Reviews - Campanile Hotel Washington

Emerson Road, Washington, NE37 1LB

Price From 98.76 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.


All reviews (75)

65% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • Brian E

  • September 2014

just off the motorway

Being located close to the A1(M) this is a very convenient stopping point for those travelling north or south.

It offers a "pub-grub" menu that is perfectly acceptable, with continental and English breakfast menus available. Overall to be recommended.

  • Graham Allen

  • September 2014

Basic hotel

  • A Mackenzie

  • September 2014


Apart from the neighbouring toilet that 'mooed' everytime it flushed and the fact that my pre-authorised payment is still hanging on my card, I can't fault the people there and the room was good for the money

  • v reid

  • August 2014

Stayed for one night, the hotel was perfect for what we required. Quiet, easy to get to,& friendly.

Would stay again.

  • David P

  • August 2014

Excellent value room

I was a bit apprehensive about booking this hotel after reading some of the reviews but at £35 per night decided to go for it, we usd the hotel as an overnight stop over for a drive up to Scotland.

We checked in on Sunday evening and the staff were really freindly and told us where to find everything and to let them know if there were any problems. Our room was on the 1st floor facing the car park, there are no lifts so if you have mobility problems ask for a room on the ground floor. We booked a double room and it was quite small but adequate, room had a kettle with tea and coffee and a hair dryer. Room was clean but decor was tired, 2 bath towels were supplied and were clean but well used so dont expect big fluffy soft towels like you find in some of the upmarket hotel chains, there were no dressing gowns or slippers. TV in room was a 24 inch flatscreen, I think some one set the alarm facility on the TV as it decided to turn itself on at 4am so you may want to check this before you go to bed. The bed was a very big double and extremely comfortable and 4 pillows are supplied which again were very comfortable at not the type which wrap around your head as soon as you lay down on them. Room had 2 spare sockets so take an extention lead if you want to charge more than 2 devices at a time. The hotel is very close to the A1 which is the reason we chose it and you can hear the road noise in the room but I would not say it was obtrusive with the window closed and I live in the countryside, there is no airconditioning in the rooms so it may have been a different story if it had been a hot night and we wanted the window open. Bathroom was clean but small, shower is over a 3/4 length bath with a shower curtain, soap and shower body wash are supplied, there is an extractor fan which was a little noisy and was on permanently so you need to close the bathroom door when you go to bed. We did not eat at the hotel but the check in desk was in the resturant area and it look clean and tidy and the food smelt nice, there is a toby carvery about a 3 minute walk away so if you dont like the choice at the hotel you can always vote with your feet. In summary as long as your expectation isnt a 5 star hotel because this aint you wont be disappointed for £35 per night, think of it more as a motel than a hotel i.e. good for 1 or 2 nights stoppover.

  • Graham H

  • August 2014

lack of staff in restaurant

Went into restaurant at 8pm and left about 30 mins later.

Only one person trying to take orders, serve food & drink and man reception. Reception is very slow due to ridiculous form filling, these details are already provided in online booking

  • Gillian S

  • August 2014

Great value for money

Decor is dated but the place is clean and the bed comfortable.

The chap on duty was overworked but did his job with a smile and gave as good customer service as possible under the circumstances. The price really is unbeatable for accommodation. I should have mentioned the dripping basin tap to the staff but forgot. All in all I would recommend this place for a night or two if you are in the area.

  • G Meddes

  • August 2014

Mixed experience

The staff could not have been more friendly or helpful a bathplug appeared minutes after it was asked for, but the food was dreadful one night overcooked tuna an undercooked potatoes.

,then a perfectly acceptable lambburger, but the breakfasts were consistant ..... underwhelming I do not think one type of cheese and one type of cooked meat makes a continental breakfast


  • July 2014

Good hotel, value for money.

the room was smaller than expected but was clean and adequate for what i needed.

Will be recommending this hotel to friends as well as using again myself. The food was basic but tasty and well cooked. The only down side was that i couldn't get breakfast before 7am saturday or sunday but that won't be a problem for most people

  • Thora C

  • July 2014

Quiet and comfortable

A secluded hotel close to main routes but hidden away in nice garden surroundings.

I liked especially the fact that we had two chairs with ample room around bed: a roomy bathroom with excellent and fast shower, clever design of space. A view of the car park and quiet ambience. The full English breakfast was most generous and freshly cooked with plenty choices.