No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Matfen Hall Hotel Golf and Spa

4Self Classified Country House Hotel Ratings explained
Matfen , Newcastle Upon Tyne, NE20 0RH

Simply the Guest Awards Winner


Based on 100% genuine guest reviews in our 2012 awards.

Matfen Hall is a magnificent, privately owned, country house hotel set in 300 acres of parkland in the heart of rural Northumberland. The hotel has 53 individually decorated bedrooms, award winning & leisure facilities, 27 hole golf course, fine dining restaurant and Go Ape high wire adventure course. Despite its tranquillity, the hotel is within easy reach of Newcastle city centre, Newcastle Airport, the A1 and A69. Close by are the ruins of UNESCO World Heritage Site Hadrian’s Wall and Northumberland National Park. The stunning Northumberland Coast, North Pennines and Durham are all within easy driving distance.

Picture of Matfen Hall Hotel Golf and Spa, Newcastle Upon Tyne at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 70 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
94% recommended this accommodation to a friend 94% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great value for money
We arrived to a warm welcome by the receptionist. We were shown to our room , which was clean and comfortable. The leisure facilities were very good we were able to unwind after a busy week at work. Our 3 course meal in the restaurant was included in the price was excellent value for money. We slept well and ordered breakfast to be delivered to our room , the waiting staff very polite and helpful. The day continued with a game of golf, the whole visit was most enjoyable I can t fault it and will definitely be paying another visit very soon.

Reviewed by
P Adams

From Washington, England
Who stayed in October 2012

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Maften Hall - Magical experience
Difficult to find hotel as we had no sat nav and signage was limited in the area, however when we arrived we were delighted with the hotel and the accommodation. Staff very friendly - especially the staff at the Golf Club House where we had an evening meal which was very good value for the money. We awoke in the morning to views over to the local church and village which was very picturesque. The breakfast was amazing with a choice of buffet or/and cooked which was to an exceptional high standard served in a stunning breakfast room with panoramic views over the golf course and lake. The staff that served as during breakfast were very attentive and pleasant - nothing was too much bother and a credit to them as it is not always easy working with the public! We spent the morning before departing looking around the hotel with it's magnificient hall which was an extra bonus as Matfen Hall is a truely beautiful country house set within stunning, well kept, maintained garden and grounds. It was ashame that we arrived later than intended as we did not have time to use the all the facilities or sit down by the roaring fire at night for a coffee in one of the grand reception rooms - so we are investing in a sat nav so we can find this little gem as we intend to go back!

Reviewed by
Peter Guthrie

From Perth, Scotland
Who stayed in October 2012

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

John & Louise's wedding anniversary experience
We had an excellent stay at Matfen Hall - we have decided this is our favourite country hotel and we hope to be back soon.

Reviewed by
Louise Gray

From Morpeth, England
Who stayed in September 2012

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A lovely birthday relaxing treat
We recently stayed at Matfen hall and found the whole experience wonderful. The staff were extremely helpful and friendly, the room was spotless and very comfortable and the spa facilities and gym excellent. We spent time in the nicely equiped gym then went inot the pool and spa area on the day of our arival and the day after - exellent value for money! The ice fountain is fab. The building itself is really nice, the great hall an library took our breath away. looking forward to staying agiain.

Reviewed by
B Wall

From Newcastle, UK
Who stayed in September 2012

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Matfen in September
Largely a 'golfing' hotel, Matfen Hall is, nevertheless, a worthwhile option for a short break if one intends to visit the Hexham/West Newcastle area. A combination of modern hotel and ancient hall, the hotel is set up and operated to good standards. The room (in the old hall) was clean, pleasant and of a fair size but was also expensive and the furthest that one could get from the reception, bar and restaurant areas; forget something and you'd necessitate a five minute walk interspersed with several flights of stairs. The staff were courteous but, on several occasions, ignored certain guests in favour of addressing the concerns of obvious 'regulars'; not the way to encourage 'newcomers' to become return customers. The food was excellent and service adequate with disproportionate consideration being given to groups of golfers over couples - perhaps inevitable but irritating nonetheless. Value for money is an issue as I could have stayed in equally good, but not so remote, hotels for a lot less per night but I would consider staying here again for a short break.

Reviewed by
Michael L

From Camberley, England
Who stayed in September 2012

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

I have stayed here several times and noted a slight decline in standards. The bar food was expensive and not of the dmea quality as previously. Also there seemd to be some shortage of staff.
Despite this I will come again,but hope to see a retiurn to previous standards

Reviewed by
A Dawson

From Ashby De La Zouch, England
Who stayed in September 2012

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not so good this time.
Main meal in resturant very poor, portion size tiny. Meal sent back to kitchen as over cooked and tough.

Reviewed by
peter a

From Dunfermline, England
Who stayed in September 2012

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent warm service

Reviewed by
Drew R

From North Shields, England
Who stayed in August 2012

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely break for a special occasion
I booked a one night stay on the Aug bank holiday for me and my partner for our anniversary through LateRooms and got a fabulous deal of a 1 night stay, bed breakfast and 3 course dinner for £134! I contacted the hotel directly and told them it was our anniversary and I upgraded to a deluxe double for a extra £35.
On arrival at the hotel check in was smooth, except for them requiring payment on arrival which I found a little strange. We were allocated room 5 - which was in fact a Premier room with fantastic views of the golf course, large high ceilings and a massive bed! This room is the one they show on all the hotel flyers so we were very chuffed with this for the price we paid!
The hotel also gave us a anniversary card which was a nice touch!
We spent the afternoon in the spa - and thoroughly enjoyed the Fire & Ice experience. The pool was busy, but it didn't feel crowded by any means.
We had a dinner in the Library & Print room - the choice of food was good, and our meal was great - the room was nicely spaced out so didn't feel on top of the other guests who were dining.
The next morning breakfast was lovely and a good variety of foods available.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay, and most definitely will be back! I cannot recommend this hotel highly enough for a little luxury break away so close to home!

Reviewed by
R Chaston

From North Shields, UK
Who stayed in August 2012

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Beautiful Place
myself and my partner fully enjoyed a 2 night stay at Matfen Hall, and will be going back again for a longer stay.
Lovely hotel, staff are very attentive, rooms are spacious, luxourious and clean. Breakfast in the library was every enjoyable.Plenty of choice.

Reviewed by
TINA CRAWFORD

From Barrow in Furness, England
Who stayed in August 2012

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7