No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - TravelRest Bournemouth

3Self Classified Guest Accommodation Ratings explained
135 West Hill Road , Bournemouth, BH2 5EG
This TravelRest 25 of the 45 bedrooms fully refurbished to the smart, clean and comfortable TravelRest bedroom standard.
The remaining 20 bedrooms are traditionally furnished budget rooms, offering great value and some with views towards the sea and Bournemouth bay. TravelRest bedrooms feature free Wi-fi, flat screen TV/DVD, iPod docking stations(on request), toiletries and the TravelRest hospitality tray.

Key features at a glance:

> Situated in one of Bournemouth's prime locations, WITH EASY ACCESS TO KEY BUSINESS SITES IN POOLE AND BOURNEMOUTH VICINITY VIA WESSEX WAY.
> Just 100 metres from the seafront and within a few hundred metres of BIC
> Easy walking distance of the town centre and main entertainment attractions, bars and shops, .
> Two styles of guest bedroom – contemporary TravelRest Club Rooms featuring designer fabrics; toiletries; luxury hospitality tray and IPod docking station.
> Traditional budget rooms – classically furnished rooms, some family sized and other with views towards the sea and bay.
> All rooms feature flatscreen TV and DVD player
> Free parking on site, limited and alternative free parking within the immediate area
> Bar and cafe open throughout the day
> 24 hours reception
> Free wi-fi
> Group Friendly
Picture of TravelRest Bournemouth, Bournemouth at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 266 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
79% recommended this accommodation to a friend 82% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Everything catered for
We only stayed in this hotel for one night .. But the room though it was only a budget was excelant . Comfortable .. Spotless .. And everything in working order .. No shabby broken furnisher..
The breakfast cooked to perfection..
Staff friendly and always ready to help ...
Hotel was close to seafront and town ..all in walking distance .
When in Bournemouth again ... This is the hotel we will go back to .

Reviewed by
Anne c

From Caerphilly, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Short stay
I stayed at the Travelrest for one night with my two year old son. I would recommend that if you have small children you may need to carry, you specify a ground or first floor room when booking as there are no lifts, and carrying a dead weight up to the second floor involved about 4 sets of stairs and nearly did me in :)
The room itself was neat and tidy. The bathroom had been redone and was nice and clean. The matress was not as firm as I would have liked, and probably due for replacement. The bedside lamps did not work (one did not have an area to plug it in). General decor in the hotel is dated, but not terrible.
I found parking a little difficult as the street has a lot of hotels and this meant that the spaces filled up pretty quickly.
You are very close to the beach though which is great.

Reviewed by
Daniela S

From London, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not ideal
Booked a family room with our 3 year old which on arrival turned out to be on the 4th Floor. There is no lift but thought maybe family rooms were in this part of the hotel as it was quieter. This wasn't the case as we were in a room next to a group of lads who played loud music and screamed and shouted until abou 4:30 in the morning! We heard security knock a couple of times but it didn't make any difference.

Reviewed by
Kevin F

From Honiton, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

This is a great place to stay, good location, cheap and very cheerful

Reviewed by
A Marchment

From Salisbury, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Didn't get much TravelRest!
Don't get me wrong, we had a lovely time at the TravelRest, but there were a couple of problems we had during our stay:
- Radiator in our room made weird and loud noises throughout the night, which we were told couldn't be helped. Unfortunately we're both quite light sleepers so this kept us awake, but it might not be an issue for other people.
- Other guests in the hotel were rather loud and unruly through the night. Obviously, this is probably out of the hotel's control, but some shoo-ing action from staff in the corridors might have been good.
- Shower tended to overflow after a couple of minutes use. Again was told this couldn't be helped.
- Didn't bother us, but we noticed there was no phone in the room, so make sure you take your mobile!
However, like I said, there were many good points about the hotel too including; location (Literally a stone's throw from the beach), friendliness of staff, clean rooms, facilities in room, good price etc etc.
If you're looking for a good value hotel for a couple of nights close to the beach, then this hotel is for you. I wouldn't recommend it for longer stays, but that's probably due to personal taste!

Reviewed by
M Godfrey

From Abingdon, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent accommodation clean and tidy room breakfast served to a very high standard with good service very good value for money reception staff extremely helpful and available when you need them car parking can be an issue first come basis would definitely use this hotel again we had a lovely stay here

Reviewed by
duane u

From Wisbech, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

This hotel is ideal for an overnight stay rooms clean tidy
The only complaint we have is that the shower was cold and the shower tray filled with water.

Reviewed by
Vicki Searle

From Swanage, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Was good enough for the money
Good enough for the money

Reviewed by
C Love

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

perfect stay for the price
Nice and clean room,not small, good housekeeping service and nice staff

Reviewed by
Georgi P

From England
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good Economical Hotel
Only issue was parking, but you would expect this in a city location. Staff did well to help.

Reviewed by
Peter E

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next