No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Hillcrest Hotel - a Corus hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
75 Cronton Lane, Widnes, WA8 9AR
The Hillcrest Hotel is situated close to Chester, Manchester and within easy reach of Liverpool and Liverpool Airport. Our modern hotel is in a rural setting with easy access to the M6, M57 and M62.
The Hillcrest hotel is ideally located for overnight stops, for those en-route to the Lake District or the South of England as it is close to all motorway networks.
The hotel has a friendly and welcoming atmosphere. With three meeting and event rooms, the Hillcrest is a popular choice for weddings, conferences and functions as it is licensed to hold civil wedding ceremonies. The hotel has free WiFi throughout.
Nelsons bar, a traditional oak beamed pub, serves a wide range of drinks in a nautical setting and is a popular venue with locals.

Cu restaurant at the Hillcrest Hotel, has experienced a sympathetic refurbishment, giving it a stylish and comfortable appearance to our restaurant.

The restaurant name ‘Cu’ is derived from the chemical element for copper, this metal is extensively used within the restaurant, adding to the contempary yet warming feel.

Our philosophy is simple: ‘Welcome guests as friends, serve inspiring food and always exceed expectations.’

Picture of The Hillcrest Hotel - a Corus hotel, Widnes at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 53 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
62% recommended this accommodation to a friend 72% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Staff were friendly and accommodation was clean
Staff were friendly and accommodation was clean and more than adequate for our needs.

Reviewed by
S Jones

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Staff, excellent, room fine however I felt that there should be an extractor fan in the toilet (- there wasn't )
Other than that we had an excellent dinner in the restaurant and nothing was too much trouble for the staff. We will stay there again.
Adrian Wright

Reviewed by
adrian wright

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Quick booking
The hotel, staff, value for money and food were very good the only thing I would say needs improving on is the walls as you could hear everything that was being said / done in the room next to you the walls were paper thin.

Reviewed by
Heather K

From Lytham St Annes, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Bank Holiday visit
When we arrived we found a problem with our room ( the radiator could not be turned down and it was really hot). The staff efficiently arranged to move us and gave us an upgraded room which was much better. I think our one night stay was value for money.

Reviewed by
Alan M

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

we were put in a suite and it was excellent! The room was spotless, couldnt have wished for a better trip

Reviewed by
O Tudor

From Wakefield, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hillcrest Hotel -Terrible customer service
Having booked the Hillcrest to be near a work function I have to say the total experience was terrible. Customer service was non existent, down right shocking. a couple of examples where I decided to eat in the restaurant round 7pm saturday, which was empty, a sign in its self. The food was tasteless and bland, this was due in part that the chef had left the food under lamops for 5 minutes while the staff chatted. Having then gone out and returned at 2.am the hotel was locked and anither 15 minute wait for the night porter to arrive. Checking out was an experience as not even asked how was your stay and when i asked who was the duty manager was, response was 'might be the person i was talking to' . All i can say is DO NOT STAY AT THIS HOTEL AS IT IS SHOCKING. I think its is also by the smell that is constantly in the air, possibly being used as a retirement home.

Reviewed by
Mark B

From Manchester, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Better than I expected
This hotel used to be the best in town. It's a little old fashioned these days. But it was clean and warm. My room was accessed via stairs in the main reception. As I had an ankle injury and a heavy suitcase I was unable to use the stairs so the receptionist gave me directions to a lift. Although I found the lift the directions from the lift to my room were complicated, involving going through a function room via a fire door and a bar. I got lost but two staff who were on a break took me to the room. Better signage or someone on hand initially would have helped avoid this.
Overall though my stay was absolutely fine and good value at the discounted price I got. I wouldn't have wanted to pay the standard rate though.

Reviewed by
Kath L

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very basic room. Staff friendly. Stayed 2 nights and both nights woken at 2.30am by very noisy guests.

Reviewed by
G Patrick

From Perth, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

One of the worst hotels I have stayed in, and I stay away on e a week
As per title, this was like faulty towers.
The waitress was tutting at every occasion, no sky tv, not even in the main bar. The food was disgusting sausages cold d the mash lumpy, then they forgot my dessert.
Actually pre charged my credit card £50 when I arrived even though I had paid in advance for the room, and Te me the credit card company would refund it in a couple of days after I had settled my at bill and charged again
No one to seat you at breakfast when I went down when it opened at 7am, took my own seat and was abruptly ushered to another table by a woman that came from no where.
Had to wait half and hour for a cooked breakfast which I had to decline as I didn't have time, even though I was the 3rd person in the restaurant !
Wood definately not recommend staying here!

Reviewed by
DARREN S

From Cambridge, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice clean hotel.
Enjoyed my stay here. Rooms are nice and very clean. This hotel is quite old but neat as a pin. Bathroom could do with a update but it wasn't unpleasant. The food was ok but its the only area where I think they could improve.

Reviewed by
P Nortje

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 Next