Last Minute Accommodation > World > Europe > UK > England > The West Country > Wiltshire > Limpley Stoke Hotels > Best Western Limpley Stoke Hotel, Bath
No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Best Western Limpley Stoke Hotel, Bath

3Visit England Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Woods Hill Limpley Stoke, Bath, BA2 7FZ
The Limpley Stoke Hotel is a traditional Georgian Country House founded in the reign of King James I. Set in 3 acres of private gardens on the outskirts of Bath. Easily accessible from the M4 motorway, the Hotel has a large car park and occupies a delightful village setting in an area of outstanding natural beauty overlooking the magnificent Avon Valley, with the 16th century Hop Pole Inn at bottom of the drive.

With its spacious public rooms, quality accommodation and friendly and attentive service, the Hotel is a haven for the discerning traveler. Many of the rooms have recently been completely refurbished, with new Executive Suites available. All rooms are private, with tea/coffee making facilities, radio and colour TV and complimentary WI FI access through out. The majority of rooms enjoy stunning views of the valley. All bedrooms have been individually designed and well equipped with fabrics and furnishing that complements the surroundings, offering both charm and character. The Viaduct restaurant offers an extensive menu which can caterer for all dietary requirements. Using selected, locally sourced ingredients where ever possible, our team of award winning Chefs produce mouth watering dishes every time.


THE HOTEL HOLDS WEDDINGS AND FUNCTIONS ON MOST WEEKENDS THROUGHOUT THE YEAR

The Limpley Stoke Hotel always offers a warm welcome!,

Picture of Best Western Limpley Stoke Hotel, Bath, Bath at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 113 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
78% recommended this accommodation to a friend 80% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

general comment
nice room. friendly staff and helpful. breakfast hot and lovley
would go again as i travel a lot as i am in the trade.

Reviewed by
k crawford

From Looe, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

1) Room service cream tea + 2)Heating
1) Good service. Reasonable price.
A "first" for us. (Smallest cream tea serving we`ve ever had)
2) Bathroom towel rail didn`t work. Room radiator only on in evening, and only got slightly warm with thermostatic valve open wide. (Also adjacent corridor radiators were all cold). Staffs valiant attempts to rectify faults to no avail. However, room temperature was just adequate without it!.

Reviewed by
Charles Hayward

From UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Best Western Limpley Stoke Hotel, Bath
The reception staff were friendly and very helpful. I had accidentally booked a twin room and they were only too happy to change us to a double. The hotel itself retains lots of period features with two large fireplaces in the communal area. Close to Bath City centre and excellent value for money.

Reviewed by
Alan J

From Nr Bridgwater, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Bath Christmas Market
My husband and I stayed for two nights at the Limpley Stoke hotel, we found the staff to be very helpful and kind.
The hotel itself has lovely views but the rooms are a little bit dated. They were absolutely fine for us as we just used the hotel for a bed for the night.
I cannot fault the cleanliness or the staff, especially the bell boy who bought us extra biscuits when I found out the local shop had closed and also the waiters/resses in the breakfast hall were very accomodating.

Reviewed by
Jane B

From Worthing, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A real country hotel
I drove direct from Bath city centre to this hotel.
Unfortunately my satnav brought me in from the wrong direction through the narrowest and steepest lanes I have ever driven through in my life and on a dark winter evening so I advise you to follow the directions on the web site!
Once I found the entrance it was a surprising sight driving up the steep entrance to the hotel which was dramatically floodlit. A surprisingly large car park with plenty of vehicles indicated this was a popular place.
This is a real country hotel steeped in character and a pleasant change from the generic Premier Inn or Travel Lodge (and a lot cheaper). Reception was pleasant and I was made welcome, room was clean, comfortable and warm on arrival and I was able to immediately get to work finishing off the days business with the free wifi (I had a wireless access point in my own room!).
The choice of eating in the hotel was either in the restaurant or bar meal/room service. The room service menu looked very good and reasonable with no mention of tray/service charge, but eating a meal in a hotel room is not to my liking. Restaurant looked excellent, good menu but maybe a bit formal for my needs for a simple meal and a pint of beer on my own. The bar menu was to my taste but on entering the bar which was getting busy I noticed there were only 4 large and low tables, already occupied by residents enjoying a drink and when I asked the barman were do I sit to have my meal I was told I could either eat at the bar or at one of the tables. Neither option appealed to me, especially eating amongst strangers enjoying their drinks and conversations so I decided to investigate the pub I noticed opposite the hotel entrance on arrival, the "Hop Pole Inn". This was a delightful old style English pub with a welcome wood burning fire in the bar room and very welcoming bar staff. I had just missed last orders for meals but they quickly checked with the kitchen if I could order a meal and I was given the ok. I had a traditional scampi and chips with peas, freshly made and a perfect pint of Buttcombe bitter (so good in fact I had another!).
I stayed at this hotel for a simple overnighter while on business, arrived in the dark and left not long after daybreak in the morning, but I saw enough of the hotel, grounds and area to consider coming back again with my wife to use as a base to investigate a bit more of the area surrounding Bath.
Next time the satnav will be off and I'll follow the hotel's recommended directions!

Reviewed by
Philip J

From Ellesmere Port, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very nice but a bit out of the way.....
Nice place to stay although on this occasion a bit out of the way for me. Quiet location which was nice for a change and the country views were lovely. I did miss breakfast which i was going to try (but hadn't booked originally) so i cannot comment on the food. But all in all, good value for money and i would definitely recommend staying here. Staff very professional too.

Reviewed by
Laurence S

From Gloucester, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Convenient for bath
We chose here as it a lot cheaper than a hotel in the middel of bath, the decor is a bit tired but overall well worth the money.

Reviewed by
d foreman

From Lewes, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hard to find but worth it.
Do not be put off by the highway approach or even the exterior - it is much better inside though not perfect.. Food is good and occupancy high which speaks for itself. We went Monday/Tuesday which are not really leisure days in mid-November but plenty of business people, too.

Reviewed by
Timothy G

From Moreton in Marsh, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

good break
Although this hotel is a bit tired, we enjoyed staying in an old country house. The room was adequate and warm and the beds very comfortable. The big surprise was the excellent food. Good choice at dinner and very well presented

Reviewed by
G Keen

From Sunbury on Thames, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Perfect location for bath university, spotlessly clean and very helpful staff. Overall very enjoyable stay. Likely to stay again.

Reviewed by
Sarah M

From Hull, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Family

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next