No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Academy

4Self Classified Town House Hotel Ratings explained
17-21 Gower Street , London, WC1E 6HG
Located just off Oxford Street, The Academy is located in a peaceful yet central location in leafy Bloomsbury. A traditional townhouse hotel, originally built in 1776 with history, charm and character; each guestroom is tastefully decorated, and features iPod docking stations and flat screen TV's, for your entertainment.

Enjoy Full English or Continental breakfasts in our dining room – and dinner in one of the many fantastic restaurants nearby. During summer, take advantage of our two scenic, walled gardens or during colder days, relax in the peaceful, heated conservatory. Alternatively, in keeping with the area’s literary history, while away the hours in our small library before enjoying a drink in the sumptuous lounge.

Take advantage of The Academy's ideal location – just 10 minutes’ walk from Covent Garden’s boutique shops, The West End’s notorious theatres and Soho’s bustling nightlife. We are a short walk to the tube stations of Goodge Street (Northern Line), or Tottenham Court Road (Central Line). For the Eurostar, London St Pancras is just a 5 minute taxi ride or 15 minutes’ walk for the Eurostar is just a 5 minute taxi ride or a 15 minute walk. The Academy provides easy access to all London’s major Airports.

The Academy is a Grade II listed building (and, as such, does not have an elevator - all rooms are only accessible by stairs!). All guests receive a 50% discount on parking at Bloomsbury Square Car Park.
Picture of The Academy, London at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 127 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
78% recommended this accommodation to a friend 82% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Academy
Shower not the best.

Reviewed by
C Lord

From CHESHIRE, England
Who stayed in February 2015

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Convenient and Quiet
We enjoyed our stay at the Academy. The location is great near the British museum and West end theater district. We could walk to almost all our targeted attractions. Staff was friendly and the room was pleasantly quiet and clean. Potential guests should consider that the hotel has no elevator and should ask for a lower level room if necessary.

Reviewed by
Michael M

From USA
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Academy
I was delighted with my room, which was unexpectedly a suite (room 26) when I had booked a standard room. The bed was comfortable and the room facilities were spot on. I had a wee staircase down to my own bathroom with rolltop bath. The decor was charming and transformed a night staying over near the office into a mini break. Will definitely stay again.

Reviewed by
Hannah G

From Winchester, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great place for a weekend break
I stayed here with my wife for a weekend break and enjoyed our stay. Great location for London site seeing near many attractions and 5 mins walk from the tube. Great service and the staff couldn't do enough to make our stay a great one. We'd recommend this place to anyone.

Reviewed by
Nicholas B

From Doncaster, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice quaint little boutique hotel
Quaint little boutique hotel, very nice and the staff really accommodating. Had drinks waiting for us in the room for my wifes Birthday with complimentary chocolates and card. Less than 5 minutes from the Soho, Leics Sq, so you dont get all the noise but cant get there with ease. Dont expect super modern, perfectly decorated rooms. Expect rooms that have a character and but keep perfectly in line with a Georgian townhouse. Would definitely visit again.

Reviewed by
W Raja

From UK
Who stayed in January 2015

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good value, some nice features but let down by little things
We enjoyed our stay and will return. Given cost it was good value. It has some nice features particularly a small but very nice library where we were able to sit and work. Wifi worked well throughout. Staff were generally very helpful, friendly and put things right or helped very promptly. Only on Sunday morning did the waitress not bother to ask if we wanted to upgrade from continental to full English although she had the previous day and seemed to forget us.
The air conditioning was broken but it was warm/cool enough. Also lead with plug sockets and other connections was not working so had to plug direct to mains. Radio and tape player! Annoyingly failed to provide and then replace teabags although as soon as we asked they provided them and apologised. However kept providing 3 when there were two of us?! At least 4 so you can have 2 cups of tea surely.
Room was a bit small in my view but not my wife's. She really liked the place. Shower had cracked floor and although safe and clean needs replacing.
Could not go in garden because of building works.

Reviewed by
Tim Mills

From March, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Academy
High quality

Reviewed by
S Tallamy

From Copenhagen, Denmark
Who stayed in January 2015

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Charming hotel, wonderful staff
Hotel is well run, nicely maintained and in a lovely area of London. We stayed just one night and, though the room was an 8/10 due to some extremely minor inconveniences, the staff couldn't have been more helpful and polite and dealt with the problem swiftly and far surpassed my expectations.

Reviewed by
K Crosskey

From Leicester, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Academy
Hotel in a good location but pricey for what it was.

Reviewed by
Charles C

From Yeovil, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice staff-poor room.
Very small room and also extremely dark. Located on the top floor with no lift and very poor view.
Stayed three days and no complimentary tea left at any time-had to collect from reception each day.
Good location and friendly helpful staff.

Reviewed by
EDWARD NUGENT

From UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next