No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Matfen Hall Hotel Golf and Spa

4Self Classified Country House Hotel Ratings explained
Matfen , Newcastle Upon Tyne, NE20 0RH

Simply the Guest Awards Winner


Based on 100% genuine guest reviews in our 2012 awards.

Matfen Hall is a magnificent, privately owned, country house hotel set in 300 acres of parkland in the heart of rural Northumberland. The hotel has 53 individually decorated bedrooms, award winning & leisure facilities, 27 hole golf course, fine dining restaurant and Go Ape high wire adventure course. Despite its tranquillity, the hotel is within easy reach of Newcastle city centre, Newcastle Airport, the A1 and A69. Close by are the ruins of UNESCO World Heritage Site Hadrian’s Wall and Northumberland National Park. The stunning Northumberland Coast, North Pennines and Durham are all within easy driving distance.

Picture of Matfen Hall Hotel Golf and Spa, Newcastle Upon Tyne at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 61 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
94% recommended this accommodation to a friend 94% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fabulous
Lovely hotel for great value mid week break. The location is excellent. Great service from the staff the minute you arrive. The facilities are superb

Reviewed by
V Weldon

From Ashington, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hotel was well worth the money, I added in on special request to have a nice view as my husband was home on leave from Afganistan, green field & trees are nicer than sand!, Matfen hall very very kindly up-graded our room, we were in the old part next to the grand hall, absolutley beautifull, we were very impressed with all the facilities at the hotel.
Food was lovely, small compliant, the description in the Libary ** restuarant could be a little clearer, we were slightly disappointed with out main meal, It was cooked and presented very well, but was not quite as described ( it may be us? )
We will be booking again as we still have more of nothumberland to explore

Reviewed by
S Case

From Warrington, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

great hotel, staff very helpful and friendly
The only comment I have is the drinks are very expensive

Reviewed by
Olwyn H

From Huddersfield, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wedding Stay
My husband and I stayed at Matfen as we were invited to a wedding there. We had a brilliant time fantastic location and would recommend to other people. We are looking to stay again sometime soon.

Reviewed by
david m

From Carlisle, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Birthday stay
1. Room was not fully cleaned - rubbish still left from stay before
2. TV remote not working
3. Service in bar not satisfactory - left waiting while served member of staff who came in after me
4. Restaurant service adequate - left waiting for courses

Reviewed by
David B

From Houghton le Spring, UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

March 2013
Brilliant experiece

Reviewed by
T Hodgson

From Consett, UK
Who stayed in March 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely food!
We really enjoyed our stay in particular the food both at dinner and breakfast was superb. Our room was fine although a little noisy as it was right on a corridor. The Spa was lovely and all the staff very attentive and helpful.

Reviewed by
Rachel Q

From UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Quite Dreadful
I stayed at Maften Hall on business. Having pre-booked a table in the restaurant I then noticed that it was quite formal. Realising that I wouldn't feel comfortable I politely asked if I could still order from the menu but eat in one of the other, more relaxed areas, a request that was flatly/bluntly declined. I asked again only to receive the same response being told instead that if I didn't want to dine in the formal restaurant then I should order from the bar menu in either in the cold empty conservatory or in the golf club clubhouse instead. I went to both and both were quite dreadful. Polite friendly bar man but not a good dining experience. Unless you're getting married then I doubt you'll be made to feel welcome at this hotel.

Reviewed by
Robert F

From Wilmslow, UK
Who stayed in March 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

ticked all the rigjt boxes for me...clean.affordable.stunning surroundings.excellent service.spa too
Would do this again right price.warm welcome and excellent service througout our stay.especially liked the free apples at reception.spa was spotless and not too busy.food excellent and such gorgeous surroundings.took lots of photos but must come back in the summer to see the contrast.overall just what the docter ordered.special mention to phil who answered my call late at night and was so helpfull and profesional.thanks phil .

Reviewed by
tracy pattison

From Hexham, UK
Who stayed in February 2013

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Restaurant made the stay 5*
Small and cozy.
Was able to check in room early as ready. Also able to use gym and pool before check in.
Pool was lovely with sauna's etc, gym was really good with new equipment. Room was small and no view, (42 top floor)bed very comfortable and this had a lovely bathroom. Only negative was how hot the room was, restaurant was amazing and we got told they had a new chef who they need to keep a hold of, couldn't fault it. Due to weather didn't get to check round the grounds but a lovely view of the golf course.

Reviewed by
S Harrison

From Sunderland, UK
Who stayed in January 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next