No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Lumley Castle Hotel

4AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Ropery Lane, Chester Le Street , County Durham, DH34NX
Situated in its own grounds, close to junction 63 on the A1M, overlooking Emirates Durham International Cricket Ground and the river Wear. Lumley Castle dates back over 600 years to the 13th Century. A magnificent monument to a bygone age, now converted into a unique 4 star Hotel.

Lumley Castle Hotel’s 73 luxurious en-suite bedrooms are all individually designed and situated within the Castle and its adjoining Courtyard and Courtyard Mews.

The Black Knight restaurant is set deep within the Castle and enjoys an excellent reputation locally and the Library bar is atmospheric and comfortable.
Whilst a favourite for leisure guests, the Hotels quiet yet accessible location close to Durham (7 miles) Newcastle-upon-Tyne (11 miles) and Sunderland (12 miles) together with free WiFi, free parking and a range of meeting and event rooms make this a sensible overnight choice for both the business and leisure Guest.
Picture of Lumley Castle Hotel, County Durham at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 52 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
89% recommended this accommodation to a friend 89% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A wonderful stay
Another wonderful stay at Lumley .Everything as always was perfect..,especially the staff who go out of their way to make sure you have a the best time possible. A special thanks to reception my bear is peering down at my dog well out of reach !

Reviewed by
Michelle D

From UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely hotel but disappointed
Good Points - the hotel is very beautiful and the room was wonderfully decorated. The dinner in the restaurant was excellent.
Bad Points - we waited 15 minutes to be served with a bottle of wine for a drink before dinner. Staff were busy chatting and we had to remind them about the order. The standard of the breakfast was very poor for a hotel of this standard. I expect a full english breakfast to be cooked to order whereas it was clear that all items (several of which were dried out) had been cooked previously and kept heated. In addition, there was no fresh fruit selection, only tined fruit which I would not even eat at home. During breakfast the waiting staff (about 7-8) decided to have a meeting in the restaurant in front of the guests about working rotas. This should be done away from guests. I would also given cleanliness a higher rating but for a cheese found under the table in plain sight. Although decor of room was lovely the light in the bathroom was very dim for putting on make up or shaving.
Conclusion - We did enjoy our stay, which was for my wife's birthday, but regrettably it was marred by the negative aspects above. On the positive side, however, the duty manager listened to the complaint immediately but offered only minor compensation (took the wine off the account!). Hopefully however the points made will be taken seriously and addressed.

Reviewed by
D Sunter

From Consett, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Probably too expensive for us to stay during weekdays, however booked it for a Sunday night at a bargain price, and only one word describes it "Wow". Shame I was on a business trip.

Reviewed by
Richard G

From Malvern, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic place
Amazing. If you need to stay in the area, stay here.

Reviewed by
Ian W

From UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Special Anniversary night
Can't fault this hotel and it's staff.No complaints at all.Thanks for a really nice experience including the Black Knight restaraunt.Just lovely.

Reviewed by
J Taylor

From Sunderland, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great ambience!
A hotel with lots of character and atmosphere. I have stayed at this hotel on numerous occasions in the past but each time found to be expensive for what you receive. The restaurant, the Black Knight has good service and ideal surroundings for a castle restaurant but lacks English fayre on the menu to balance the experience, foreign visitors, I am sure would be a little disappointed. The food is also expensive for what you get and choice limited. Unfortunately for customers the hotel has a captive audience with its clients for food and unless you are prepared to travel to Chester-Le-Street or Durham, you have no choice than to eat in the hotel.

Reviewed by
Alan V

From Preston, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good stay
Nice hotel, lovely setting.

Reviewed by
S Nixon

From Sutton Coldfield, UK
Who stayed in April 2013

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

No discount despite attending a wedding
The hotel and staff as always were lovely however the price was too much. Over £200 for one night! It didn't include any extras, only breakfast. Would only stay again if it was cheaper but obviously wanted to stay this time due to attending a wedding. Am sure the prices went up because 1. it was easter and 2. there were wedding(s) on.

Reviewed by
Amanda D

From UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent hotel
Third time I've stayed, excellent

Reviewed by
Paul G

From Telford, UK
Who stayed in February 2013

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not so good for business traveller
Forget getting a wifi connection in the room.
Else a very quirky and historical place to stay.

Reviewed by
Steve S

From Basingstoke, UK
Who stayed in January 2013

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 Next