No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Newgate Hotel - Newcastle Upon Tyne

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
NEWGATE STREET , NEWCASTLE UPON TYNE, NE1 5SX
With free parking right in the centre of Newcastle, The Newgate Hotel offers modern rooms with coffee makers. Newcastle’s central shopping and nightlife can all be reached within a 10-minute walk.

The Gate, with its bars, shops, and cinema, is just a 2-minute walk away, and Eldon Square shopping centre is 5 minutes away on foot. Newcastle Rail and Metro Station is a 5-minute walk, and the Metro Radio Arena is 15 minutes’ walk away.

Each room includes a private bathroom with a hairdryer. Guests can relax with a TV in the room, along with a work desk and tea/coffee.

Full English breakfasts are served in The Rooftop Restaurant with panoramic views over Newcastle city centre. The Terrace Bar provides free Wi-Fi, Sky channels on a large-screen TV, and a wide range of drinks.

Please note that all bookings of 3 rooms or more will be required to pay
a cash security deposit upon arrival at the hotel. Further information
will be provided once a reservation has been confirmed
Picture of Newgate Hotel - Newcastle Upon Tyne, NEWCASTLE UPON TYNE at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 137 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
47% recommended this accommodation to a friend 54% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Definitely central
So the parking was hard to find but it was a good location,
However the room was nice and clean.
I was supirised with the lack of noise as it was situated above a night club.
To sum up, it's good value for money if you want a central location.

Reviewed by
E Hall

From Reading, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Whilst this was centrally located with free onside parking it is a budget hotel and is in keeping with that.
Whilst the room was clean and warm there is the need for refurbishment. That sai the breakfast was a pleasant surprise..ok for one night.

Reviewed by
Kevin P

From UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Bathroom let the room down, bleach on the tiles would remove the mould. Entrance from street level not secure and very confusing. Breakfast was great. Hotel needs a good clean and paint job

Reviewed by
MICHELLE T

From ASHFORD, England
Who stayed in February 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Ideal location, free car parking in Newcastle city centre, perfect for stag do
It was my son's stag do and the hotel was fine for that. Although the decor and facilities were a 'bit tired' the room was clean and the staff friendly. The cleaners were straight in after we left the room at 12:00 for our day's 'socialising' and the room was clean with fresh towels and beds made on our return. Some noise overnight due to the number of stag and hen dos but that was to be expected. Ideal location in the city centre with free car parking (although the entrance was difficult to find, however, the staff were very helpful in giving directions). We only had a 2 minute walk at the end of the night to get back to our hotel which was perfect. I would certainly recommend the hotel for groups out for a party, but would not take my wife there for a city shopping break due to the noise at night from other residents, which is a shame as the location would be perfect for shoppers on a city weekend break - may be different midweek?

Reviewed by
Peter F

From Burnley, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent Location
Ideal location, in the city centre close to universities, shopping and restaurants. The hotel itself is a little dated and in need of renovation. Although a bit tatty it was clean and the staff were friendly and helpful. The car park was an added bonus and was one of the reasons I chose the hotel.

Reviewed by
jane u

From Douglas, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Overnight in Newgate Hotel
Stayed one night while attending a gig at O2 Academy. Just across road from stage door so really close. Fantastic free parking on rooftop car park with lots of room. Staff helpful & friendly. Rooms clean & warm but duvet too short for bed & me! Bathroom clean. General decor a bit tired but fine for an overnight. Didn't try the food.

Reviewed by
Scott Ramsay

From Linlithgow , UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

City Centre Hotel
This hotel was a suitable anonymous city centre hotel. It offered neither a particular interest nor any special problems. Nothing special but nothing recorded against. The entrance needs updating.

Reviewed by
David Watson

From UK
Who stayed in January 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Amazing for the location right in the centre of Newcastle beside the gate. Basic but clean all you really need for an overnight stay in Newcastle.

Reviewed by
J Hewat

From Edinburgh, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

en suite awful
The hotel is well placed, the staff very friendly, the beds warm ,clean and comfortable the only let down was the en suite, horrible!! The bath stained with no enamel left on ,the tiles and bath surround mildewed, we used the toilet roll once and had to go to the desk for one .obviously not checked by room service. Shame really as it could have been a perfect overnight stay

Reviewed by
shirley haigh

From Newton Aycliffe, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good location same about the place
Hotel is ideally placed for station and shops.
Hotel is very scruffy and run down , A cabby told me it is due to be demolished . This seems like a good idea!
The room I had was next to old lift shaft and had a loud buzzing noise .
There was a night club thumping out loud music practically under the room.

Reviewed by
S Brown

From Surbiton, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Family

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next