No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The St James Hotel - a Corus hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
St. James Square, Grimsby, DN31 1EP
St James' is a modern hotel, situated in the heart of Grimsby, close to Cleethorpes, Lincoln and Sheffield. With Grimsby shopping centre and Cleethorpes beach nearby, it is an ideal location for many travellers.

The St James offers an ideal hotel for business or pleasure with accommodation ranging from standard to Corus designed bedrooms. Free WiFi in public areas and bedrooms. Free car parking.

Friendly staff are assured to make your stay as pleasant as possible. Explore the attractive Lincolnshire coastline or take the family on a visit to some of the traditional seaside towns nearby. The award winning Fishing Heritage Centre is within close walkind distance. All these attractions are within easy reach, making the hotel ideal for family breaks.

Picture of The St James Hotel - a Corus hotel, Grimsby at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 86 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
61% recommended this accommodation to a friend 67% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A very disappointing experience.
The first room we went in smelt of smoke, even though it was a non-smoking room. We asked to be moved and the second room was better, although the shower curtain was stained brown at the bottom where it stood in water in the bath and the pull switch to switch from bath to shower was broken. The main thing though, was that there was a wedding in the hotel and our room was directly above the DJ. We couldn't watch TV as the noise from the music was too over-powering - we couldn't hear the TV. It finished at 11.45pm. We were not made aware of the wedding when we booked - why do hotels not put guests of the wedding in these rooms, instead of 'regular' guests? I am a blue badge holder - when we arrived the one disabled parking bay had a traffic cone in it, stopping anyone from parking in it. We went out for dinner and when we came back a minibus from the wedding was parked in the bay - it did not have a blue badge in the window. Overall - a really disappointing experience.

Reviewed by
Liz B

From Castleford, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A Most Enjoyable Stay
Excellent Value for Money, fantastic customer service, great food and a good atmosphere. We really enjoyed our stay. Thank you

Reviewed by
fiona robson

From , UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Polite and helpful staff, clean but basic room, value for money evening meal and drinks - Fish and Chips over fried but Chicken Stroganoff pleasantly creamy with fluffy rice, excellent and very enjoyable jazz band playing.

Reviewed by
Jane N

From England
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

mattress shocking!!
checked in late as been on road for 6hrs, struggled to find car parking space firstly. Checked in no issues and staff friendly. Got to bedroom not impressed, grubby, stains on carpet, bathroom desperately needs updating. got into bed and fell into a crevasse as the mattress was well shall we say passed its sell by date. the whole left hand side had caved in with the springs sticking through. needless to say i slept on the right hand side. when asked at checking out if all was ok i informed reception explaining the aforementioned. A verbal apology was received from receptionist and i was also informed that my comments would be passed on to mangement and that i would expect a call to discuss. Still waiting for call!! will not be staying here again if working in Grimsby.

Reviewed by
Stuart Mann

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

restful break
I have no problems with this hotel stayed here on a few occasions ,hotel is at start of town centre, near to all amenities we stayed at back of hotel which could be noisy but only on a Sunday church is 20 metres away did not bother us room was warm ,pumping hot water clean towels every day breakfast was a buffet style eat as much/little as you want never had evening meal cannot comment overall I was pleased thanks St James and all you staff

Reviewed by
robert e

From Barrow in Furness, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

All good
Did the job, good location. Staff helpful & room was clean.

Reviewed by
K Johnstone

From Leeds, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent Localtion let down by warm and stuffy rooms
Excellent central location in the very heart of the town. The downside of that is there can be a lot of noise in the area particularly at the weekends going on throughout the night. So maybe not ideal for a longer stay. The staff are very helpful particularly reception and the housekeepers. I found the room to be dated the bed far too soft but very clean thanks to the housekeeping staff. The hotel in general is long overdue a refurbishment. My biggest complaint is the rooms are far too stuffy and uncomfortably warm and the windows don’t open properly and there are no bedside fans or even a fridge to keep cold drinks – which to my mind, in the height of summer amounts to cruelty. and for that reason I doubt if I will stay there again.

Reviewed by
Alan C

From Aberdeen, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice for the price
I stayted at the hotel for one night it was basic for the price wish the window could open as was very got they were very helpful

Reviewed by
C Bland

From Boston, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

to hot
very friendly staff and clean hotel but rooms are stifling hot to the point of being uncomfortable

Reviewed by
scott stewart

From Gainsborough, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Town centre location. Value for money hotel. Staff friendly and helpful. Reasonable food choice at decent prices.

Reviewed by
SHAUN P

From Wisbech, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Next