No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Newgate Hotel - Newcastle Upon Tyne

3AA ประเมิน โรงแรม Ratings explained
NEWGATE STREET , NEWCASTLE UPON TYNE, NE1 5SX
With free parking right in the centre of Newcastle, The Newgate Hotel offers modern rooms with coffee makers. Newcastle’s central shopping and nightlife can all be reached within a 10-minute walk.

The Gate, with its bars, shops, and cinema, is just a 2-minute walk away, and Eldon Square shopping centre is 5 minutes away on foot. Newcastle Rail and Metro Station is a 5-minute walk, and the Metro Radio Arena is 15 minutes’ walk away.

Each room includes a private bathroom with a hairdryer. Guests can relax with a TV in the room, along with a work desk and tea/coffee.

Full English breakfasts are served in The Rooftop Restaurant with panoramic views over Newcastle city centre. The Terrace Bar provides free Wi-Fi, Sky channels on a large-screen TV, and a wide range of drinks.

Please note that all bookings of 3 rooms or more will be required to pay
a cash security deposit upon arrival at the hotel. Further information
will be provided once a reservation has been confirmed
Picture of Newgate Hotel - Newcastle Upon Tyne, NEWCASTLE UPON TYNE at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 140 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
47% recommended this accommodation to a friend 55% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Shabby not chic
I have stayed at this hotel many times over the years and put up with the general dilapidated state of the place purely because of its great location, car parking and freindly staff however accomodation standards have hit rock bottom and I will not return. I paid £52.25 for my room this was £52.00 too much !

Reviewed by
Mark B

From UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The 2 rooms we had are desparately in need of refurbishment - certainly not currently up to 3 * rating. Bottom of the bath was stained, water drained very slowly from basin, hot tap dripped constantly & cracked, leaky cups. Also bed was a bit too soft for our liking

Reviewed by
Charles T

From St Neots, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The hotel staff were lovely and very friendly the food was fine too. The only issue we had was that the toilet filled when flushed and bath filled with water when used. When the water eventually went down It sat in the plug hole so just needed a good unblocking. The sink was slightly cracked. the rest of the room was absolutely fine. Bed was very comfy. Very central

Reviewed by
K Wilkinson

From Forfar, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

fabulous
Nice cosy clean. Friendly staff. Comfy beds. Near toon

Reviewed by
carolyn kennedy

From Peebles, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not the next best
Best thing about the hotel is its city centre location and free car park for guests but noise from traffic and late night revellers inhibited sleep late into the early hours. Need post code to find car park which is not the same entrance as the hotel main entrance on street level. Hotel is run down in need of renovation.

Reviewed by
G Clarke

From UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Town centre hotel
The only food on offer was breakfast which I was unable to have as it was served after my departure time. It's time more hotels recognised that people staying for business purposes need more flexibility about this. For evening meals, one is required to go out to local eateries. A comprehensive list of local resteraunts would be helpful.

Reviewed by
M Barnett

From England
Who stayed in September 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

overnight stay to go to St James Park to watch Newcastle v Leeds
the staff were very helpful, good size car park. the rooms were ok and clean and tidy.good value for the money paid. there was some noise from the street but not that bad. you would get some noise outside most hotels in the centre. overall a decent stay over and would definitely stay there again.

Reviewed by
graham shelton

From Huddersfield, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Place To Stay
Great location, free and easy parking. Close to local bars and attractions. The hotel was clean and good facilities for the price it cost. The staff were also very friendly.

Reviewed by
Adam D

From Barnsley, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Really enjoyed my stay. staff friendly

Reviewed by
s michie

From paisley, Scotland
Who stayed in September 2013

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Ideal situation in the centre of Newcastle, near to a metro station, easy walking distance to
The Quay and Arena Theatre. Free parking.

Reviewed by
richard mckenna

From Cheltenham, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 Next