Newgate Hotel - Newcastle Upon Tyne

3

NEWGATE STREET, NEWCASTLE UPON TYNE, NE1 5SX

Price From 92.96 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Good

All reviews (126)

53% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • D Jordan

  • March 2014

As Central As You Can Be. Cheap and Central

Stayed for my 3rd stay at The Newgate.

Been in other Newcastle hotels but chose this one again this for this visit purely on location and free parking facilities as we was going to St James' Park which is a short walk away. Hotel is desperate need of modernisation to make it look at least a little pleasing on the eye at least. Was like it was still in 1979!.

On the whole though for price and location you cant go wrong really. If you want nice interior and room then look elsewhere. For somewhere to get your head down and get up and leave then it may just do for you.

  • Gregory C

  • March 2014

location location location

Making a trip to Newcastle for the first time we found the hotel reasonabley easily.

The receptionist was very welcoming and helpful with directions to the car park. This is a bit of a job to find but extremely convenient. Being in the city centre and close to the University we were visiting the next day it was ideal.However the rooms are a bit dated but clean and comfortable. Good shower and nice breakfast. Staff very pleasant

  • lauren stephens

  • March 2014

Dirty! Poor quality! Waste of money!

I had booked a night away for me and my partner who was home from the army for his birthday.

When we got into our room we found what looked like a sick stain on the carpet as you walked in, damp all over the walls, the bed sheets were stained and dirty, the bath was thick with dirt and there was a horrible smell through out the room. I complained to the manager and eventually they put us into a different room. The second room wasn't much different. Apart from this room was right above a night club. Was that annoyed we just left the hotel and stayed out till late that night. Wasnt going to go for breakfast but as I'd payed for it thought we would go see what it was like, wish I hadn't bothered. Not worth £7. The bowls were dirty, I wouldn't feed my dog what they put on our plates. Over all the hotel was a dive. Looked like a brothel. Wasn't expecting much of the hotel but been clean should be at the top of any list. Will not be staying there again!

  • P Goddard

  • March 2014

Great breakfast!!

The room was quite small but adequate, the parking was a nightmare to find but spacious.

The breakfast and the dining room were however fabulous. We would definitely stay again, especially now we have found the carpark. Excellent city centre location!

  • Kevin P

  • March 2014

Whilst this was centrally located with free onside parking it is a budget hotel and is in keeping with that.

Whilst the room was clean and warm there is the need for refurbishment. That sai the breakfast was a pleasant surprise..ok for one night.

  • E Hall

  • February 2014

Definitely central

So the parking was hard to find but it was a good location, However the room was nice and clean.

I was supirised with the lack of noise as it was situated above a night club. To sum up, it's good value for money if you want a central location.

  • MICHELLE T

  • February 2014

Bathroom let the room down, bleach on the tiles would remove the mould.

Entrance from street level not secure and very confusing. Breakfast was great. Hotel needs a good clean and paint job

  • Peter F

  • February 2014

Ideal location, free car parking in Newcastle city centre, perfect for stag do

It was my son's stag do and the hotel was fine for that.

Although the decor and facilities were a 'bit tired' the room was clean and the staff friendly. The cleaners were straight in after we left the room at 12:00 for our day's 'socialising' and the room was clean with fresh towels and beds made on our return. Some noise overnight due to the number of stag and hen dos but that was to be expected. Ideal location in the city centre with free car parking (although the entrance was difficult to find, however, the staff were very helpful in giving directions). We only had a 2 minute walk at the end of the night to get back to our hotel which was perfect. I would certainly recommend the hotel for groups out for a party, but would not take my wife there for a city shopping break due to the noise at night from other residents, which is a shame as the location would be perfect for shoppers on a city weekend break - may be different midweek?

  • jane u

  • February 2014

Excellent Location

Ideal location, in the city centre close to universities, shopping and restaurants.

The hotel itself is a little dated and in need of renovation. Although a bit tatty it was clean and the staff were friendly and helpful. The car park was an added bonus and was one of the reasons I chose the hotel.

  • Scott Ramsay

  • February 2014

Overnight in Newgate Hotel

Stayed one night while attending a gig at O2 Academy.

Just across road from stage door so really close. Fantastic free parking on rooftop car park with lots of room. Staff helpful & friendly. Rooms clean & warm but duvet too short for bed & me. Bathroom clean. General decor a bit tired but fine for an overnight. Didn't try the food.