No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Newgate Hotel - Newcastle Upon Tyne

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
NEWGATE STREET , NEWCASTLE UPON TYNE, NE1 5SX
With free parking right in the centre of Newcastle, The Newgate Hotel offers modern rooms with coffee makers. Newcastle’s central shopping and nightlife can all be reached within a 10-minute walk.

The Gate, with its bars, shops, and cinema, is just a 2-minute walk away, and Eldon Square shopping centre is 5 minutes away on foot. Newcastle Rail and Metro Station is a 5-minute walk, and the Metro Radio Arena is 15 minutes’ walk away.

Each room includes a private bathroom with a hairdryer. Guests can relax with a TV in the room, along with a work desk and tea/coffee.

Full English breakfasts are served in The Rooftop Restaurant with panoramic views over Newcastle city centre. The Terrace Bar provides free Wi-Fi, Sky channels on a large-screen TV, and a wide range of drinks.

Please note that all bookings of 3 rooms or more will be required to pay
a cash security deposit upon arrival at the hotel. Further information
will be provided once a reservation has been confirmed
Picture of Newgate Hotel - Newcastle Upon Tyne, NEWCASTLE UPON TYNE at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 127 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
47% recommended this accommodation to a friend 54% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great staff - Grotty rooms
I needed to find a room at short notice when my daughter gave birth nearby.
Staff extremely friendly & helpful, especially in middle of the night.
The hotel is right in the centre of town for shopping and nightlife.
The good points end there.
Very noisy from the bars,
Filthy net curtains,
Stained toilet and bath,
Beds old and lumpy,
Everything tired, grubby and needs updating.

Reviewed by
K WILSON

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

mixed review!
On first entering the hotel from the front street it looks extremely grubby..really dirty front doors,dirty carpets. An odd setup to get to reception. All the staff were fantastic, very friendly and helpful. we were on the 1st floor but when walking to the room the corridor stank of stale beer. Our room looked clean on first view but on closer inspection the bath and toilet looked like they needed a good bleech. Bath had been cleaned out but still had a lot of soapscum marks which normal cleaning would not get rid of. One glass still had toothpaste on it. Bed was clean but past its best. Positives are ..Great location, cheap and is ok if you arent too picky but the bath and communal areas really bothered me. Maybe the staff dont have enough cleaning hours or equipment. It is obviously used by stag and hen parties but thats no excuse for the neglect of some areas. Because of the above i felt i couldnt eat there.

Reviewed by
paula g

From Glasgow, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

very disappointing
the hotel room was shabby and very dated. cigarette burns in the (well worn) carpet. windows rattled all night and so much street noise.

Reviewed by
Nick S

From Harrogate, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The hotel was well situate for what we needed. The down side was the windows were single glazed and the window would not close to block some of the noise out. We did not expect it to be silent where the hotel was situated but being able to shut the window may have helped a little. We will though most likely stay at the hotel again as it was ideal for what we needed it for.

Reviewed by
D Moses

From Carlisle, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good Hotel
Good Hotel Clean, spacious not too noisy either bed was comfy enough TV picture was a bit hazy and only had 4 channels. Not a biggie though as you don't stay in hotel to watch TV.

Reviewed by
C Douglas

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Customer service from most of the staff was absolutely fine. Just the first morning we had to explain that our toilet wasn't flushing, and there was a foreign lady on the front reception desk who couldn't understand us. She proceeded to phone her manager who I guess didn't want to come and talk to us so the issue wasn't sorted.

Reviewed by
L Law

From Solihull, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room 205
The tom was decent for the money we paid but it could have been a lot more cleaner like the toilet had a horrible black rim round and the bath was blocked the cleaners never changed out sheets the second night which was very unheigenic there was also a horrible smell in the room and it was always cold!

Reviewed by
L Ritchie

From Edinburgh, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Booked a one night stay with my partner as we were going to watch a concert at the o2 academy (which was only a 5 minute walk away), hotel is in the central of Newcastle which was very handy. Check in was easy no pre-authorization, it was very difficult to find the car park it has a different postcode to the hotel, and I was driving round Newcastle city centre for around 1 hour until I rang reception and then the reception told me about the second postcode. The decor and reception is has seen better days the hotel needs a good refurbishment, the windows are single glazed there was a gale blowing through the closed windows, the sink in the bathroom didn't work. They was a television which was ok, wifi options and tea/coffee. I couldn't fault the parking when we found the right location, and the close-ness of everything the gate is within 2 minutes walking distance. Quite a noisey hotel on a Tuesday night not somewhere for couples really.

Reviewed by
L Dobson

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

dirty and unwelcoming corridors
The entry to this hotel is terrible - dirty empty rooms and corridors with dirty carpets and wallpaper - It is most unwelcoming and a bit scary. The room was passable - the linen was clean but the bathroom had seen better days. It was noisy outside and I would not recommend this to anyone I am afraid.

Reviewed by
Marcus R

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

adequate for short stay
Friendly staff, good food, excellent car parking. The whole hotel requires refurbishing.

Reviewed by
F Smith

From Barnsley, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next