No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Lumley Castle Hotel

4AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Ropery Lane, Chester Le Street , County Durham, DH34NX
Standing proud for more than 600 years, the magnificent spectacle of Lumley Castle dominates the County Durham landscape. Surrounded by beautiful parklands overlooking the River Wear and Durham County Cricket Ground, Lumley Castle is a magnificent monument to a bygone age of chivalry and honour.
Located between the historic city of Durham and the vibrant beats of Newcastle, perfectly situated to explore the North East of England. Lumley Castle is undoubtedly one of the finest Durham hotels and UK business and leisure destinations, effortlessly combining old and new to create a truly unique and memorable travel experience.
With 73 uniquely designed bedrooms with Free Wifi throughout - elegant drapes, four poster beds, feature baths, rooms with stunning views, a library bar and an award winning restaurant - Lumley Castle is a feast for all the senses!
Lumley Castle is a unique & inspirational venue; perfect for weddings, conferences, celebrations, luxury dining & leisure breaks.

Picture of Lumley Castle Hotel, County Durham at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 53 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
89% recommended this accommodation to a friend 89% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

i was not very happy with some staff some very nice and not for the money you pay not good sorry
I would really like to go back again because dint really have much time to look all around .if a few things change really over priced. and not very save any one could of walk in .if a lot cleaner I would tell friends about it .

Reviewed by
deborah brown

From Penrith, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Relaxing Break
We booked this room as a family member was having their wedding at the hotel. A thoroughly enjoyable experience. Staff all pleasant and polite and breakfast was lovely.

Reviewed by
Joanne B

From Washington, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fabulous castle accommodation
I cannot give the Lumley Castle Hotel a higher recommendation. It is a fabulous, unusual place to stay, filled with everything you could imagine from a beautiful castle and surroundings.

Reviewed by
C Horan

From Cardiff, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Mahfooz
Nice little cool take ur thermals x

Reviewed by
J Egan

From Stockton on Tees, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent location, great venue, terrific staff and unbeatable value
Lumley castle is steeped in history and a great place to stay. The service was great, the room rate via laterooms was fantastic value for money and it's a wonderful experience to stay in a real castle!

Reviewed by
H Tailor

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

fantastic stay
Lovely place with friendly staff

Reviewed by
M Howard

From Warrington, England
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very good hotel, with value for money being the only question.
Parking always available. Food not taken this visit, but generally a very good standard. Location excellent. Rooms in courtyard sometimes small & cramped. (Excepting infusions/fruit teas) only a single teabag for two people! No bottled water provided in room (would expect this for the price- £169). VFM is the only question; there being limited competition in the vicinity.

Reviewed by
Thomas R

From Bradford, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

One night stop
My single room was small but compact. There was no cupboard to hand your cloths up which was annoying. Rooms as usual were too hot but clean and the bed was comfortable.

Reviewed by
Colin d

From UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Bedroom
While we loved everything about the hotel especially the authenticity, we did feel that although low lighting is in keeping with the atmosphere of the castle, we did find the lighting a little bit to subtle for our needs. especially around the mirrors.

Reviewed by
glenys bunting

From Rotherham, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A night away from the teenagers
A good venue for date night, good value package, clean and characterful hotel. good food and friendly staff.

Reviewed by
Teresa M

From Gateshead, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 Next