No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Campanile Hotel Washington

Not Classified AA Assessed Budget Hotel Ratings explained
Emerson Road, Washington, NE37 1LB
Direct access from junction 64 of A1M, 16 miles from Newcastle International Airport, 9 miles Newcastle City Centre and less than 10 minutes drive from the Metro Shopping Centre.

Campanile Washington makes an ideal choice whether you are a corporate traveller, visiting family and friends or for that night out in Washington, Sunderland or Newcastle. The hotel boast 79 comfortable en-suite rooms all have TV with Freeview, direct dial phone and all bedrooms and public areas have free wireless broadband network.

For the benefit of our corporate guests, the Campanile Hotel has a purpose built & self contained conference & training room.

THE HOTEL DO NOT ACCEPT SINGLE SEX PARTIES SUCH AS HEN OR STAG NIGHTS. ANY BOOKING AS SUCH WILL BE AUTOMATICALLY CANCELLED PRIOR TO ARRIVAL.
Picture of Campanile Hotel Washington, Washington at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 77 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
76% recommended this accommodation to a friend 80% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very pleasant hotel
First time had stopped at a Camponile Hotel and was pleasantly suprised. Very friendly and helpful staff. Hotel was easily found just of the A1M so there is some traffic noise at night if you leave the window open. Easy access into Newcastle and the coast. Will certainly consider it again

Reviewed by
Raymond L

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

just off the motorway
Being located close to the A1(M) this is a very convenient stopping point for those travelling north or south. It offers a "pub-grub" menu that is perfectly acceptable, with continental and English breakfast menus available. Overall to be recommended.

Reviewed by
Brian E

From Longfield, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Well.....
Apart from the neighbouring toilet that 'mooed' everytime it flushed and the fact that my pre-authorised payment is still hanging on my card, I can't fault the people there and the room was good for the money

Reviewed by
A Mackenzie

From Calne, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent value room
I was a bit apprehensive about booking this hotel after reading some of the reviews but at £35 per night decided to go for it, we usd the hotel as an overnight stop over for a drive up to Scotland.
We checked in on Sunday evening and the staff were really freindly and told us where to find everything and to let them know if there were any problems. Our room was on the 1st floor facing the car park, there are no lifts so if you have mobility problems ask for a room on the ground floor. We booked a double room and it was quite small but adequate, room had a kettle with tea and coffee and a hair dryer. Room was clean but decor was tired, 2 bath towels were supplied and were clean but well used so dont expect big fluffy soft towels like you find in some of the upmarket hotel chains, there were no dressing gowns or slippers. TV in room was a 24 inch flatscreen, I think some one set the alarm facility on the TV as it decided to turn itself on at 4am so you may want to check this before you go to bed. The bed was a very big double and extremely comfortable and 4 pillows are supplied which again were very comfortable at not the type which wrap around your head as soon as you lay down on them.
Room had 2 spare sockets so take an extention lead if you want to charge more than 2 devices at a time. The hotel is very close to the A1 which is the reason we chose it and you can hear the road noise in the room but I would not say it was obtrusive with the window closed and I live in the countryside, there is no airconditioning in the rooms so it may have been a different story if it had been a hot night and we wanted the window open.
Bathroom was clean but small, shower is over a 3/4 length bath with a shower curtain, soap and shower body wash are supplied, there is an extractor fan which was a little noisy and was on permanently so you need to close the bathroom door when you go to bed.
We did not eat at the hotel but the check in desk was in the resturant area and it look clean and tidy and the food smelt nice, there is a toby carvery about a 3 minute walk away so if you dont like the choice at the hotel you can always vote with your feet.
In summary as long as your expectation isnt a 5 star hotel because this aint you wont be disappointed for £35 per night, think of it more as a motel than a hotel i.e. good for 1 or 2 nights stoppover.

Reviewed by
David P

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Stayed for one night, the hotel was perfect for what we required. Quiet, easy to get to,& friendly.
Would stay again.

Reviewed by
v reid

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great value for money
Decor is dated but the place is clean and the bed comfortable. The chap on duty was overworked but did his job with a smile and gave as good customer service as possible under the circumstances.
The price really is unbeatable for accommodation. I should have mentioned the dripping basin tap to the staff but forgot.
All in all I would recommend this place for a night or two if you are in the area.

Reviewed by
Gillian S

From Witney, England
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

lack of staff in restaurant
Went into restaurant at 8pm and left about 30 mins later. Only one person trying to take orders, serve food & drink and man reception.
Reception is very slow due to ridiculous form filling, these details are already provided in online booking

Reviewed by
Graham H

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Mixed experience
The staff could not have been more friendly or helpful a bathplug appeared minutes after it was asked for, but the food was dreadful one night overcooked tuna an undercooked potatoes.
,then a perfectly acceptable lambburger, but the breakfasts were consistant ..... underwhelming I do not think one type of cheese and one type of cooked meat makes a continental breakfast

Reviewed by
G Meddes

From Ramsey, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good hotel, value for money.
the room was smaller than expected but was clean and adequate for what i needed. Will be recommending this hotel to friends as well as using again myself. The food was basic but tasty and well cooked. The only down side was that i couldn't get breakfast before 7am saturday or sunday but that won't be a problem for most people

Reviewed by
ALLAN P

From Lockerbie, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Quiet and comfortable
A secluded hotel close to main routes but hidden away in nice garden surroundings.
I liked especially the fact that we had two chairs with ample room around bed: a roomy bathroom with excellent and fast shower, clever design of space. A view of the car park and quiet ambience.
The full English breakfast was most generous and freshly cooked with plenty choices.

Reviewed by
Thora C

From Kinross, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Next