Reviews - Newgate Hotel - Newcastle Upon Tyne



Price From 170.08 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.


All reviews (107)

47% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • L Law

  • October 2014

Customer service from most of the staff was absolutely fine.

Just the first morning we had to explain that our toilet wasn't flushing, and there was a foreign lady on the front reception desk who couldn't understand us. She proceeded to phone her manager who I guess didn't want to come and talk to us so the issue wasn't sorted.

  • L Dobson

  • October 2014

Booked a one night stay with my partner as we were going to watch a concert at the o2 academy (which was only a 5 minute walk away), hotel is in the central of Newcastle which was very handy.

Check in was easy no pre-authorization, it was very difficult to find the car park it has a different postcode to the hotel, and I was driving round Newcastle city centre for around 1 hour until I rang reception and then the reception told me about the second postcode. The decor and reception is has seen better days the hotel needs a good refurbishment, the windows are single glazed there was a gale blowing through the closed windows, the sink in the bathroom didn't work. They was a television which was ok, wifi options and tea/coffee. I couldn't fault the parking when we found the right location, and the close-ness of everything the gate is within 2 minutes walking distance. Quite a noisey hotel on a Tuesday night not somewhere for couples really.

  • Marcus R

  • October 2014

dirty and unwelcoming corridors

The entry to this hotel is terrible - dirty empty rooms and corridors with dirty carpets and wallpaper - It is most unwelcoming and a bit scary.

The room was passable - the linen was clean but the bathroom had seen better days. It was noisy outside and I would not recommend this to anyone I am afraid.

  • F Smith

  • September 2014

adequate for short stay

Friendly staff, good food, excellent car parking.

The whole hotel requires refurbishing.

  • S Tang

  • September 2014

Great stay with free car park

We only stayed for one night, and we think its very good value, considering its an Sunday, right at the heart of city, only 200 hundred metres from our relatives.

The breakfast was so nice and services five star. A little noisy and entrance from street level not very easy. The one thing we both agree: free car park. ,

  • Charlotte L

  • September 2014

lovely hotel in a brilliant location

Car park wasn't easy to find but well signed when we got nearer

  • jennie h

  • September 2014

Good night's sleep but...

Comfy bed and slept well.

Staff exceedingly helpful with directions to latenight local shop so could purchase items of toiletries we'd forgotten.Iron and small ironing board and hairdryer useful.Fabulous central location just 5mins uphill from station and 5 mins to Monument metro. However hotel is in definite need of some tlc. Our bathroom had a cracked basin, there were a couple of long black hairs on the rubber bath mat, had a flaky ceiling and in need of application of Detox mould remover on some of the grouting. But towels big and there was a bathmat and hand towel.Net curtain in bedroom had holes( cigarette burn marks shaped) Did mention most of these things to Receptionperson when asked in morning how our room was.

  • david j

  • September 2014

Poor Reception Setup

Location, room, free parking all good but no WiFi reception in room, only in lounge.

Arrived by car looking for car park. Had to leave car on double yellow lines then couldn't find reception which was on 1st floor. Needs better signs. Very stark walls need improving. Then had to drive round city to reach car park at rear which I couldn't have done without satnav.

  • J J

  • September 2014

The hotel is tired and needs updating.

It is a very noisy location and many guests had no consideration for others when returning to the hotel very late after a night out - many were obviously very drunk. The bar was 24hrs and on Sat morning people were still in there drinking - obviously all night and the noise was very loud. A group came into breakfast and were using very bad language and no staff asked them to refrain. There was also another group there in their pyjamas. The breakfasts were of a good quality.

  • j burns

  • September 2014

great location friendly reception good price clean room would stay again