No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Newgate Hotel - Newcastle Upon Tyne

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
NEWGATE STREET , NEWCASTLE UPON TYNE, NE1 5SX
With free parking right in the centre of Newcastle, The Newgate Hotel offers modern rooms with coffee makers. Newcastle’s central shopping and nightlife can all be reached within a 10-minute walk.

The Gate, with its bars, shops, and cinema, is just a 2-minute walk away, and Eldon Square shopping centre is 5 minutes away on foot. Newcastle Rail and Metro Station is a 5-minute walk, and the Metro Radio Arena is 15 minutes’ walk away.

Each room includes a private bathroom with a hairdryer. Guests can relax with a TV in the room, along with a work desk and tea/coffee.

Full English breakfasts are served in The Rooftop Restaurant with panoramic views over Newcastle city centre. The Terrace Bar provides free Wi-Fi, Sky channels on a large-screen TV, and a wide range of drinks.

Please note that all bookings of 3 rooms or more will be required to pay
a cash security deposit upon arrival at the hotel. Further information
will be provided once a reservation has been confirmed
Picture of Newgate Hotel - Newcastle Upon Tyne, NEWCASTLE UPON TYNE at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 140 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
47% recommended this accommodation to a friend 55% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good place to stay for 1 night
I booked this after reading the reviews and was a bit concerned but there were no other hotels close enough to where we wanted to go.the location is perfect and had all the amenities you could want.however,our room had single glazed windows and we were right next to the lift so it was very noisy all night.I advise bringing ear plugs if you can.The bed was clean which was the main thing but the pillows were like paper towels and there were no extras;I didn't ask or more though so would advise this.The carpet looked really old an had marks all over it;I didn't take my shoes off it was that bad.The bathroom was as clean as it could be but is in need of a massive makeover as the grout around the taps was black;the shower was powerful to the point that it was spraying all over the floor;this was unavoidable. There was little loo roll in the room and we ran out before we went to sleep;also the shower gel in the shower ran out as was nearly empty. The staff were more than accommodating and were helpful so this was not an issue but for the £85 we paid,I expected a lot higher quality.I don't think I would stay here again at this price but maybe would if it was £30-£45 like the travelodge.Travelodges are basic but all the rooms are clean and modern;surely this hotel can afford to refurbish?the car parking was excellent;off site and free so no concerns here.

Reviewed by
N Chaudhary

From Barnsley, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Review of Newgate Hotel
I would not recommend this Hotel for the faint hearted! It was in a bad area, full of pubs and there was excrement inside the entrance on the Saturday night. If you just want somewhere to lay your head then this may be the place for you, I would never return, it has seen better days.

Reviewed by
t carleton

From Edinburgh, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

I booked this as a surprise for my partner and then I read the reviews and didn't want to come here but I*m glad we did . The staff were very friendly and patient with me after a 5 hour journey (thanks Christian) as I messed up my booking . The rooms were clean if a bit dated but as a base for visiting Newcastle you wont get better. We only went for breakfast on the 2nd day and were gutted we didn't get it the day before it was one of the best we*ve ever had
its not the nicest place we*ve stayed but its not the worst and as I said the staff were all friendly and helpful

Reviewed by
s w

From England
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Newgate Hotel

Reviewed by
S Doherty

From Dundee, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Urrgggh
Without doubt the worst hotel I have ever stayed in. How they could ever get away with charging the headline rate for one of the rooms is beyond me.

Reviewed by
M Partridge

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The hotel is a little dated though very clean, the staff are very helpful and friendly. Being centrally located it is a very handy place to stay and has the advantage of its own car park. More suited i think to the hen & stag party on a budget crowd as a little noisy when the local bars / clubs turf out.

Reviewed by
C Bircham

From Stockton on Tees, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Keeping it simple..
Ideal hotel, clean, basic but great location in city centre. Bonus having a free private car park

Reviewed by
G Robertson

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

smelly loud, expect no sleep, wifi not in room, bathroom smells, carpet dirty, can hear everything o
loud nosiy and hear everything outside, smelly corridors, bathroom not clean, carpet dirty, wi fi in canteen only, people partying and staying up late, not good at all,

Reviewed by
s kumar

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The initial impression of the hotel was poor, however the hotel was clean and comfortable. But I would say it is in need of some money spending on it.

Reviewed by
Gillian M

From Scarborough, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Richards Review 2nd July 2014
This hotel is long overdue being condemned and demolished its an absolute eyesore from the 60's . However you cant fault the price , location or cleanliness of the room . The lack of working double glazing lead to being kept awake by clubbers and 5.ooam street cleaning . So next time I will drink more to avoid this issue, overall it does what exaclty it says on the tin, I will be back . Not a hotel to impress the girlfriend you will be dumped on arrival.

Reviewed by
R S

From England
Who stayed in July 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next