Reviews - Matfen Hall Hotel Golf and Spa

4

Matfen, Newcastle Upon Tyne, NE20 0RH

Price From 279.26 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Excellent

All reviews (35)

97% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • D Breeze

  • May 2014

The Mafen experience

Excellent location, excellent accommodation, excellent and friendly and helpful staff: what more could you want?

  • A Driscoll

  • May 2014

Overall fantastic experience at Matfen Hall.

Very friendly welcome, nice rooms, lovely setting. Spa is really nice although sauna area was closed for refurb and would have been nice to know this in advance but pool was open. We had a massage on the morning after and it was also excellent, great value for money, friendly service. Food in the library restaurant was fantastic, very tasty, great quality and excellent service, not too fussy but attentive. Overall a great experience and would definitely go back

  • G Kingsbury

  • May 2014

Best rooms

Rooms in the the original part of the building are far superior to the ones in modern part.

Also dogs welcome for an extra £10 but not allowed in bar or restaurant.....lots of good walks around grounds. Pub behind the hotel (Black Bull) allows dogs in so good for lunch or evening meal if you don't wNt to leave dog in room.

  • N Saul

  • April 2014

Sunday break

Good comfortable hotel with decent food,service and environment

  • J Routledge

  • April 2014

Great Escape

Fabulous evening meal and service but breakfast was not so good.

Had to ask three times for toast. By the time it arrived my husband's food was almost finished and what he left to enjoy with toast, was cold.

  • Ian M

  • April 2014

Excellent accommodation and delicious evening and breakfast meals.

We thoroughly enjoyed our short stay at Matfen, the bonus to us was that our dog was allowed to stay with us.

  • Edward R

  • March 2014

A lovely weekend

Best hotel I visit

  • Linda M

  • March 2014

Matfen Hall has a lovely atmosphere and is convenient for visiting Hadrian's Wall, Durham and Newcastle.

I would happily recommend it to friends. That said, I have a few criticisms to make. We arrived on a dark damp evening and did not find driveway to the drop off point until we were walking up the footpath from the car park with our bags.. It probably needs 2 small signs to reception one saying "pedestrians" and the other saying "cars" Our room was in the top of the hotel and on my side of the bed the ceiling was too low for anyone taller than me to stand upright (I'm about 5 foot 5) The evening meals were excellent but although the breakfast buffet was beautifully presented the choice was limited (in particular the bread and pastries)

  • Michael Mcnally

  • March 2014

Fantastic deal in a beautiful, friendly hotel .

Excellent service, food and beautiful hotel set in lovely grounds and golf course.

Leisure facilities a real bonus. Peaceful and very relaxing break. Highly recommended!

  • susan G

  • February 2014

loved it!

We had been let down for valentines weekend but found a great deal for Matfen Hall.

Thinking at such short notice we would have the last dodgy room, well we were very much mistaken. Absolutely spotless, we were offered a menu for the evening meal which was promptly sent to our room. The hospitality was second to none and a good old Geordie banter with the bar staff. I'm so pleased our original place was double booked coz for a few pounds more, what a delightful stay we had. Thanks to all and we'll see you again for definite.