Reviews - Newgate Hotel - Newcastle Upon Tyne



Price From 111.15 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.


All reviews (107)

47% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • Jennifer T

  • February 2015


The room was okay, old fashioned but clean.

The only issues we had were the car park and the none existent cleaners. Our room was left dirty all day and when we complained the reception staff said theyd bring us towels. they did not. I myself went down again and complained and another member of staff eventually brought them. the car park is just a joke

  • David G

  • February 2015

Not cheap but noisy!

The hotel is in the center of Newcastle, handy location but very noisy as it is to close to the night spots.

And a lack of any double glazing meant you could hear everything going on outside. I asked for a quiet room with a high floor when I booked but this was ignored. Basic but clean.

  • Stu D

  • February 2015

been to better

It was Ok.

For 1 night the experience of getting to the room was unpleasant due to a drunk in the doorway.

  • p rimmer

  • February 2015

Newgate Hotel - Newcastle Upon Tyne

Very quiet even though in heart of city centre comfy room comfy beds

  • Michael F

  • February 2015

Average at best


The rooms are not soundproof by any standard and this is in the centre of Newcastle so expect a lot of drunken shouting and girls shouting and screaming later in the week. Breakfast was OK, rates are reasonable but don't expect a lot.

  • Steven J

  • January 2015

Great budget hotel

The night we stayed was great, staff were happy and helpful and didn't bother us with anything, we rocked up at 5 in the morning after a night out and everyone was helpful and sleep was great.

Even slept in past check out time and they dealt with it at no extra cost. If you need a hotel for a few nights come here. Great value, great staff and a great fry up in the morning to help the hangover!

  • Clare R

  • January 2015

Comfortable stay in budget hotel

Travelodge style hotel e.g.

'no frills', however, a comfortable bed, working TV, hot shower and tea making facilities were all we needed and these all worked fine. Good value considering the cost of other hotels nearby. Very central for all amenities. Might want to consider replacing some of the furniture to freshen the place up a bit as the chair in our bedroom was badly stained. We would stay here again on a budget.

  • hugh r

  • January 2015

Good cheap very central hotel!

Arrived here with a mixed group for nye not expecting too much.

The hotel has fairly tired decor but is clean and really cheap. Best thing is its location!!. Mega central!!.


  • December 2014

Centrally located.

Basic accomodation but very good location.

  • Mark R

  • December 2014

No Excuses

When you opt for a budget hotel you should be able to expect a simple room that is clean.

I stayed in a room on the 3rd floor. From the windows and net curtains to the carpet and the bathroom the cleanliness was appalling. Rotten and paint flaking bath panel. Mouldy shower curtain, old towels, tired and damaged furnishings throughout. Lack of adequate lighting and light switches that didnt even work. There are budget hotels both independent and larger chains that do this far far better. Sorry to say but stay away.