No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Campanile Hotel Birmingham- Central East

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Chester Street Aston, Birmingham, B6 4BE
Modern canalside hotel situated 5 minutes drive from the city centre, great for shopping or enjoying the fabulous and diverse nightlife in Birmingham yet quiet enough to relax and enjoy the comfortable bar and bistro. Easy to find from junction 6 of the M6.
Closest hotel to Aston Villa FC, 5 minute drive or 20 minute walk, Birmingham City FC, 5 minute drive
Aston University, 2 minute drive or 10 minute walk
***FREE CAR PARK***
*** 26" LCD TV IN EVERY BEDROOM WITH 50 FREEVIEW CHANNELS***
*** SKY SPORTS & ESPN ON 4 LARGE SCREEN TV'S IN LOUNGE & BAR***
Discounted tickets to local attractions available to purchase direct from the hotel. Save money & beat the queues!
Picture of Campanile Hotel Birmingham- Central East, Birmingham at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 96 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
72% recommended this accommodation to a friend 78% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Budget stay
Booked a twin room for a Saturday night stay. Room was basic which is fine as didnt pay too much for it. Bathroom not as clean as i would have hoped - awful smell and dried faeces on toilet seat! The smell lifted somewhat when i cleaned the offending stain!
Beds were comfortable if a bit close together! Pillows lovely and comfotable. Room cold initially but warms up nicely with heater on.
My main grumble is really about the layout of the room and the fact there are no plug sockets near the mirrors. Loving the wall mounted bottle opener though!
Breakfast was ok but overpriced. Service was disorganised with guests waiting for food to be replenished.
Ample car parking spaces and close to city centre.

Reviewed by
L Sweeney

From birmingham, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not the cleanest of rooms
When we arrived we were kindly allowed to leave our car at the hotel so we could walk into the city which we were impressed by. They couldn't find our booking when we tried to check-in but we were assured it would be sorted on our return and it was. The room was small but had everything you could need apart from plug sockets which were limited. The room looked very run down and the bathroom was not clean. The light made a horrendous noise when being turned on. Bed was extremely comfy, with fabulous pillows and a duvet.

Reviewed by
katie g

From Worcester, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Campanile Hotel Birmingham - Central East
Food lacked quality and I was short hanged on my drinks.

Reviewed by
R Reddington

From Nottingham, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Business Stay for 5 Nights
Room was basic, needed a decorate but was clean and served a purpose when on a budget. Wi-Fi was poor and some what unreliable but I was told there was an issue with the provided? Breakfast was good as was the TV in the room.

Reviewed by
John G

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good value for money
Purchased room for £32 from Laterooms which is excellent room for money. Hotel is in a trading estate and close to busy duel carriageway but noise not noticeable from room. Car park half full of vans from adjacent business which made parking difficult. Car park has locked security gates after 11pm, access code provided and reasonably priced. Didn't see any restaurants locally so had burger and chips in hotel restaurant which was fine (£9with 2 beers - 2014). Receptionist pleasant and efficient. Room good, clean with wardrobe and reasonable size flat screen TV. Bathroom clean, and powerful shower. There were a few noisy guests returning to their room at 2.30am despite hotel notices to respect others. Didn't eat breakfast at hotel.

Reviewed by
Steve L

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent Basic Hotel, that's not that basic!
Had an excellent stay here, the staff were really friendly and helpful.
Room was great.
Food was very good in the evening and for breakfast.
Highly Recommended.
We'd stay again!

Reviewed by
N Simpson

From Newquay, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

One night
Arrived in middle of partial power cut. Detailed information provided about what was happening.
Went out and found it was difficult to get a bus into town as only every 30 or 60 mins.
Walked back due to poor service but could have got buses part way if I had known locality better.
Bar prices quite high. Reasonable looking menu but had eaten elsewhere in town.
Further short power cuts that created problems with free wifi. Bed reasonably comfy. Shower very low for tall person, temp difficult to control.
Did not have breakfast as needed early departure. Check out quite efficient

Reviewed by
Michael N

From Cheadle, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent value for money
Since I first stayed at the Camponile, the quality of the establishment has risen a notch. Good customer service and great value for money.

Reviewed by
Jon Simms

From London, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

bathroom/bed/electric heater /tv
The bathroom smell foul I was in a rush to a venue same evening as soon as I got bk I complain to the black guy he come upstairs with me also the heater wasn't working he help with it, he also smell how foul the bathroom has black moles on the walls it's disgusting I was so
mpain up and tired I had no choice but to stay in the room I suffer with my chest and arthritis I complain to the duty manager next morning he said there is nothing he could do as I am leaving but he give me full breakfast as compensation tv I had to use mirror to see no to plug in aathema pathetic. bed comfy that's it as I say to duty manager the rooms should be check before paying clients arrive very unprofessional of the hotel get new cleaning staff the ones you have are nasty and need a course in cleaning the heat

to work as it was a cold night I always stay in hotels and this is the worst by far and that's an understatement.

Reviewed by
M Johnson

From Nottingham, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Budget Hotel
While I understand the term budget, some things stretch it! The room was very spartan and worn. The bathroom was mouldy and somewhat smelly, and the decor was very dated. The building needs a good spruce up. However, all staff were very polite and efficient and the breakfast was good and well stocked. Such a shame the room was so grim - it did spoil our weekend and we won't book Campanile again.

Reviewed by
B Jennison-Phillips

From Cheltenham, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next