Reviews - Newgate Hotel - Newcastle Upon Tyne



Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.


All reviews (107)

47% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • k snelling

  • May 2014


The most unhygienic place I've ever seen.

And on my request of changing the room with appropriate bathroom , manager replied: l don't mind cleaning it for you myself if you are not happy. All our rooms like that. Hotel is old and very busy.. Had to take a refund, cause wouldn't even shower a dog in that bathroom . Apart from location- disaster !!!

  • T Vincent

  • May 2014

Needs modernising but cant fault it

Its a bit like staying in the 1970's however the linen was spotless and the dated bathroom was spotless.

The location for the city cannot be faulted and the free car parking is superb. For the money you cannot fault this hotel - its just dated. The night porter was also superb and very helpful.

  • Graeme Fox

  • May 2014

Bedroom was clean & comfortable.

The hotel itself is rather tired, & in need of updating

  • d hunt

  • May 2014

Average Hotel

Very pleased with the central location of the hotel, as it is right in the city centre and can easily be reached by foot or public transport.

The room was OK - the radiator did not work, thank God it wasn't winter

The shower/bath connection was a bit tricky

Otherwise a very pleasant stay, the room was very clean

  • Malcolm G

  • April 2014

I regard this place as a bit of a find.

I go to Newcastle every year and normally stay at a chain hotel but decided to try something different this time. As with some of the other reviews finding it the first time took a little doing but then once you know its easy. The checkin was very quick and efficient, the lifts are a bit odd but the room was very comfortable. The thing that made it all worthwhile was the breakfast which was excellent in terms of choice and delivery. The food was fresh and hot - this being one of my continuing gripes in other hotels that offer a 'buffet' style breakfast which seldom delivers what it promises. This will certainly be my first choice for my next visit to Newcastle.

  • Carl C

  • April 2014

Now realise this was a contractors hotel.

Basic but generally clean room but bath discoloured, unpleasant bathroom décor, wallpaper coming off wall in room, television remote control stuck together with tape also front panel of display on television missing, lampshade broken. Although this was a non-smoking room it smelt strongly of smoke. Pedestrian entrance at street level very off putting - like walking into multi-storey car park, reception area accessed via two flights of stairs (no lift), across a deserted office space, through a door then down a corridor through a door to reception. Telephone in room only worked if you wanted to speak to reception, not for external calls or to call another room.

  • David Watson

  • April 2014

City Centre Hotel

This hotel was a suitable anonymous city centre hotel.

It offered neither a particular interest nor any special problems. Nothing special but nothing recorded against. The entrance needs updating.

  • D Jordan

  • March 2014

As Central As You Can Be. Cheap and Central

Stayed for my 3rd stay at The Newgate.

Been in other Newcastle hotels but chose this one again this for this visit purely on location and free parking facilities as we was going to St James' Park which is a short walk away. Hotel is desperate need of modernisation to make it look at least a little pleasing on the eye at least. Was like it was still in 1979!.

On the whole though for price and location you cant go wrong really. If you want nice interior and room then look elsewhere. For somewhere to get your head down and get up and leave then it may just do for you.

  • Gregory C

  • March 2014

location location location

Making a trip to Newcastle for the first time we found the hotel reasonabley easily.

The receptionist was very welcoming and helpful with directions to the car park. This is a bit of a job to find but extremely convenient. Being in the city centre and close to the University we were visiting the next day it was ideal.However the rooms are a bit dated but clean and comfortable. Good shower and nice breakfast. Staff very pleasant

  • lauren stephens

  • March 2014

Dirty! Poor quality! Waste of money!

I had booked a night away for me and my partner who was home from the army for his birthday.

When we got into our room we found what looked like a sick stain on the carpet as you walked in, damp all over the walls, the bed sheets were stained and dirty, the bath was thick with dirt and there was a horrible smell through out the room. I complained to the manager and eventually they put us into a different room. The second room wasn't much different. Apart from this room was right above a night club. Was that annoyed we just left the hotel and stayed out till late that night. Wasnt going to go for breakfast but as I'd payed for it thought we would go see what it was like, wish I hadn't bothered. Not worth £7. The bowls were dirty, I wouldn't feed my dog what they put on our plates. Over all the hotel was a dive. Looked like a brothel. Wasn't expecting much of the hotel but been clean should be at the top of any list. Will not be staying there again!