No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Menzies Hotels Glasgow

4AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
27 Washington Street , Glasgow, G3 8AZ
A few minutes walk from Glasgow Central Station this AA 4 star hotel offers quiet, spacious, air-conditioned rooms with free wi-fi, leisure facilities and on-site parking.

Our bedrooms are quiet, spacious, modern, yet traditional and offer free Wi-Fi, 32 inch flat screen TV’s with Freeview, ironing facilities, bathrobes, mini fridges, hairdryer and tea & coffee making facilities with Sky Sports 1,2,3,4 & F1. Built on the site of an historic Rice Mill, our hotel incorporates the original building which today houses twelve exquisite apartments ideal for business guests and families requiring a little additional living space and further privacy.

The Brasserie restaurant serves a menu prepared with seasonal ingredients. There is also a relaxing lounge bar with a range of wines and beers.

The Waves health and leisure club offers a 15 metre pool, steam room, sauna and fully equipped gym. The Savannah Spa also offers 3 treatment rooms.

George Street, Argyll Arcade and the St Enoch Centre are all within a 10 minute walk, the SECC is a 15 minute walk and Scotland’s National Stadium at Hampden is 5 minutes away by car. Car parking is available at the hotel at a small cost of £4.00 per day.

Following on from last year’s success at the Scottish Hotel Awards, The Menzies Glasgow have added two more prestigious awards to their collection – Business & Leisure Hotel of the Year and Senior Manager of the Year. The hotel has also been accredited with a Silver award from Green Business Tourism.

Please note that as of 1st January 2015, Smoking Rooms are no longer available at the Hotel
Picture of Menzies Hotels Glasgow, Glasgow at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since February 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 216 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
91% recommended this accommodation to a friend 92% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Almost Top Marks!
Really nice hotel with clean, comfortable and nicely sized rooms. The bed was comfortable and vast.
All in all a very good place to stay, and very close to the city centre.

Reviewed by
Rob S

From UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lost some of it's edge
Don't get me wrong, this is still a good place to stay, the staff could not be friendlier or helpful, but, Menzies has been bought out and is due to have a name change this summer. What became apparent is that internal investment in furnishings and trimmings appears to have stopped. The place is not falling apart but has lost it's edge. Would I stay again? Maybe. Would I recommend to a friend? As a second choice maybe. Glasgow is full of alternatives, many worse than Menzies which would still be in my top ten.

Reviewed by
D Charnock

From Castle Douglas, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Menzies Hotels Glasgow
Warm and friendly greeting, staff happy to assist in any way. Room very spacious and very clean. Excellent value for money. Leisure facilities also excellent.

Reviewed by
H Ewing

From Dunoon, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Well situated quiet hotel.
This hotel has got so much going for it. My only comment for improvement was our bathroom which was a bit 'tired' looking and needed a bit of modernization. The cistern ran all night and was quite noisy. My husband tried to fix it but as soon as the toilet was flushed again the mechanism came loose. The grout and seal round the bath needed replaced but it was all very clean none the less.

Reviewed by
M McNeill

From Tranent, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

January Over Night Stay
Nice hotel and good value for money, staff are ok but clueless. Tried to charge me twice for the room even though I had a receipt which they tried to take away from me.
Also they ( 2 of, at reception one being a manager) forogt to tell me the car park code after leaving which left my partner outside standing in the freezing snow with all the bags and I had to run back and obtain this code, this was frustrating because he had been discussing the car park and cost etc so they must have knew I needed this code.

Reviewed by
Craig N

From UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Menzies Hotels Glasgow
Service was very good all round. Only complaint would be some of the breakfast food I did not think was to the same standard of the rest of the hotel services.

Reviewed by
Mike Gumley

From Largs, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very impressed with Menzies hotel can't wait to return
Stay was wonderful from beginning to end always someone available when required and room was lovely very clean and modern. Was very impressed

Reviewed by
Melanie Rice

From Glasgow, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Hotel

Reviewed by
James L

From UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Menzies Hotels Glasgow
Stayed at this hotel many times didn't find the breakfast as good :(

Reviewed by
Margaret Laidlaw

From Dingwall, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely hotel and the staff were very nice the pool and spa were excellent and one of the best breakfasts we have had in a hotel would definitely stay here again.

Reviewed by
a gilchrist

From Galston, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next