No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Burnham Beeches Hotel

4AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Grove Road,Burnham , Burnham, SL1 8DP
Burnham Beeches Hotel, built in 1727, is a four star hotel nestling in 10 acres of beautiful gardens and manicured lawns in a peaceful setting yet only minutes from the M4/M40 and Burnham railway station, which has a direct line to central London. The hotel has undergone extensive refurbishment in 2007 with over £1.5 million pounds spent to date. Refurbishment work has taken place in public areas, leisure facilities & bedrooms. We have also added free wifi to all areas including bedrooms, meeting rooms and public areas. The hotel boasts 82 bedrooms in a variety of styles most with air –conditioning and all have access to free wifi. On-site facilities include Gray’s Restaurant (AA rosette awarded), indoor swimming pool, gym, sauna and extensive grounds to enjoy walks or simply a drink after dinner with friends or colleagues.
Picture of Burnham Beeches Hotel, Burnham at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 66 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
75% recommended this accommodation to a friend 77% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Family friendly but still refined enough to feel like you're in an adult environment
We loved staying here! Our half-term trip to Legoland was book-ended by a 2 night stay here. The place was lovely with enough refinement for us adults to feel relaxed whilst the children (6 & 8) we're also welcomed. The pool was quite small but enough for our stay and the late checkout meant an extra few hours to our holiday. The room and hotel generally was very warm with quite noisy air con but thus is our only gripe and it wouldn't stop us booking again.

Reviewed by
R Houston

From Goole, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

I would never stay at this hotel again!!
I do not usually write reviews about staying in hotels but staying here I had too. Me and my wife arrived late on a Sunday night. The staff were very welcoming and friendly. We got to our room and the key card did not work. So we went back to the front desk and a member of staff made another key card and let us into our room. That's fine these things happen. We get into the room, one of the plugs does not work by the television. Not what you would expect from a more expensive hotel. We sleep, wake up in the morning and the shower is very hard to turn on and off and when you do get it on the shower head leaks everywhere! It falls off due to the pressure. REALLY? Then to make matters worse one of the towels was DIRTY!! Folded with the stains on the inside!! Me and my wife were not impressed in the slightest in this hotel and would not recommend staying here! Especially as I have stayed in a lot cheaper hotels and had a better experience!

Reviewed by
Charles Brazier

From Chipping Norton, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not as good as expected
Very luke warm reception from young lady on booking in, rattled off booking instructions and breakfast details so fast that we didn't have much of a clue as to what she said. Room was down a long corridor as if we were going into the cheaper part to the building. All windows looked like the nets could do with a wash and iron or replacing as not one was hanging properly, which make the first appearance of the hotel very uninviting. Bed was very comfortable and very clean and tidy. Hospitality tray gave just one of everything so a second cup of tea was out of the question. Gave me no reason for another stay at The Burnham Beeches Hotel

Reviewed by
E Sage

From Whitstable, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Staying at Burnham Beeches
Excellent hotel and facilities, only issue was the leisure facilities (i.e. very cold pool and the Jacuzzi was not working for the one night we have stayed at the hotel). Likely to use the facilities again, but only if the pool is warmer and the Jacuzzi works.

Reviewed by
Diane De Halle

From Louth, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Beautiful setting/grounds. Room a little tired/dated but everything worked and the bed was clean, big and comfy. Didn't eat at the hotel, not even breakfast. Limited amount of tea/coffee sachets and only full fat milk - more choice and a bottle of water would have been good. Bit pricey given the level of comfort/size of room & 'extras'. Shower was good. Booked for convenience to family party - didn't have chance to use leisure facilities.

Reviewed by
Bridie H

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good hotel, great grounds
Pool seemed to have dirt water, not pleased with the leisure facilities

Reviewed by
M Kalsi

From Wolverhampton, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The customer service was brilliant, we would go back again just for that! The food in the restaurant was lovely.

Reviewed by
Kate H

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very happy with everything . Lovely staff always happy to help you

Reviewed by
J Williams

From Wakefield, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Burnham Beeches Hotel
Overall the experience was excellent. Lovely comfortable room although it was in the newer part of the building rather than the period section which I would have preferred. I booked an executive room hoping for some extra luxury but to be honest I don't think it was worth it.
I would have preferred to have been able to book one of the feature rooms but there were none available at the time.
The leisure spa was very disappointing. It was very old and is in desperate need of being refurbished. The changing rooms were stained, old rusty locker cabinets, broken shower valves. The gym was very small although the treadmill machine seemed to work fine and the room was cool. The swimming pool area was very dated. The lights in the Jacuzzi appeared not to work. Despite all of this the leisure spa did appear to be clean.
Burnham Beeches is in a beautiful setting and the period parts of the building in the communal areas at least were fabulous. Although I like the period building to be honest I probably wouldn't stay there again unless the leisure spa is refurbished an I am able to reserve a feature room in the period part of the building.

Reviewed by
Mark B

From England
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

So disappointed
Booked the room for 2 nights as had meetings on 1 day and corporate event on the 2nd day. Wanted a hotel where I could take my wife, who would feel comfortable staying on her own on the first day. Arrived at the hotel to find that they had upgraded us to the Bridal Suite. How wonderful we thought, at first, but, over time, realised that, if we had booked the bridal suite, we would have been extremely disappointed. The rooms were very tired, with peeling wallpaper and paint. Most of the windows couldn't be opened (even though it was the hottest day of the year). Dead flies and other insects, that were on the windowsills when we arrived were still there 2 days later when we departed. Both days and evening were completely taken over by corporate team building events, and most single couples felt intimidated. The last night was completely spoilt by revellers in the garden underneath our window until 4.a.m. Complained to the hotel on checkout, but their reaction was "oh dear, I'm afraid these things happen, but I am sorry that you were disappointed". Certainly would not return, especially at these prices.

Reviewed by
Ian Hulford

From Bath, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next