No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Matfen Hall Hotel Golf and Spa

4Self Classified Country House Hotel Ratings explained
Matfen , Newcastle Upon Tyne, NE20 0RH

Simply the Guest Awards Winner


Based on 100% genuine guest reviews in our 2012 awards.

Matfen Hall is a magnificent, privately owned, country house hotel set in 300 acres of parkland in the heart of rural Northumberland. The hotel has 53 individually decorated bedrooms, award winning & leisure facilities, 27 hole golf course, fine dining restaurant and Go Ape high wire adventure course. Despite its tranquillity, the hotel is within easy reach of Newcastle city centre, Newcastle Airport, the A1 and A69. Close by are the ruins of UNESCO World Heritage Site Hadrian’s Wall and Northumberland National Park. The stunning Northumberland Coast, North Pennines and Durham are all within easy driving distance.

Picture of Matfen Hall Hotel Golf and Spa, Newcastle Upon Tyne at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 58 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
94% recommended this accommodation to a friend 94% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Restaurant made the stay 5*
Small and cozy.
Was able to check in room early as ready. Also able to use gym and pool before check in.
Pool was lovely with sauna's etc, gym was really good with new equipment. Room was small and no view, (42 top floor)bed very comfortable and this had a lovely bathroom. Only negative was how hot the room was, restaurant was amazing and we got told they had a new chef who they need to keep a hold of, couldn't fault it. Due to weather didn't get to check round the grounds but a lovely view of the golf course.

Reviewed by
S Harrison

From Sunderland, UK
Who stayed in January 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Truly beautiful
Fantastic facilities, great staff, great experience, great special offers

Reviewed by
C Worrall

From Corwen, UK
Who stayed in January 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Another relaxing night!
Myself and my husband stayed here at the weekend having booked through laterooms the day before, when we got there we were given an upgrade free of charge and when we got upstairs to the room found it to be huge, we have stayed a couple times before but the rooms were quite abit smaller , we spent time in the keepers lodge having a couple drinks and something to eat then went to the pool, steam room, jacuzzi etc later, it was quite quiet later on very relaxing. The lady on reception who was there when we arrived and left was most cheerful and helpful. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will return again soon.

Reviewed by
wendy d

From Wallsend, UK
Who stayed in January 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Second time I've visited. First time was several years ago for a wedding. Both experiences have been very good. Room and facilities were of high standard. Lovely views and atmosphere, with an open fire in the lounge. Staff friendly and helpful. Free use of spa and pool as a resident. As just over 10 miles outside Newcastle felt safer than would have done in a city centre hotel, and free parking. The price included breakfast wich made it very competitive with the alternatives.

Reviewed by
Linda P

From UK
Who stayed in January 2013

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent stay at Matfen Hall
I Stayed here on NYE 2012. The whole stay was really nice and I would recommend the place to any one!!!!!

Reviewed by
Victoria Richardson

From Yarm, England
Who stayed in December 2012

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A fantastic experience from start to finish, just a short stay for New Year's Eve .
It was our first new year together and the whole experience was fantastic. The room, was beautiful and clean. The gala evening meal was perfect. The staff were so helpful and polite. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend to anyone. Unfortunately we didn't have the time to experience the spa and facilities but they looked lovely.

Reviewed by
T Scott

From Durham, England
Who stayed in December 2012

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Matfen hall was wonderful & we will definitely be back. All the staff were very pleasant and polite and nothing was too much trouble. The breakfast was super as was the setting and presentation of the hotel and grounds as a whole. The spa facilities were also lovely.

Reviewed by
R Cannon

From Rickerby, UK
Who stayed in December 2012

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Our annual trip to Matfen Hall for our wedding anniversary!
Every year now for the past four years or so my husband and I have been staying at Matfen Hall for our wedding anniversary. This year I decided to book the whole weekend as a special treat to myself and my hubbie. The place was very busy this year with weddings and although everything was just as it should be - I did feel that our stay was not as good as previous years. For example - they knew I had booked it for our wedding anniversary - last year they congratulated us on our arrival and we had complementary glasses of champers ob the evening before our dinner, this year however they didn't even mention it! On that note I was left feeling somewhat empty....and unsure what the rest of the stay would bring. The second night was even more busy that the first yet another wedding - I can appreciate that they need to look after wedding guests etc - however I felt that they should also attend to the other paying guests as well! We will see what happens if I book for our anniversary next year....

Reviewed by
Jean Gray

From Newcastle Upon Tyne , England
Who stayed in December 2012

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6