay at Matfen, the bonus to us was that our dog was allowed to stay with us!

Reviewed by
Ian M

From Kidderminster, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A lovely weekend
Best hotel I visit

Reviewed by
Edward R

From Helensburgh, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic deal in a beautiful, friendly hotel .
Excellent service, food and beautiful hotel set in lovely grounds and golf course. Leisure facilities a real bonus. Peaceful and very relaxing break. Highly recommended!

Reviewed by
Michael Mcnally

From Hebburn, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next