No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - BEST WESTERN Walworth Castle Hotel

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Walworth , Darlington, DL2 2LY
Offering 12th Century character and 21st Century convenience in Darlington, BEST WESTERN Walworth Castle Hotel is set in 18 acres of lawns and woodlands... just three miles from the A1(M).

This really is the ideal venue to get away and relax. Whether you are on the lookout for luxury or simply seeking style! Local attractions are easy to get to including the market town of Darlington, Richmond or Barnard Castle. Other attractions include High Force Waterfall, 1/2 hour drive to the coast or to the North Yorkshire Moors.

With a unique blend of flavors and features, we have an award winning restaurant that complements the tastefully designed bedrooms - including a feature four poster suite!

Our secluded, grand property is extremely popular for wedding receptions, and we can make your special day more memorable by the minute with exceptional service from the moment you arrive And of course, the pictures will be perfect!
Picture of BEST WESTERN Walworth Castle Hotel, Darlington at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 71 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
83% recommended this accommodation to a friend 83% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not a pleasant night!
Unfortunately, I was put in 'The West Wing' which was a bit like spending the night in a large prison cell! The room was a square,bland very small space with an equally small window situated on the corner of the room. You could hardly turn round in the bathroom let alone 'swing a cat'! The shower was 'unuseable' as you had no control over the water temperature which made it extremely hot and dangerous especially for the elderly or children. I ate in the bar which was passable.

Reviewed by
Stephen Godfrey

From Beverley, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great weekend
Excellent hotel and staff friendly - restaurant good value. However, unless you can get a ground floor room possibly not for those with mobility problems - lots of stairs to upper floors and no lift.

Reviewed by
David B

From UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Castle stay with lots of Character
stayed in this beautiful Castle for one night, and I really wasn't disappointed, the staff couldn't do enough to ensure a great stay, the room I stayed in was a superior room which included a 4 poster bed, all the décor matched the castle experience, even strolling around the castle is a delight with the items you can see and discover, one of the best nights sleep I've had in a while, would definitely recommend, and will definitely return,

Reviewed by
stuart moore

From Okehampton, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

I Booked the hotel as a surprise for my boyfriends birthday. We arrived on the 24/11/14 for a overnight stay. The hotel was amazing and the staff there were so lovely and helpful, I would recommend this hotel to everybody and will definitely be going again.

Reviewed by
Laura B

From Liverpool, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great location
Lovely castle, great first impression on arrival. We had booked a superior double room, which was tiny so don't know how big a normal double would be!
Breakfast was good, although you can get a drink whenever, the bar closes at 21.30, would have been nice to spend time relaxing there,

Reviewed by
Alan F

From Andover, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

BEST WESTERN Walworth Castle Hotel
Moved from one room to another because of having no hot water. The new room was slightly better in the evening but had no hot water in the morning. I believe that other rooms had similar difficulties. I would stay there again if the water problems were resolved.

Reviewed by
A White

From Chelmsford, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Quick Stay
I arrived very late in the evening, 24hr reception waiting for me to check in.
Clean and comfy, wish I was staying for lesuire so i could explore the hotel further.

Reviewed by
R Povall

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good stay soured by Hotel and Late Rooms intransigence
Enjoyed the breakfasts in particular ordered porridge followed by kippers both done well and served at the right time. What grated was I had inadvertently booked for 2 adults and therefore 2 breakfasts per day. It was obvious that I was on my own so when I tried to get the bill changed I was told to contact Late rooms. This I did and they said they would speak to the hotel which they did. Late rooms rang me and said nothing could be done because it was down to the hotel. The hotel said it was to do with commission and that's what happens when you book through an agency.
Common sense obviously doesn't prevail, so beware.

Reviewed by
Philip D

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Poor staff service but beautiful building
I arrived at hotel in the early hours. I chose this hotel as it advertised a 24hr reception. I tried calling reception 3 hrs prior to my arrival, then 2 hrs, then every 15 mins up until I arrived. No answer! When I arrived the hotel door was locked and there was no no staff manning the 24hr reception. I was liked round the hotel in the pouring rain after a 20hr day banging on every door possible, whilst trying to call reception. 53 minutes after my arrival the phone was finally answered and I was able to get inside. The member of staff informed me they had been checking rooms although from the bloodshot eyes and pillow marks to the face, it was clear to see someone had been asleep! Room was good value for money. Check out time was advertised at 11am although I was woken at 0900 by housekeeping in an attempt for me to vacate....given that I'd actually only been in my room several hours. Poor systems in place although actual building was delightful.

Reviewed by
Nicholas W

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very pleasurable late minute booking
I booked very late and had a very nice room with a good view. Clean and functional.
Would certainly recommend this hotel.

Reviewed by
J Elliott

From Diss, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Next