No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Newgate Hotel - Newcastle Upon Tyne

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
NEWGATE STREET , NEWCASTLE UPON TYNE, NE1 5SX
With free parking right in the centre of Newcastle, The Newgate Hotel offers modern rooms with coffee makers. Newcastle’s central shopping and nightlife can all be reached within a 10-minute walk.

The Gate, with its bars, shops, and cinema, is just a 2-minute walk away, and Eldon Square shopping centre is 5 minutes away on foot. Newcastle Rail and Metro Station is a 5-minute walk, and the Metro Radio Arena is 15 minutes’ walk away.

Each room includes a private bathroom with a hairdryer. Guests can relax with a TV in the room, along with a work desk and tea/coffee.

Full English breakfasts are served in The Rooftop Restaurant with panoramic views over Newcastle city centre. The Terrace Bar provides free Wi-Fi, Sky channels on a large-screen TV, and a wide range of drinks.

Please note that all bookings of 3 rooms or more will be required to pay
a cash security deposit upon arrival at the hotel. Further information
will be provided once a reservation has been confirmed
Picture of Newgate Hotel - Newcastle Upon Tyne, NEWCASTLE UPON TYNE at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 123 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
47% recommended this accommodation to a friend 55% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

No Excuses
When you opt for a budget hotel you should be able to expect a simple room that is clean. I stayed in a room on the 3rd floor. From the windows and net curtains to the carpet and the bathroom the cleanliness was appalling. Rotten and paint flaking bath panel. Mouldy shower curtain, old towels, tired and damaged furnishings throughout. Lack of adequate lighting and light switches that didnt even work. There are budget hotels both independent and larger chains that do this far far better. Sorry to say but stay away.

Reviewed by
Mark R

From UK
Who stayed in December 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Centrally located.
Basic accomodation but very good location.

Reviewed by
D MILLER

From England
Who stayed in December 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good location!
Brilliant location very central so great for young people or anyone looking to be central and going for a night out! If looking for somewhere luxurious and posh to stay then this is definitely not the place. However, has everything you need, just a little outdated and rooms could be more modern. Saying this, for the money which I paid £47 a night. I thought this was reasonable as this included breakfast which I couldn't really fault! So if your young, looking for a night out and central location, this hotel is great!

Reviewed by
chloe b

From Colne, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Its an ex-office block
An interesting building that looks like it has not been cleaned in the public areas and lift since it stopped being an office ten or more years ago. Beds were clean and OK, bathroom had old mould stains and a few silverfish running around but the water pressure was good and water hot. The curtains had some stains on them. You did not want to touch any part of the lift. Staff were cheerful, bless 'em.

Reviewed by
Nichola L

From UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

newgate
very good experience of my stay,ideal location in town and minutes away from train station.rooms bit dated but clean and everything u need from iron to hairdryer,most important comfy bed and good shower

Reviewed by
michael p

From Middlesbrough, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not the best hotel, but perfect location!!
I stayed in the Newgate Hotel for two nights for my mums birthday trip to Newcastle. The hotel is not very nice from the outside but the location is perfect, 2 minute walk from the gate, 5 mins from ther station ans so close to the shops. Although the rooms are quite poor I would definitely stay there again as it is based exactly where you want to be if you want to be close to the shops and nightlife!

Reviewed by
Cheryl B

From Glasgow, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great staff - Grotty rooms
I needed to find a room at short notice when my daughter gave birth nearby.
Staff extremely friendly & helpful, especially in middle of the night.
The hotel is right in the centre of town for shopping and nightlife.
The good points end there.
Very noisy from the bars,
Filthy net curtains,
Stained toilet and bath,
Beds old and lumpy,
Everything tired, grubby and needs updating.

Reviewed by
K WILSON

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

mixed review!
On first entering the hotel from the front street it looks extremely grubby..really dirty front doors,dirty carpets. An odd setup to get to reception. All the staff were fantastic, very friendly and helpful. we were on the 1st floor but when walking to the room the corridor stank of stale beer. Our room looked clean on first view but on closer inspection the bath and toilet looked like they needed a good bleech. Bath had been cleaned out but still had a lot of soapscum marks which normal cleaning would not get rid of. One glass still had toothpaste on it. Bed was clean but past its best. Positives are ..Great location, cheap and is ok if you arent too picky but the bath and communal areas really bothered me. Maybe the staff dont have enough cleaning hours or equipment. It is obviously used by stag and hen parties but thats no excuse for the neglect of some areas. Because of the above i felt i couldnt eat there.

Reviewed by
paula g

From Glasgow, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

very disappointing
the hotel room was shabby and very dated. cigarette burns in the (well worn) carpet. windows rattled all night and so much street noise.

Reviewed by
Nick S

From Harrogate, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The hotel was well situate for what we needed. The down side was the windows were single glazed and the window would not close to block some of the noise out. We did not expect it to be silent where the hotel was situated but being able to shut the window may have helped a little. We will though most likely stay at the hotel again as it was ideal for what we needed it for.

Reviewed by
D Moses

From Carlisle, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next