No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Newgate Hotel - Newcastle Upon Tyne

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
NEWGATE STREET , NEWCASTLE UPON TYNE, NE1 5SX
With free parking right in the centre of Newcastle, The Newgate Hotel offers modern rooms with coffee makers. Newcastle’s central shopping and nightlife can all be reached within a 10-minute walk.

The Gate, with its bars, shops, and cinema, is just a 2-minute walk away, and Eldon Square shopping centre is 5 minutes away on foot. Newcastle Rail and Metro Station is a 5-minute walk, and the Metro Radio Arena is 15 minutes’ walk away.

Each room includes a private bathroom with a hairdryer. Guests can relax with a TV in the room, along with a work desk and tea/coffee.

Full English breakfasts are served in The Rooftop Restaurant with panoramic views over Newcastle city centre. The Terrace Bar provides free Wi-Fi, Sky channels on a large-screen TV, and a wide range of drinks.

Please note that all bookings of 3 rooms or more will be required to pay
a cash security deposit upon arrival at the hotel. Further information
will be provided once a reservation has been confirmed
Picture of Newgate Hotel - Newcastle Upon Tyne, NEWCASTLE UPON TYNE at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 135 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
47% recommended this accommodation to a friend 55% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good location but sadly hotel has seen better days...
Fantastic location for making Fawlty Towers sequel... Hotel built in 1969 and not been decorated since. Staff were friendly and there's free parking, that's about it.

Reviewed by
D Henley

From Selkirk, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lads weekend
3 boys in the room for the two nights, was ideal! Was exactly what we needed for a very messy weekend! Beds were comfy with plenty space for clothes and a adequate bathroom. If your looking for a hotel just to crash between drinking sessions in Newcastle this place is ideal

Reviewed by
John Barr

From Motherwell, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Repeat visit
Stayed here before. Good value for money. Hotel needs updating but this is reflected in price.

Reviewed by
Karen D

From Wigton, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Canny to crash out in for a night out....
Decided it would be easier to book a hotel and crash over after a night out with work colleagues, saving the cost and hassle of a long taxi journey home! This place is ideally situated in the City Centre, just at the top of the Bigg Market so it is central to wherever you may end up. Don't be expecting some 5 star Vegas hotel, it is what it says on the tin.
The car park entrance is literally up the small gap/lane in-between the Hotel Indigo and Assembly Rooms, there is a small sign on the outer wall of the assembly rooms but is quite missable at night! I missed the entrance first time round and took me ages to get back round there due to the amount of traffic. Post Code and directions on the website are spot on for getting there though!!!

Reviewed by
L Anderson

From Durham, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

This is a very adequate hotel for an overnight stay. The availability of car parking with dedicated bays close to reception for women drivers is very thoughtful.If staying at weekends ask for a quiet room away from stag/hen parties!The staff are extremely pleasant and helpful.

Reviewed by
Julie V

From UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Stayed at better BandB's
Looks better in the advert.entrance is awful and looks dirty. Car park difficult to find. Staff pleasant but hotels looks in need of good clean and update. Stayed at better b and b's for less money. Not for me sadly

Reviewed by
Ray C

From Liverpool, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice enough hotel... but not for everyone.
The hotel has a 'youth club' feel when you enter, and could do with a spruce up in the main areas. Our room was nice, and the staff were friendly and helpful. Very useful having a car park! I was worried it was going to be really noisy, and there were several groups of young men around who were obviously out for a big night on the town... but it was fine, and we had no trouble. I can imagine that this hotel can get rather rowdy depending on the clientele - the bar stays open until 4 - so its probably not ideal for those seeking peace and quiet. But its in a great location, and if you're just looking for a comfortable bed after a big night out in Newcastle then this is ideal.

Reviewed by
Hannah G

From UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Y
Very very basic. Frequented mainly by Eastern Europeans and groups of young people out for a good time in the Toon. Noisy due to central location. The bar, the most basic and unwelcoming I've ever seen. Can't fault cleanliness of room and comfy bed! Friendly chap on reception.

Reviewed by
Geoff S

From York, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The newgate
Very handy for all the shops restraunts, and pubs. Helpful staff TV and shower didn't work when we arrived but was sorted within five minutes of reporting it to reception. Post code for car park could be put on website as the one we were given took you to the front of the hotel. Otherwise a pleasant two days stay. Bathroom and room were kept clean.

Reviewed by
d martin

From Workington, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Utterly Appalling.
It has been decades since I stayed somewhere as badly maintained and scruffy as this place. It was grubby, stuff was damaged and the heating never came on all night. The curtains were hanging off and the carpet in the entrance and lobby was worn and dirty. Stay somewhere else people.

Reviewed by
Fiona D

From Clermont, USA
Who stayed in November 2013

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 Next