Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.
47% would recommend it to a friend
Great city centre location with free parking which is hard to find and all attractions are within a 5 min walk which is a real plus.
Yes it is in desperate need of up dating but it was clean and breakfast was fine. However, I have a real issue with hotels that charge you the full amount on arrival and I guess this is a reflection on the some of the clientèle city hotels have to cater for. I would stay again just for the location and free secure parking.
Basic but ideal for anyone wanting to be in the heart of things going on, beds were very comfortable and very clean
You get what you pay for!
Which was not a lot.
Room shabby with torn curtains, poor TV, definitely needed refurb. Staff fine, helpful. Only had breakfast on last day which was very good and the surroundings in the restaurant are lovely - pity the rest of the hotel was not as good. Location good - but was noisy on occasions during the night due to is closeness to clubs and pubs.
The most unhygienic place I've ever seen.
And on my request of changing the room with appropriate bathroom , manager replied: l don't mind cleaning it for you myself if you are not happy. All our rooms like that. Hotel is old and very busy.. Had to take a refund, cause wouldn't even shower a dog in that bathroom . Apart from location- disaster !!!
Needs modernising but cant fault it
Its a bit like staying in the 1970's however the linen was spotless and the dated bathroom was spotless.
The location for the city cannot be faulted and the free car parking is superb. For the money you cannot fault this hotel - its just dated. The night porter was also superb and very helpful.
Bedroom was clean & comfortable.
The hotel itself is rather tired, & in need of updating
Very pleased with the central location of the hotel, as it is right in the city centre and can easily be reached by foot or public transport.
The room was OK - the radiator did not work, thank God it wasn't winter
The shower/bath connection was a bit tricky
Otherwise a very pleasant stay, the room was very clean
I regard this place as a bit of a find.
I go to Newcastle every year and normally stay at a chain hotel but decided to try something different this time. As with some of the other reviews finding it the first time took a little doing but then once you know its easy. The checkin was very quick and efficient, the lifts are a bit odd but the room was very comfortable. The thing that made it all worthwhile was the breakfast which was excellent in terms of choice and delivery. The food was fresh and hot - this being one of my continuing gripes in other hotels that offer a 'buffet' style breakfast which seldom delivers what it promises. This will certainly be my first choice for my next visit to Newcastle.
Now realise this was a contractors hotel.
Basic but generally clean room but bath discoloured, unpleasant bathroom décor, wallpaper coming off wall in room, television remote control stuck together with tape also front panel of display on television missing, lampshade broken. Although this was a non-smoking room it smelt strongly of smoke. Pedestrian entrance at street level very off putting - like walking into multi-storey car park, reception area accessed via two flights of stairs (no lift), across a deserted office space, through a door then down a corridor through a door to reception. Telephone in room only worked if you wanted to speak to reception, not for external calls or to call another room.
City Centre Hotel
This hotel was a suitable anonymous city centre hotel.
It offered neither a particular interest nor any special problems. Nothing special but nothing recorded against. The entrance needs updating.