No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The St James Hotel - a Corus hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
St. James Square, Grimsby, DN31 1EP
St James' is a modern hotel, situated in the heart of Grimsby, close to Cleethorpes, Lincoln and Sheffield. With Grimsby shopping centre and Cleethorpes beach nearby, it is an ideal location for many travellers.

The St James offers an ideal hotel for business or pleasure with accommodation ranging from standard to Corus designed bedrooms. Free WiFi in public areas and bedrooms. Free car parking.

Friendly staff are assured to make your stay as pleasant as possible. Explore the attractive Lincolnshire coastline or take the family on a visit to some of the traditional seaside towns nearby. The award winning Fishing Heritage Centre is within close walkind distance. All these attractions are within easy reach, making the hotel ideal for family breaks.

Picture of The St James Hotel - a Corus hotel, Grimsby at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 78 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
60% recommended this accommodation to a friend 67% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The St James Hotel - a Corus hotel
Hotel easy to find, i didnt try the food but the hotel rooms were clean and decent value for money i would stay here again

Reviewed by
l k

From England
Who stayed in December 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Night away
my wife and i stayed at this hotel for the one night, i had seen some of the reviews on the website and we were not expecting great things. We were greeted pleasantly by the reception desk on arrival and booked in with efficiency, and briefed on all the details. On entrance to our room we were more than happy with our accomadation it had everything we needed for a nice stay. Yes sure the decor could do with updating but everything was spotlessly clean and the beds were realy comfortable. We spent a short while in the bar and the staff were excellent we didn't eat in the hotel as we were eating out and had booked elsewhere. The breakfast in the morning was first rate all you can eat and a realy good selection, again the staff were fantastic couldn't do enough for you. Would stay again if were to be going in the area.

Reviewed by
S LOWE

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

x
x

Reviewed by
NIkki H

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice overnight stay
This hotel has a nice atmosphere, it is easy to move around, the staff are friendly and helpful. Our room was basic but clean with comfortable bed. Clean bathroom and toilet.

Reviewed by
Beverly R

From Denbigh, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Dated but good value for money
The hotel overall needs a serious modernisation. The public areas and rooms are very dated. That said, for the price is perfectly clean and comfortable. Staff on reception were a bit surly on arrival but very pleasant on check out, so perhaps someone was having a bad day!
The late lunch in the bar area was unoriginal to say the least - we may only have asked for sandwiches and a bowl of chips but I would have expected more than just buttered bread with chicken in! No flavour at all.

Reviewed by
Marc Auty

From Goole, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room was ok, but the reception area's are way overdue for a refit.

Reviewed by
P Kemp

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not worth £91
Hotel is situated next to fly over, rooms are dated, beds are poor if you paid £40-£50 you couldn't complain however £91 a night is to much. Worst night sleep i've ever had in a hotel stay room was boiling hot, there was a cistern i one room buzzing all night. To top it of the breakfast was terrible, wouldn't stay again .

Reviewed by
ADAM C

From Bury, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A very disappointing experience.
The first room we went in smelt of smoke, even though it was a non-smoking room. We asked to be moved and the second room was better, although the shower curtain was stained brown at the bottom where it stood in water in the bath and the pull switch to switch from bath to shower was broken. The main thing though, was that there was a wedding in the hotel and our room was directly above the DJ. We couldn't watch TV as the noise from the music was too over-powering - we couldn't hear the TV. It finished at 11.45pm. We were not made aware of the wedding when we booked - why do hotels not put guests of the wedding in these rooms, instead of 'regular' guests? I am a blue badge holder - when we arrived the one disabled parking bay had a traffic cone in it, stopping anyone from parking in it. We went out for dinner and when we came back a minibus from the wedding was parked in the bay - it did not have a blue badge in the window. Overall - a really disappointing experience.

Reviewed by
Liz B

From Castleford, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A Most Enjoyable Stay
Excellent Value for Money, fantastic customer service, great food and a good atmosphere. We really enjoyed our stay. Thank you

Reviewed by
fiona robson

From , UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Polite and helpful staff, clean but basic room, value for money evening meal and drinks - Fish and Chips over fried but Chicken Stroganoff pleasantly creamy with fluffy rice, excellent and very enjoyable jazz band playing.

Reviewed by
Jane N

From England
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Next