Reviews - Matfen Hall Hotel Golf and Spa


Matfen, Newcastle Upon Tyne, NE20 0RH

Price From 156.82 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.


All reviews (24)

100% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service

Food quality

Room quality


  • brian osmond

  • October 2014

I do not think I could suggest anything that would improve what there is,everything was 1st class.

  • O Leith

  • July 2014

Maften hall

Maften hall was a wonderful place.

Scenic, full of history and wonderful staff. There were 3 negative instances during our 3 day stay however. First was the quality of food at the bar restaurant we ordered a "Maften burger" the first night and for 13 pounds it wasn't any better than a McDonald's quarter pounder. Second instance was the room was very hot and there is no climate control within the room except to open the windows and hope for the best. The last was the worst we went to the lodge restaurant on out last night and splashed out in a surf and turf. The steak came out well done when we asked for rare and the surf consisted if 3 garlic shrimp not the best. In Maftens defence the bar staff replaced our steaks with correctly cook ones without complaint and brought over a round of complimentary drinks for our inconvenience which I appreciate.

  • beverley h

  • July 2014

Excellent break at matfen

I was very pleasantly surprised with the excellent value for money at Matfen.

The staff couldn't have been more friendly and helpful. The food was excellent; we ate at night in the Keeper's lodge and the menu was varied, delicious and excellent value for money. The spa was fantastic, as was the bedroom and the house was very interesting to explore and read about. The grounds are beautiful and we will be back without a doubt!. :) It is the best hotel we have stayed in so far.

  • D Breeze

  • May 2014

The Mafen experience

Excellent location, excellent accommodation, excellent and friendly and helpful staff: what more could you want?

  • A Driscoll

  • May 2014

Overall fantastic experience at Matfen Hall.

Very friendly welcome, nice rooms, lovely setting. Spa is really nice although sauna area was closed for refurb and would have been nice to know this in advance but pool was open. We had a massage on the morning after and it was also excellent, great value for money, friendly service. Food in the library restaurant was fantastic, very tasty, great quality and excellent service, not too fussy but attentive. Overall a great experience and would definitely go back

  • G Kingsbury

  • May 2014

Best rooms

Rooms in the the original part of the building are far superior to the ones in modern part.

Also dogs welcome for an extra £10 but not allowed in bar or restaurant.....lots of good walks around grounds. Pub behind the hotel (Black Bull) allows dogs in so good for lunch or evening meal if you don't wNt to leave dog in room.

  • N Saul

  • April 2014

Sunday break

Good comfortable hotel with decent food,service and environment

  • J Routledge

  • April 2014

Great Escape

Fabulous evening meal and service but breakfast was not so good.

Had to ask three times for toast. By the time it arrived my husband's food was almost finished and what he left to enjoy with toast, was cold.

  • Ian M

  • April 2014

Excellent accommodation and delicious evening and breakfast meals.

We thoroughly enjoyed our short stay at Matfen, the bonus to us was that our dog was allowed to stay with us.

  • Edward R

  • March 2014

A lovely weekend

Best hotel I visit