No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Down Hall Country House Hotel

4AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Matching Road Hatfield Heath, Bishop's Stortford, Hertfordshire, CM22 7AS
Down Hall Country House Hotel is a luxurious four star Country House Hotel located on the Hertfordshire - Essex border. Set in 110 acre estate and features 99 spacious bedrooms, the Grill room restaurant, cocktail bar, opulent lounge with fireplace, tennis courts and conference centre. During the summer enjoy Down Hall's Terrace restaurant, our alfresco dining experience in the sophisticated surroundings of the Down Hall estate. Down Hall has something to offer to everyone, it is the perfect venue for a romantic weekend away or just a relaxing escape from everyday life. However long you stay, you will be guaranteed to leave relaxed and refreshed. Down Hall celebrates the opening of a brand new gymnasium in March 2014. The new gym facility features a wide range of innovative exercise equipment from leading fitness provider, Technogym, alongside a great selection of free weights and exercise balls. The gym features running machines, cross trainers, exercise bicycles, a rowing machine, free weights plus exercise balls and mats. The hotel is ideally located for Bishop's Stortford, Harlow and London Stansted Airport, offering free wi-fi and overnight car parking.
Picture of Down Hall Country House Hotel, Bishop's Stortford, Hertfordshire at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since April 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 69 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
77% recommended this accommodation to a friend 81% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good Hotel not very good food
We had a very nice stay overall. Nice room and clean. Little disappointed about the food and the service was about average. Dinning room too small for this size hotel and could not get in. Had meal in room. Order was wrong and there were missed items. Room service did not answer had to leave order with reception.

Reviewed by
K Goldstone

From Bishop's Stortford, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

outstanding
Could not fault anything at this hotel. Service was outstanding from arrival to departure. We managed to find a great deal with laterooms and was expecting the room to reflect the cheap price. We were wrong. the room was huge, bed bigger than a king size, bathroom with a huge bath and his and hers sinks, loads of storage room and beautiful decor. Best nights sleep we have had in a long time. We did not stay for breakfast, but from what we saw and smelt it looked great. Buffet style so you can have as much, or as little, as you like. Would definitely stay here again if in the area. Thank you all, especially Martin at reception. I would recommend room 512!!

Reviewed by
paul stirrat

From Wallington, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Men will find room 131 a pain
Broken toilet seat, chipped bath were our first impressions. Breakfast the most ridiculously overpriced I've experienced.

Reviewed by
Jason C

From London, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely overnighter at Down Hall
The room was enormous and very comfortable. The sauna and steam in the morning were fabulous. There was a jolly wedding happening and the atmosphere was wonderful. And surprisingly we were not disturbed at all because the hotel had kindly given us a room far from the disco. The staff were really friendly.

Reviewed by
kavida rei

From UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hotel was ok restaurant was v v good
was ok......restaurant was very very good

Reviewed by
John d

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wonderful hotel, old but filled with character!
A very special hotel, well worth the room rates! We felt like a very cool couple this weekend :) amazing restaurant, quality breakfast and seriously good staff!

Reviewed by
H Murphy

From Leicester, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fabulous hotel, looking forward to going back
We loved Down Hall, and were disappointed that we were only there for one night. We are looking forward to going back for a longer stay. The drive up to the hotel was gorgeous, and set the scene for the beautiful locale. Our room was super - a good size, with a beautiful bathroom and stunning views over the gardens and giant chess set. The staff were all very well presented, friendly and helpful. All in all, a lovely experience.

Reviewed by
A Hayes

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Dirty
Rooms dusty and very small

Reviewed by
Lisa H

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Another lovey stay
My second stay at Down Hall. Staff lovely and helpfull especially the blond waitress in the dining room. Very friendly and nothing was too much trouble. Check in and out very easy and quick. Stayed in room 202 the first time which was on the top floor with quite a few stairs. The room was nice enough, clean with a view of the back garden but a little on the small side. The second time I stayed in room 123 with only one flight of stairs. Room nice and clean and and more bigger than 202 but the view was awful, part car park, part roof, part staff accomadation/storage ? and you could hear the staff talking and see them smoking. Room also look a little tired and carpet had stains on it. Still it doesn't put me off going again. I think it depends what you pay is what room you are allocated. Absolutely brilliant breakfast, so much choice and lots of it. Hopefully the spar/hydro pool will be open the next time we go.

Reviewed by
Lorraine C

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellant accommodation.
Excellant hotel in a good location for a relaxing stay.

Reviewed by
Brian G

From Spalding, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next