Last Minute Accommodation > World > Europe > UK > England > The West Country > Somerset > Bath and North East Somerset > bath Hotels > The Royal Crescent Hotel & Spa Relais & Chateaux
No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Royal Crescent Hotel & Spa Relais & Chateaux

5AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
16 Royal Crescent , Bath, BA1 2LS
The Royal Crescent Hotel is the most impressively located luxury hotel in the World Heritage City of Bath, occupying the two central buildings of the world's finest crescent. The Grade I listed buildings were designed by the famous Georgian Architect, John Wood the Younger and were first occupied in 1775.
Beyond its magnificent facade lies a hotel renowned for its charm, elegance and superb service, and, the unexpected beauty of the beautiful one-acre, landscaped garden leading to the skillfully converted coach houses, which now accommodate the award-winning Dower House restaurant and The Spa.
There are 45 luxury bedrooms in all, arranged throughout the five elegant buildings that have been combined to create this remarkable hotel. Every room has its own unique character, but each has certain items in common. All rooms have luxuriously appointed en suite bathrooms and are graced with flowers. In addition, most enjoy lovely views over the surrounding gardens, lawns and parkland.

We have moved into the final phase of our complete refurbishment and renovation project. We currently have our last 15 bedrooms under refurbishment alongside our Mansion House public areas. Whilst scaffolding adorns the front of the hotel, the rest of the hotel has benefitted enormously from the complete works. All of the remaining bedrooms are fully refurbished, boasting contemporary design with a hint towards tradition. The Spa is light and airy with a newly extended 'TechnoGym' gymnasium, ESPA treatments and Shellac by CND Nails. We have maintained the tranquillity candlelit pool area which was always a haven of relaxation for our guests. The 3AA Rosette Restaurant, The Dower House, is extended to offer more space for guests to dine and, newly created, we offer 'The Montagu' bar serving cocktails, champagnes and all-day dining options. We are looking forward to unveiling the completed newly refurbished Royal Crescent Hotel & Spa by the middle of April 2014.
Picture of The Royal Crescent Hotel & Spa Relais & Chateaux, Bath at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 12 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
86% recommended this accommodation to a friend 84% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Absolutely excellent stay,we really couldn't have bettered it!!
The staff were all very attentitive and clearly took pride in their jobs. We are planning to return with family. First class!!

Reviewed by
J Clarke

From Swindon, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Peaceful beautiful hotel
Gorgeous property, valet parking and service of staff brilliant. Excellent location, stunning gardens. Only negatives were that tea and coffee making facilities not supplied as standard in the room, they are complimentary but you have to ask for them. Also our cold water tap didn't work, but quickly fixed and shelf in wardrobe had missing bracket which was fixed by staff simply removing the shelf completely. Finally water pressure in shower very low - not good

Reviewed by
T Trace

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Stunning location in the centre of Bath.Service & accomodation matches the location.

Reviewed by
S Williams

From Bromley, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Beautiful hotel and location
Beautiful hotel in a fantastic location, couldn't fault it. So close to the city and so much to do in Bath. I would definitely recommend a stay for a special occasion.

Reviewed by
Caroline M

From Wokingham, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Exceptional stay I. This fine hotel. Faultless in every way

Reviewed by
Richard Monkcom

From Ringwood, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely Stay
We felt really spoiled for the weekend.

Reviewed by
A Gladwell

From Hockley, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We stayed in a classic room, the room was large but the wallpaper had water stains down one wall the wardrobe was old and battered the TV in the room was tiny, the paint work was peeling and chipped in places, the bathroom ceiling was stained, the water pressure in the shower was low and the decor needed revamping, the staff were excellent and the location of the hotel great for walking around the city of bath. The hotel needs a face lift in many areas and is expensive for the standard of room

Reviewed by
Tony L

From Conwy, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hospitality tray please
Staff are great very polite and just loved the pool and spa. We had to ask for kettle etc and then wait for at least half hour for it,instead of relaxing after arrival.

Reviewed by
Mary H

From UK
Who stayed in April 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Romantic escape
Upgraded as it was our anniversary, wonderful, friendly staff and a very relaxing spa. Ideal as a special place for our 10 wedding anniversary.

Reviewed by
R Parkes

From Taunton, UK
Who stayed in January 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very disappointing_worst hotel spa ever been to
I booked a night stay at the Royal Crescent as a Christmas present to my partner, and I hoped we could enjoy a romantic retreat in a special accommodation. I stayed in other Relais Chateaux before, and always had great stays.
The Royal Crescent in Bath is a beautiful location with an amazing garden, inside a wonderful building full of history and charm. But the room we stayed in (a DELUXE double room) was dirty and sloppy: a filthy fabric bed headrest, ripped curtains, holes in the wallpaper. Personally I also found the furniture and the tiles in the bathroom ugly, but that's personal taste.
The Spa was probably the biggest disappointment: small, no relaxation area where to lay down in between a sauna and steam room, the steam room itself was a plastic shed covered by bamboos on the outside only, with no aromatherapy oils in the steam. Hot and cold tubs so small they could have only 3 people in at the same time, a very small pool too, and super tiny men's changing area. The worst hotel spa I ever stayed at.
Considering the amount of money I spent for a night stay in this hotel, I was expecting soooo much more than what I got.

Reviewed by
Sara S

From London, UK
Who stayed in December 2012

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next