Reviews - Newgate Hotel - Newcastle Upon Tyne



Price From 108.51 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.


All reviews (99)

47% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • d walton

  • March 2015

Newgate Hotel - Newcastle Upon Tyne

a bit noisy on a friday night, but otherwise a good hotel

  • D Wilcock

  • February 2015

Ok for 1 night

The room was a good size.

Quite noisy as we were near the doors, the television did not work. Parking is a bonus, would stay again if room was cheaper.

  • Liz G

  • February 2015

weekend in the toon...

brilliant location - really close to the Gate, Bigg Market & Eldon Sq..

The hotel staff are great & the breakfast is cooked fresh to order. Hotel itself is a bit tired but the rooms are clean & the beds are comfy!

  • Jennifer T

  • February 2015


The room was okay, old fashioned but clean.

The only issues we had were the car park and the none existent cleaners. Our room was left dirty all day and when we complained the reception staff said theyd bring us towels. they did not. I myself went down again and complained and another member of staff eventually brought them. the car park is just a joke

  • David G

  • February 2015

Not cheap but noisy!

The hotel is in the center of Newcastle, handy location but very noisy as it is to close to the night spots.

And a lack of any double glazing meant you could hear everything going on outside. I asked for a quiet room with a high floor when I booked but this was ignored. Basic but clean.

  • Stu D

  • February 2015

been to better

It was Ok.

For 1 night the experience of getting to the room was unpleasant due to a drunk in the doorway.

  • p rimmer

  • February 2015

Newgate Hotel - Newcastle Upon Tyne

Very quiet even though in heart of city centre comfy room comfy beds

  • Michael F

  • February 2015

Average at best


The rooms are not soundproof by any standard and this is in the centre of Newcastle so expect a lot of drunken shouting and girls shouting and screaming later in the week. Breakfast was OK, rates are reasonable but don't expect a lot.

  • Steven J

  • January 2015

Great budget hotel

The night we stayed was great, staff were happy and helpful and didn't bother us with anything, we rocked up at 5 in the morning after a night out and everyone was helpful and sleep was great.

Even slept in past check out time and they dealt with it at no extra cost. If you need a hotel for a few nights come here. Great value, great staff and a great fry up in the morning to help the hangover!

  • Clare R

  • January 2015

Comfortable stay in budget hotel

Travelodge style hotel e.g.

'no frills', however, a comfortable bed, working TV, hot shower and tea making facilities were all we needed and these all worked fine. Good value considering the cost of other hotels nearby. Very central for all amenities. Might want to consider replacing some of the furniture to freshen the place up a bit as the chair in our bedroom was badly stained. We would stay here again on a budget.