Reviews - Newgate Hotel - Newcastle Upon Tyne



Price From 109.15 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.


All reviews (98)

47% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • david j

  • September 2014

Poor Reception Setup

Location, room, free parking all good but no WiFi reception in room, only in lounge.

Arrived by car looking for car park. Had to leave car on double yellow lines then couldn't find reception which was on 1st floor. Needs better signs. Very stark walls need improving. Then had to drive round city to reach car park at rear which I couldn't have done without satnav.

  • J J

  • September 2014

The hotel is tired and needs updating.

It is a very noisy location and many guests had no consideration for others when returning to the hotel very late after a night out - many were obviously very drunk. The bar was 24hrs and on Sat morning people were still in there drinking - obviously all night and the noise was very loud. A group came into breakfast and were using very bad language and no staff asked them to refrain. There was also another group there in their pyjamas. The breakfasts were of a good quality.

  • j burns

  • September 2014

great location friendly reception good price clean room would stay again

  • S Scott

  • September 2014

Clean room and comfy bed and a really nice cooked breakfast!

That said, the hotel is looking pretty dated inside and could do with remodel and maybe some double glazing.

I was glad I took ear plugs as the city was pretty noisy at night (to be expected I know).

  • Joanna B

  • September 2014

GNR Stay

Great central location but as with all hotels in Newcastle on this weekend over priced.

The room was clean if a little tired and breakfast was fine. Friendly staff and on site parking a bonus.

  • Rebecca B

  • August 2014

Lovely, central hotel!

Although the hotel was dated and could have been cleaner, it was in prime Newcastle center location with brilliant parking facilities out the back, The hotel wasn't noisy and they put couples on the same floors to avoid any hen/stag weekender, which worked really well for us.

The hotel is based right in the center next to The Gate which is full of lovely restaurants as well as being a very short walk to Gray Street for lovely bars and more restaurants. If you don't mind being in basic rooms then I would recommend this to you. It was value for money, get location and everything that we needed. We would stay here again.

  • R Gallagher

  • August 2014

Perfect for weekend away

4 girls travelled from Glasgow to Newcastle for a weekend away, 2 of the girls staying in a different hotel.

This hotel is in a PERFECT location, right on your doorstep to everything you would want for a messy weekend. The rooms themselves are clean tidy with really nothing to complain about. Bathroom again clean with a brilliant power shower. We worried that our 2 friends wouldn't get into our hotel for 'predrinks' but they had no problem. The staff at reception were very helpful, any questions they would help as much as they could always with a smile. Overall we have said if we were to come back to Newcastle this hotel is a must to stay in again.

  • N Chaudhary

  • August 2014

Good place to stay for 1 night

I booked this after reading the reviews and was a bit concerned but there were no other hotels close enough to where we wanted to go.the location is perfect and had all the amenities you could want.however,our room had single glazed windows and we were right next to the lift so it was very noisy all night.I advise bringing ear plugs if you can.The bed was clean which was the main thing but the pillows were like paper towels and there were no extras;I didn't ask or more though so would advise this.The carpet looked really old an had marks all over it;I didn't take my shoes off it was that bad.The bathroom was as clean as it could be but is in need of a massive makeover as the grout around the taps was black;the shower was powerful to the point that it was spraying all over the floor;this was unavoidable.

There was little loo roll in the room and we ran out before we went to sleep;also the shower gel in the shower ran out as was nearly empty. The staff were more than accommodating and were helpful so this was not an issue but for the £85 we paid,I expected a lot higher quality.I don't think I would stay here again at this price but maybe would if it was £30-£45 like the travelodge.Travelodges are basic but all the rooms are clean and modern;surely this hotel can afford to refurbish?the car parking was excellent;off site and free so no concerns here.

  • t carleton

  • July 2014

Review of Newgate Hotel

I would not recommend this Hotel for the faint hearted.

It was in a bad area, full of pubs and there was excrement inside the entrance on the Saturday night. If you just want somewhere to lay your head then this may be the place for you, I would never return, it has seen better days.

  • s w

  • July 2014

I booked this as a surprise for my partner and then I read the reviews and didn't want to come here but I*m glad we did .

The staff were very friendly and patient with me after a 5 hour journey (thanks Christian) as I messed up my booking . The rooms were clean if a bit dated but as a base for visiting Newcastle you wont get better. We only went for breakfast on the 2nd day and were gutted we didn't get it the day before it was one of the best we*ve ever had

its not the nicest place we*ve stayed but its not the worst and as I said the staff were all friendly and helpful