No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Newgate Hotel - Newcastle Upon Tyne

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
NEWGATE STREET , NEWCASTLE UPON TYNE, NE1 5SX
With free parking right in the centre of Newcastle, The Newgate Hotel offers modern rooms with coffee makers. Newcastle’s central shopping and nightlife can all be reached within a 10-minute walk.

The Gate, with its bars, shops, and cinema, is just a 2-minute walk away, and Eldon Square shopping centre is 5 minutes away on foot. Newcastle Rail and Metro Station is a 5-minute walk, and the Metro Radio Arena is 15 minutes’ walk away.

Each room includes a private bathroom with a hairdryer. Guests can relax with a TV in the room, along with a work desk and tea/coffee.

Full English breakfasts are served in The Rooftop Restaurant with panoramic views over Newcastle city centre. The Terrace Bar provides free Wi-Fi, Sky channels on a large-screen TV, and a wide range of drinks.

Please note that all bookings of 3 rooms or more will be required to pay
a cash security deposit upon arrival at the hotel. Further information
will be provided once a reservation has been confirmed
Picture of Newgate Hotel - Newcastle Upon Tyne, NEWCASTLE UPON TYNE at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 140 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
48% recommended this accommodation to a friend 54% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The hotel is tired and needs updating. It is a very noisy location and many guests had no consideration for others when returning to the hotel very late after a night out - many were obviously very drunk. The bar was 24hrs and on Sat morning people were still in there drinking - obviously all night and the noise was very loud. A group came into breakfast and were using very bad language and no staff asked them to refrain. There was also another group there in their pyjamas. The breakfasts were of a good quality.

Reviewed by
J J

From England
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Poor Reception Setup
Location, room, free parking all good but no WiFi reception in room, only in lounge. Arrived by car looking for car park. Had to leave car on double yellow lines then couldn't find reception which was on 1st floor. Needs better signs. Very stark walls need improving. Then had to drive round city to reach car park at rear which I couldn't have done without satnav.

Reviewed by
david j

From Bromsgrove, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

great location friendly reception good price clean room would stay again

Reviewed by
j burns

From Tranent, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Clean room and comfy bed and a really nice cooked breakfast!
That said, the hotel is looking pretty dated inside and could do with remodel and maybe some double glazing. I was glad I took ear plugs as the city was pretty noisy at night (to be expected I know).

Reviewed by
S Scott

From Poole, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

GNR Stay
Great central location but as with all hotels in Newcastle on this weekend over priced. The room was clean if a little tired and breakfast was fine. Friendly staff and on site parking a bonus.

Reviewed by
Joanna B

From England
Who stayed in September 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely, central hotel!
Although the hotel was dated and could have been cleaner, it was in prime Newcastle center location with brilliant parking facilities out the back,
The hotel wasn't noisy and they put couples on the same floors to avoid any hen/stag weekender, which worked really well for us.
The hotel is based right in the center next to The Gate which is full of lovely restaurants as well as being a very short walk to Gray Street for lovely bars and more restaurants.
If you don't mind being in basic rooms then I would recommend this to you. It was value for money, get location and everything that we needed.
We would stay here again.

Reviewed by
Rebecca B

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Perfect for weekend away
4 girls travelled from Glasgow to Newcastle for a weekend away, 2 of the girls staying in a different hotel. This hotel is in a PERFECT location, right on your doorstep to everything you would want for a messy weekend. The rooms themselves are clean tidy with really nothing to complain about. Bathroom again clean with a brilliant power shower. We worried that our 2 friends wouldn't get into our hotel for 'predrinks' but they had no problem. The staff at reception were very helpful, any questions they would help as much as they could always with a smile. Overall we have said if we were to come back to Newcastle this hotel is a must to stay in again.

Reviewed by
R Gallagher

From x, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good place to stay for 1 night
I booked this after reading the reviews and was a bit concerned but there were no other hotels close enough to where we wanted to go.the location is perfect and had all the amenities you could want.however,our room had single glazed windows and we were right next to the lift so it was very noisy all night.I advise bringing ear plugs if you can.The bed was clean which was the main thing but the pillows were like paper towels and there were no extras;I didn't ask or more though so would advise this.The carpet looked really old an had marks all over it;I didn't take my shoes off it was that bad.The bathroom was as clean as it could be but is in need of a massive makeover as the grout around the taps was black;the shower was powerful to the point that it was spraying all over the floor;this was unavoidable. There was little loo roll in the room and we ran out before we went to sleep;also the shower gel in the shower ran out as was nearly empty. The staff were more than accommodating and were helpful so this was not an issue but for the £85 we paid,I expected a lot higher quality.I don't think I would stay here again at this price but maybe would if it was £30-£45 like the travelodge.Travelodges are basic but all the rooms are clean and modern;surely this hotel can afford to refurbish?the car parking was excellent;off site and free so no concerns here.

Reviewed by
N Chaudhary

From Barnsley, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Review of Newgate Hotel
I would not recommend this Hotel for the faint hearted! It was in a bad area, full of pubs and there was excrement inside the entrance on the Saturday night. If you just want somewhere to lay your head then this may be the place for you, I would never return, it has seen better days.

Reviewed by
t carleton

From Edinburgh, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

I booked this as a surprise for my partner and then I read the reviews and didn't want to come here but I*m glad we did . The staff were very friendly and patient with me after a 5 hour journey (thanks Christian) as I messed up my booking . The rooms were clean if a bit dated but as a base for visiting Newcastle you wont get better. We only went for breakfast on the 2nd day and were gutted we didn't get it the day before it was one of the best we*ve ever had
its not the nicest place we*ve stayed but its not the worst and as I said the staff were all friendly and helpful

Reviewed by
s w

From England
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next