No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Matfen Hall Hotel Golf and Spa

4Self Classified Country House Hotel Ratings explained
Matfen , Newcastle Upon Tyne, NE20 0RH

Simply the Guest Awards Winner


Based on 100% genuine guest reviews in our 2012 awards.

Matfen Hall is a magnificent, privately owned, country house hotel set in 300 acres of parkland in the heart of rural Northumberland. The hotel has 53 individually decorated bedrooms, award winning & leisure facilities, 27 hole golf course, fine dining restaurant and Go Ape high wire adventure course. Despite its tranquillity, the hotel is within easy reach of Newcastle city centre, Newcastle Airport, the A1 and A69. Close by are the ruins of UNESCO World Heritage Site Hadrian’s Wall and Northumberland National Park. The stunning Northumberland Coast, North Pennines and Durham are all within easy driving distance.

Picture of Matfen Hall Hotel Golf and Spa, Newcastle Upon Tyne at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 61 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
94% recommended this accommodation to a friend 94% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic deal in a beautiful, friendly hotel .
Excellent service, food and beautiful hotel set in lovely grounds and golf course. Leisure facilities a real bonus. Peaceful and very relaxing break. Highly recommended!

Reviewed by
Michael Mcnally

From Hebburn, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Matfen Hall has a lovely atmosphere and is convenient for visiting Hadrian's Wall, Durham and Newcastle. I would happily recommend it to friends. That said, I have a few criticisms to make. We arrived on a dark damp evening and did not find driveway to the drop off point until we were walking up the footpath from the car park with our bags.. It probably needs 2 small signs to reception one saying "pedestrians" and the other saying "cars" Our room was in the top of the hotel and on my side of the bed the ceiling was too low for anyone taller than me to stand upright (I'm about 5 foot 5) The evening meals were excellent but although the breakfast buffet was beautifully presented the choice was limited (in particular the bread and pastries)

Reviewed by
Linda M

From Reading, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

loved it!
We had been let down for valentines weekend but found a great deal for Matfen Hall. Thinking at such short notice we would have the last dodgy room, well we were very much mistaken. Absolutely spotless, we were offered a menu for the evening meal which was promptly sent to our room. The hospitality was second to none and a good old Geordie banter with the bar staff. I'm so pleased our original place was double booked coz for a few pounds more, what a delightful stay we had. Thanks to all and we'll see you again for definite.

Reviewed by
susan G

From Newcastle upon Tyne, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A lovely start to 2014...
A very relaxing New Years Day stay. Rooms are spotless and very comfortable. Spa is first class. Both dinner & breakfast were superb and the staff very pleasant. Most definitely will visit again.

Reviewed by
Trevor Scott

From BLYTH, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We love Matfen
Situated in a beautiful, peaceful part of the north east of England everything about this place is good. It is very peaceful and the staff go out of their way to make sure your stay is enjoyable. The leisure facilities are excellent and the food is delicious. One small thing - background music in the restaurant was unnecessary, a little early for carols I think, could try something less annoying.

Reviewed by
Joyce B

From UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

First Class
The whole experience the room, food, and spa facilities first rate.
Staff were extremely pleasant and helpful making this a very memorable stay we will be back soon!!

Reviewed by
Peter Green

From Morpeth, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Matfen Hall November
Unfortunately my trip was spoilt by suffering from an unpleasant virus during the evening of my stay (no fault of MHH), but overall the quality of the accommodation and restaurant was high, although a little expensive.
I thought the spa facilities were a little tired.

Reviewed by
Christopher B

From UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Beautiful country hotel
We had a wonderful relaxing time. Having played around of golf in the blustering wind we were able to have a relaxing drink in the bar. The room was very clean and comfortable with all the amenities you would require and tastefully decorated. We particularly enjoyed the dinner which was of the highest standard. A great place to stay. Next time we will come for two nights

Reviewed by
Andrew Woodward

From York, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent trip, good value

Reviewed by
C Darling

From UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Maintaining excellent standards all around
Great Spa, great room and fabulous food.

Reviewed by
T Hodgson

From Consett, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next