Reviews - Newgate Hotel - Newcastle Upon Tyne



Price From 170.08 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.


All reviews (107)

47% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • P Goddard

  • March 2014

Great breakfast!!

The room was quite small but adequate, the parking was a nightmare to find but spacious.

The breakfast and the dining room were however fabulous. We would definitely stay again, especially now we have found the carpark. Excellent city centre location!

  • Kevin P

  • March 2014

Whilst this was centrally located with free onside parking it is a budget hotel and is in keeping with that.

Whilst the room was clean and warm there is the need for refurbishment. That sai the breakfast was a pleasant surprise..ok for one night.

  • E Hall

  • February 2014

Definitely central

So the parking was hard to find but it was a good location, However the room was nice and clean.

I was supirised with the lack of noise as it was situated above a night club. To sum up, it's good value for money if you want a central location.


  • February 2014

Bathroom let the room down, bleach on the tiles would remove the mould.

Entrance from street level not secure and very confusing. Breakfast was great. Hotel needs a good clean and paint job

  • Peter F

  • February 2014

Ideal location, free car parking in Newcastle city centre, perfect for stag do

It was my son's stag do and the hotel was fine for that.

Although the decor and facilities were a 'bit tired' the room was clean and the staff friendly. The cleaners were straight in after we left the room at 12:00 for our day's 'socialising' and the room was clean with fresh towels and beds made on our return. Some noise overnight due to the number of stag and hen dos but that was to be expected. Ideal location in the city centre with free car parking (although the entrance was difficult to find, however, the staff were very helpful in giving directions). We only had a 2 minute walk at the end of the night to get back to our hotel which was perfect. I would certainly recommend the hotel for groups out for a party, but would not take my wife there for a city shopping break due to the noise at night from other residents, which is a shame as the location would be perfect for shoppers on a city weekend break - may be different midweek?

  • jane u

  • February 2014

Excellent Location

Ideal location, in the city centre close to universities, shopping and restaurants.

The hotel itself is a little dated and in need of renovation. Although a bit tatty it was clean and the staff were friendly and helpful. The car park was an added bonus and was one of the reasons I chose the hotel.

  • Scott Ramsay

  • February 2014

Overnight in Newgate Hotel

Stayed one night while attending a gig at O2 Academy.

Just across road from stage door so really close. Fantastic free parking on rooftop car park with lots of room. Staff helpful & friendly. Rooms clean & warm but duvet too short for bed & me. Bathroom clean. General decor a bit tired but fine for an overnight. Didn't try the food.

  • J Hewat

  • January 2014

Amazing for the location right in the centre of Newcastle beside the gate.

Basic but clean all you really need for an overnight stay in Newcastle.

  • shirley haigh

  • December 2013

en suite awful

The hotel is well placed, the staff very friendly, the beds warm ,clean and comfortable the only let down was the en suite, horrible!.

The bath stained with no enamel left on ,the tiles and bath surround mildewed, we used the toilet roll once and had to go to the desk for one .obviously not checked by room service. Shame really as it could have been a perfect overnight stay

  • S Brown

  • December 2013

Good location same about the place

Hotel is ideally placed for station and shops.

Hotel is very scruffy and run down , A cabby told me it is due to be demolished . This seems like a good idea. The room I had was next to old lift shaft and had a loud buzzing noise .

There was a night club thumping out loud music practically under the room.