Reviews - Newgate Hotel - Newcastle Upon Tyne



Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.


All reviews (107)

47% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • G Robertson

  • July 2014

Keeping it simple..

Ideal hotel, clean, basic but great location in city centre.

Bonus having a free private car park

  • C Bircham

  • July 2014

The hotel is a little dated though very clean, the staff are very helpful and friendly.

Being centrally located it is a very handy place to stay and has the advantage of its own car park. More suited i think to the hen & stag party on a budget crowd as a little noisy when the local bars / clubs turf out.

  • R S

  • July 2014

Richards Review 2nd July 2014

This hotel is long overdue being condemned and demolished its an absolute eyesore from the 60's .

However you cant fault the price , location or cleanliness of the room . The lack of working double glazing lead to being kept awake by clubbers and 5.ooam street cleaning . So next time I will drink more to avoid this issue, overall it does what exaclty it says on the tin, I will be back . Not a hotel to impress the girlfriend you will be dumped on arrival.

  • Gillian M

  • July 2014

The initial impression of the hotel was poor, however the hotel was clean and comfortable.

But I would say it is in need of some money spending on it.

  • Julie H

  • June 2014

One night's stay at the Newgate Hotel

Hotel very dated and worn, but bedding and room and bathroom very clean - ideal for one night as right in the centre and in walking distance of everywhere we wanted to go.

  • john cumming

  • June 2014


Only got what we paid for as it was reatively cheap BUT really dated and tired.

Car park difficult to locate and hotel itsef difficult to navigate. Button for lift on one side of the room and doors on the other!. . Quite full with contract workers which wasn't a problem but a bit offputting. Would rather pay extra and get a little better quaility so won't be staying here again

  • James Short

  • June 2014

Newgate Hotel

Very close and convenient to local attractions.

Hotel staff polite and helpful. Food good and chef very friendly. Rooms cmleaned on a daily basis

Wi fi in public areas. It would have been nice to extend this to rooms

Free car parking was a boon. Will certainly return

  • Ken S

  • June 2014

Weekend stay

Great city centre location with free parking which is hard to find and all attractions are within a 5 min walk which is a real plus.

Yes it is in desperate need of up dating but it was clean and breakfast was fine. However, I have a real issue with hotels that charge you the full amount on arrival and I guess this is a reflection on the some of the clientèle city hotels have to cater for. I would stay again just for the location and free secure parking.

  • Jean B

  • June 2014


Basic but ideal for anyone wanting to be in the heart of things going on, beds were very comfortable and very clean

  • Gloria F

  • June 2014

You get what you pay for!

Which was not a lot.

Room shabby with torn curtains, poor TV, definitely needed refurb. Staff fine, helpful. Only had breakfast on last day which was very good and the surroundings in the restaurant are lovely - pity the rest of the hotel was not as good. Location good - but was noisy on occasions during the night due to is closeness to clubs and pubs.