Reviews - Newgate Hotel - Newcastle Upon Tyne



Price From 148.55 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.


All reviews (99)

47% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • Denise M

  • November 2015

Value for money, what you see is what you get.

I've stayed in this hotel before.

It is central for all our needs, shops, pubs etc. The down side would only be the single glazed windows making it a little noisy and a bit cool. The radiator didn't work but I wasn't freezing so didn't complain. The staff on check in/out were happy and helpful. It was basic but the sheets were clean and that's all that mattered.

  • Ralf E

  • October 2015

Good location, overpriced

Fab location - albeit it's noisy but it's in the heart of Newcastle.

Room ok and reasonably clean. Corridors and entrance to hotel rather tired and shabby.

  • Andrew M

  • October 2015

Good for what we needed.

We stayed for two nights during the Rugby World Cup, so firstly we paid far over the odds for the accommodation.

The hotel is incredibly dated, with the communal areas looking exceptionally tired and a little dirty. However, the room itself was relatively good and most importantly the bed was clean. For all that we were in the room, it served its purpose.

  • M Porter

  • October 2015

Central location and clean

Cheap nights stay in the centre of Newcastle, close to The Gate.

Staff friendly, room was large, clean and tidy although I got a little cold through the night (possibly extra blanket in the room and extra pillows). Bathroom was very clean. Lovely big bath sheets.

  • W McCrory

  • September 2015

Handy to town centre

This hotel was handy to town centre.

Clean and comfortable

  • Nicola Hunter

  • August 2015



  • Pete S

  • August 2015

Nothing new about The Newgate

Stopped here for 2 nights.

This is a very tired hotel. All communal areas are in desperate need of a good quality upgrade. Bathroom was fine, but mattress was uncomfortable and we were awoken at 530am by a very noisy bunch of drunken locals shouting that they'd got the wrong room. Second night not much better. Sorry, but nothing to recommend about the hotel.

  • b harvey

  • July 2015

Newgate Hotel - Newcastle Upon Tyne

Perfect- thank you.

  • D Collier

  • July 2015

Dirty bathroom

The bath was very grubby and uninviting.

The room itself was ok for an overnight stay. Location perfect for city centre but makes it very noisy from outside through the night.

  • J Bell

  • June 2015

Newgate Hotel - Newcastle Upon Tyne

Great central location with friendly and helpful staff