Reviews - Campanile Hotel Washington

Emerson Road, Washington, NE37 1LB

Price From 98.76 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.


All reviews (75)

65% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • Anushi P

  • July 2014

Great value, good friendly service

Good value for money, handy for Durham and Newcastle.

Staff friendly. Hotel basic decor but you don't spend that length of time in the hotel anyway to let it get on your nerves.

  • J Davis

  • July 2014

basic and dreary

The whole place looks and is battered and in need of updating.

It is cheap and fairly nasty. There was a light bulb out by the bed. We told the receptionist and were assured it would be replaced, especially as we were there for 2 nights. Of course no such thing happened. Also, there is no phone in the room, so if you have any questions etc for reception you have to go down stairs, no lifts, outside and then into the reception area...a bit of a trek. Had there been a real emergency, and you have no mobile phone, there was no way of contacting the emergency services without going through this trek. When we queried this, the guy on reception, who was the chef!, shrugged his shoulders. Overall the place desperately needs an update and the staff need something to be proud of, and more importantly, proud to be part of, as this is a huge chain. This is not the first Campanile we have stayed in and all share the same depressing buildings and disinterested staff.

  • Steve B

  • June 2014

my stay

The room was comfortable and at the right standard for the price.

The double bed is actually two singles joined together. There is more than enough parking and it has some good amenities close by.

  • Ian Price

  • June 2014

Excellent value for money

You will not find a better quality hotel for the price paid via Laterooms

  • M Ashley

  • June 2014


The key cards for the doors didn't always work, something not too inconvenient until a drunk man can't get in his room due to it, who decides to bang on his friends door for half an hour at 4.30am waking up the floor.

The walls are thin and you can hear everything, including the vomiting, conversation and television next door. The actual PIN safe door to enter the accommodation was alright, unless you wanted to get out and then the door wouldn't let you for 5 minuets non stop pressing the let out button. The cleaning staff were of course lovely, and helpful in anyway they could be, however the manager (or who ever was on the front desk) was totally miserable though polite. I'm not staying here again if I can help it.

  • Martin M

  • June 2014

Excellent value for money,we would certainly consider returning in the future.

Myself & my fiance cannot complain about any of the service at the Campanile Washington,the location was ideal for us,visits to Beamish museum & the Metrocentre on the agenda.

Spacious room,large bathroom,with bath & shower to suit both. We chose to dine out in the evening,Toby Carvery being particularly convienent,but the breakfast in the morning was ample,with various items being on buffet.

  • s jenkins

  • June 2014

Good value

booked the day before a concert, good value for money.

clean room and towels

very friendly staff

  • A Halsall

  • May 2014

Bed was soft, room clean, corridors shabby, staff very friendly and helpful food excellent

  • Joanne M

  • April 2014

Never again

Staff friendly, hotel really needs an up date its old and shabby and I would prefer to sleep in my car then return to this dump.

  • D Cole

  • April 2014

Such friendly Staff

All staff members were so lovely and helpful - I can not give enough credit.