Reviews - Macdonald Leeming House


Watermillock, Ullswater, CA11 0JJ

Price From 174.44 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (24)

88% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • Beverley W

  • September 2015

Excellent hotel in glorious setting

  • M Walker

  • September 2015

Excellent tranquil surroundings of the low lake and high hills at the end of the grounds to the hotel some of the best food I've ever eaten absolutely beautiful in every way.

  • S Thompson

  • May 2015

Beautiful Hotel

Beautiful hotel with very friendly staff.

Had a great stay.

  • K Impey

  • December 2014

So enjoyable - Leeming House

Beautiful accommodation, excellent staff and quality food.

Set with beautiful views over lake Ullswater I would and already have recommend this hotel to everyone. I honestly can't fault it.

  • Paul S

  • December 2014

A relaxing and comfortable hotel.

  • Juliet W

  • November 2014

Leeming House

My partner & I stayed here for 1 night.

The setting was beautiful, it was such a shame that the wind & rain were so bad that we could only enjoy the gardens from the view inside the hotel. Despite the fact that both the website & brouchures in the hotel stated that there was free wi-fi, this was not the case. When we asked about wi-fi, we were told we would have to pay for it. Another couple also asked about the wi-fi & was also told that it was not free. These guests had stayed at this hotel on many other occasions & had always had free wi-fi. The hotel staff said they must have been mistaken.

You felt like you were in Downton Abbey, with the real fires in the drawing rooms, it was very relaxing. The only thing that was not relaxing was the price of the drinks in the hotel. The food was beautiful & reasonably priced for a hotel of this standard.

Would definitely stay here again and hopefully enjoy the gardens & walk down to the lake, weather permitting.

  • J Rogers

  • November 2014

Lovely hotel

I only stayed here one night but wish I could have stayed longer.

The views over breakfast were spectacular, my room was supremely comfortable and the food was amazing. I definitely will be going back!

  • Paul C

  • October 2014

No Internet in the rooms something wrong with the cable coming into the hotel but you can get it if you pay, Work that out!.

Glass of house white wine £11 and a dog in the next room barking

  • A Facer

  • October 2014

Excellent hotel.

It suited us for a break to recharge batteries lovely location. Wonderful views over ullswater. Staff friendly and attentive. Food excellent. All in all a great place to stay

  • M Strand

  • October 2014

short stay

A grand hotel in beautiful location.

Why do hotels hide the tea tray without any indication of where it is. Very comfortable room and excellent food quality.