No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Matfen Hall Hotel Golf and Spa

4Self Classified Country House Hotel Ratings explained
Matfen , Newcastle Upon Tyne, NE20 0RH

Simply the Guest Awards Winner


Based on 100% genuine guest reviews in our 2012 awards.

Matfen Hall is a magnificent, privately owned, country house hotel set in 300 acres of parkland in the heart of rural Northumberland. The hotel has 53 individually decorated bedrooms, award winning & leisure facilities, 27 hole golf course, fine dining restaurant and Go Ape high wire adventure course. Despite its tranquillity, the hotel is within easy reach of Newcastle city centre, Newcastle Airport, the A1 and A69. Close by are the ruins of UNESCO World Heritage Site Hadrian’s Wall and Northumberland National Park. The stunning Northumberland Coast, North Pennines and Durham are all within easy driving distance.

Picture of Matfen Hall Hotel Golf and Spa, Newcastle Upon Tyne at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 61 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
94% recommended this accommodation to a friend 94% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Weekend Break with my wife
Truly excellent hotel, room was excellent, hotel stunning, staff very helpful, car park spacious, food was amongst the best we have experienced. We came here as a second choice to De-Vere Hexham where we usually stay and we are glad we did as for us this was a better experience, we even had the benefit of a firework display as a wedding took place on the Sunday and even though the hotel must have been full there was no impact on us as ordinary guests.
Highly recommended

Reviewed by
Kevin Duffy

From Bury, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Never been so expensively hungry
I booked a 1 night stay for my husband's birthday and mentioned this when I rang to reserve a table for dinner. The room was excellent and lived up to my expectations but the meal in the 'fine dining room' was disappointing. I'm not sure how you make a beetroot and goat's cheese starter tasteless, but they managed it. Main courses were meagre and my lamb rump tasted like the back end of a sheep. Service is slow and pretentious. However, breakfast was very good, with a huge choice of fruits and hot dishes well cooked. No mention at any time of the birthday

Reviewed by
Su M

From UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wonderful relaxing break
Maften Hall is a superb Country House Hotel with wonderful facilities, comfortable, clean accommodation, beautiful surroundings and delicious meals. The views from the rooms are great, the walks around the Hotel are well marked and very enjoyable. We thoroughly enjoyed ourselves and wouldn't hesitate in recommending this Hotel.

Reviewed by
Nichola Haggett

From UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Just right for a celebration
We stayed at matfen Hall for my husband's birthday and had an excellent time. Everything was perfect and well worth the price we paid

Reviewed by
Louise Gray

From Morpeth, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Value
enjoyed our first day and night stay, that we decided to booked an extra night, great deal offered, staff friendly, food great would recommend to friends and family.

Reviewed by
g jones

From Telford, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

My favourite hotel, anywhere.
This must be our 5th stay at Matfen Hall and honestly I love it more and more each time. If you enjoy peace and tranquility then look no further. No noise, no excess light and perfect bed and pillows make for a great sleep. The rooms are fantastic, especially the premium rooms. The food at any of the restaurants is if a high standard. I want to revisit again and hope it's sooner rather than later. Matfen Hall gets a 5 star rating from me... A happy guest. Ps staff all very nice too.

Reviewed by
Thomas Allingham

From Cookstown, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fabulous
Lovely hotel for great value mid week break. The location is excellent. Great service from the staff the minute you arrive. The facilities are superb

Reviewed by
V Weldon

From Ashington, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hotel was well worth the money, I added in on special request to have a nice view as my husband was home on leave from Afganistan, green field & trees are nicer than sand!, Matfen hall very very kindly up-graded our room, we were in the old part next to the grand hall, absolutley beautifull, we were very impressed with all the facilities at the hotel.
Food was lovely, small compliant, the description in the Libary ** restuarant could be a little clearer, we were slightly disappointed with out main meal, It was cooked and presented very well, but was not quite as described ( it may be us? )
We will be booking again as we still have more of nothumberland to explore

Reviewed by
S Case

From Warrington, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

great hotel, staff very helpful and friendly
The only comment I have is the drinks are very expensive

Reviewed by
Olwyn H

From Huddersfield, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wedding Stay
My husband and I stayed at Matfen as we were invited to a wedding there. We had a brilliant time fantastic location and would recommend to other people. We are looking to stay again sometime soon.

Reviewed by
david m

From Carlisle, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next