No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The St James Hotel - a Corus hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
St. James Square, Grimsby, DN31 1EP
St James' is a modern hotel, situated in the heart of Grimsby, close to Cleethorpes, Lincoln and Sheffield. With Grimsby shopping centre and Cleethorpes beach nearby, it is an ideal location for many travellers.

The St James offers an ideal hotel for business or pleasure with accommodation ranging from standard to Corus designed bedrooms. Free WiFi in public areas and bedrooms. Free car parking.

Friendly staff are assured to make your stay as pleasant as possible. Explore the attractive Lincolnshire coastline or take the family on a visit to some of the traditional seaside towns nearby. The award winning Fishing Heritage Centre is within close walkind distance. All these attractions are within easy reach, making the hotel ideal for family breaks.

Picture of The St James Hotel - a Corus hotel, Grimsby at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 88 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
61% recommended this accommodation to a friend 67% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

All good
Did the job, good location. Staff helpful & room was clean.

Reviewed by
K Johnstone

From Leeds, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

restful break
I have no problems with this hotel stayed here on a few occasions ,hotel is at start of town centre, near to all amenities we stayed at back of hotel which could be noisy but only on a Sunday church is 20 metres away did not bother us room was warm ,pumping hot water clean towels every day breakfast was a buffet style eat as much/little as you want never had evening meal cannot comment overall I was pleased thanks St James and all you staff

Reviewed by
robert e

From Barrow in Furness, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice for the price
I stayted at the hotel for one night it was basic for the price wish the window could open as was very got they were very helpful

Reviewed by
C Bland

From Boston, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Town centre location. Value for money hotel. Staff friendly and helpful. Reasonable food choice at decent prices.

Reviewed by
SHAUN P

From Wisbech, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Our Grimsby experience ruined
We stayed in this hotel for my daughters wedding, the staff were rude, we had to go looking for staff to get served in the bar. The breakfast menu was good however not enough and when we asked for more, we were told that was it there is no more. There was mouldy bread on offer staff just seemed uninterested. The rooms were unbelievably hot there was no air con and the window opened up to around 3inches and no more. On the Friday night a band was playing in the bar of the hotel which could clearly be heard in the hotel room which was on the 3rd floor. Family members that were also staying in the hotel were all charged different prices for breakfast even though there was the same number of guests and we all had the same breakfast. Being in the forces I have stayed in many hotels and this one is by far the worst.

Reviewed by
Sarah Bennett

From Blandford forum, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

could do with complete face lift and a good clean
This hotel is really well situated for Grimsby town . The front of house staff are really welcoming and friendly but thiats where the good news ends. The hotel is generally run down and really tatty in places, thread bare carpers in places, brown stained bath dirty windows with curtians which looked like they hadnt been cleaned or dusted for years. I was afraid to close them due to the amount of dust on them. I asked for an ironing board which had a huge hole in the cover when it arrived, i put a towel on it so it could be . To be fair if you are looking for a hostel stay you may think this is okay but certainly not suitable if you are a business traveler. The dinning room has stained smelly carpets, unhappy and unfriendly staff who refused to put tweezers in the bread bin until asked twice! tea and toast costs £7.00, this is certainly not a place which could boast value for money

Reviewed by
lynn m

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

After having driven for 6.5 hours from Devon, I was looking forward to a great night sleep except when I got in the room and sat on the bed it was hard, and the springs from the mattress was poking through making laying on the bed impossible. In the end I laid the pillows on the floor and slept on the duvet!
Very poor bed this time around and I'm certainly put off from using st James again!
I have stayed there several times and this stay was the worst.

Reviewed by
Catherine Scullard

From Dawlish, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

room was clean and tidy but could do with an upgrade doors work by key not card.

Reviewed by
joseph m

From Birmingham, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Stop over for a surprise party
Hotel was clean but dated, could do with a make over. Staff pleasant and helpful. Good central location.

Reviewed by
Richard N

From Hull, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice hotel need to improve some members of staffs customer service
Stayed here before and no problems but when went for breakfast one member of staff was very inattentive and his attitude was that he couldn't be bothered. On check out queired the bill but just said thats right pursued the matter and hadn't taken off a discount and also charged for a 4 year olds breakfast which we were advised was free of charge. The rooms a nice and it is a very good central location do think they should offer deals inclusive of breakfast.

Reviewed by
Victoria P

From Barnsley, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Family with young children

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Next