No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Matfen Hall Hotel Golf and Spa

4Self Classified Country House Hotel Ratings explained
Matfen , Newcastle Upon Tyne, NE20 0RH

Simply the Guest Awards Winner


Based on 100% genuine guest reviews in our 2012 awards.

Matfen Hall is a magnificent, privately owned, country house hotel set in 300 acres of parkland in the heart of rural Northumberland. The hotel has 53 individually decorated bedrooms, award winning & leisure facilities, 27 hole golf course, fine dining restaurant and Go Ape high wire adventure course. Despite its tranquillity, the hotel is within easy reach of Newcastle city centre, Newcastle Airport, the A1 and A69. Close by are the ruins of UNESCO World Heritage Site Hadrian’s Wall and Northumberland National Park. The stunning Northumberland Coast, North Pennines and Durham are all within easy driving distance.

Picture of Matfen Hall Hotel Golf and Spa, Newcastle Upon Tyne at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 62 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
94% recommended this accommodation to a friend 94% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Second time I've visited. First time was several years ago for a wedding. Both experiences have been very good. Room and facilities were of high standard. Lovely views and atmosphere, with an open fire in the lounge. Staff friendly and helpful. Free use of spa and pool as a resident. As just over 10 miles outside Newcastle felt safer than would have done in a city centre hotel, and free parking. The price included breakfast wich made it very competitive with the alternatives.

Reviewed by
Linda P

From UK
Who stayed in January 2013

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent stay at Matfen Hall
I Stayed here on NYE 2012. The whole stay was really nice and I would recommend the place to any one!!!!!

Reviewed by
Victoria Richardson

From Yarm, England
Who stayed in December 2012

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A fantastic experience from start to finish, just a short stay for New Year's Eve .
It was our first new year together and the whole experience was fantastic. The room, was beautiful and clean. The gala evening meal was perfect. The staff were so helpful and polite. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend to anyone. Unfortunately we didn't have the time to experience the spa and facilities but they looked lovely.

Reviewed by
T Scott

From Durham, England
Who stayed in December 2012

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Matfen hall was wonderful & we will definitely be back. All the staff were very pleasant and polite and nothing was too much trouble. The breakfast was super as was the setting and presentation of the hotel and grounds as a whole. The spa facilities were also lovely.

Reviewed by
R Cannon

From Rickerby, UK
Who stayed in December 2012

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Our annual trip to Matfen Hall for our wedding anniversary!
Every year now for the past four years or so my husband and I have been staying at Matfen Hall for our wedding anniversary. This year I decided to book the whole weekend as a special treat to myself and my hubbie. The place was very busy this year with weddings and although everything was just as it should be - I did feel that our stay was not as good as previous years. For example - they knew I had booked it for our wedding anniversary - last year they congratulated us on our arrival and we had complementary glasses of champers ob the evening before our dinner, this year however they didn't even mention it! On that note I was left feeling somewhat empty....and unsure what the rest of the stay would bring. The second night was even more busy that the first yet another wedding - I can appreciate that they need to look after wedding guests etc - however I felt that they should also attend to the other paying guests as well! We will see what happens if I book for our anniversary next year....

Reviewed by
Jean Gray

From Newcastle Upon Tyne , England
Who stayed in December 2012

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A nice break
outstanding hotel , staff , food , everything about it, would recommend to anyone

Reviewed by
Michael Hogg

From Peterlee, UK
Who stayed in December 2012

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent experience on a 2 day midweek B&B Break
Two night B&B for 2 for under £150 total was excellent value. Only 2 miles walk to Hadrians Wall path (though no wall to see at this stretch) Nice pool and spa - but could have done with more space to lounge around. Very helpful staff. Impressive decor. Asked for a quiet, elevated room and got one. Classic room had all necessary comforts including mini-fridge, bathrobes, iron/board, trouser press, complimentary water and biscuits (replennished on second day). Did not dine in hotel. Our only issue would be that the atmosphere in the conservatory bar was not conducive to relaxing or eating. The laminate floor makes it noisy - it needs carpets. As the only other option was the fine dining restaraunt, we chose to eat out. The Black Bull in Corbridge has just the sort of atmosphere we wished the hotel bar had - highly recommend it. Recommend a cross-country walk to the Robin Hood pub on the Military Road - ideal for a mid-walk pub lunch or coffee.

Reviewed by
peter c

From Grantham, England
Who stayed in December 2012

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room spacious and well decorated. Food excellent. Leisure facilities good.

Reviewed by
richard b

From Whitley Bay, England
Who stayed in December 2012

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Superb birthday surprise
What a fabulous hotel and spa. Our visit was a birthday surprise for my partner and what a wonderful time we had. The hotel and grounds are beautiful and the pool, sauna, etc are spectacular. The staff were wonderful and helpful. Our room (free upgrade to a deluxe double) was lovely and comfortable and the bed was unbelievable. Whilst some might find the lack of signal for the mobile phone a problem it actually enhanced the stay by ensuring we relaxed without interuption. We will definitely return to this hotel in the very near future and will recommend to family and friends. Thankd you so much to all of the staff who made our stay magical.

Reviewed by
Lynne T

From Middlesbrough, England
Who stayed in November 2012

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Anniverary Visit
Married 4 years ago at Matfen and fantastic place for my wife and I to forget the daily work routine. Food and wine good quality and service and attention in restaraunt excellent.
Reception on arrival could have been better, and beware Room 47 very hot no air conditioning, large noisy fan provided. Come on Matfen keep the service going.....you all have a reputation to uphold !!

Reviewed by
G Milne

From Newcastle upon Tyne, England
Who stayed in November 2012

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next