No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Newgate Hotel - Newcastle Upon Tyne

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
NEWGATE STREET , NEWCASTLE UPON TYNE, NE1 5SX
With free parking right in the centre of Newcastle, The Newgate Hotel offers modern rooms with coffee makers. Newcastle’s central shopping and nightlife can all be reached within a 10-minute walk.

The Gate, with its bars, shops, and cinema, is just a 2-minute walk away, and Eldon Square shopping centre is 5 minutes away on foot. Newcastle Rail and Metro Station is a 5-minute walk, and the Metro Radio Arena is 15 minutes’ walk away.

Each room includes a private bathroom with a hairdryer. Guests can relax with a TV in the room, along with a work desk and tea/coffee.

Full English breakfasts are served in The Rooftop Restaurant with panoramic views over Newcastle city centre. The Terrace Bar provides free Wi-Fi, Sky channels on a large-screen TV, and a wide range of drinks.

Please note that all bookings of 3 rooms or more will be required to pay
a cash security deposit upon arrival at the hotel. Further information
will be provided once a reservation has been confirmed
Picture of Newgate Hotel - Newcastle Upon Tyne, NEWCASTLE UPON TYNE at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 138 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
48% recommended this accommodation to a friend 54% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The initial impression of the hotel was poor, however the hotel was clean and comfortable. But I would say it is in need of some money spending on it.

Reviewed by
Gillian M

From Scarborough, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Richards Review 2nd July 2014
This hotel is long overdue being condemned and demolished its an absolute eyesore from the 60's . However you cant fault the price , location or cleanliness of the room . The lack of working double glazing lead to being kept awake by clubbers and 5.ooam street cleaning . So next time I will drink more to avoid this issue, overall it does what exaclty it says on the tin, I will be back . Not a hotel to impress the girlfriend you will be dumped on arrival.

Reviewed by
R S

From England
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

One night's stay at the Newgate Hotel
Hotel very dated and worn, but bedding and room and bathroom very clean - ideal for one night as right in the centre and in walking distance of everywhere we wanted to go.

Reviewed by
Julie H

From Hartlepool, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Dated
Only got what we paid for as it was reatively cheap BUT really dated and tired. Car park difficult to locate and hotel itsef difficult to navigate. Button for lift on one side of the room and doors on the other!? ! Quite full with contract workers which wasn't a problem but a bit offputting. Would rather pay extra and get a little better quaility so won't be staying here again

Reviewed by
john cumming

From Hartlepool, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Weekend stay
Great city centre location with free parking which is hard to find and all attractions are within a 5 min walk which is a real plus. Yes it is in desperate need of up dating but it was clean and breakfast was fine. However, I have a real issue with hotels that charge you the full amount on arrival and I guess this is a reflection on the some of the clientèle city hotels have to cater for.
I would stay again just for the location and free secure parking.

Reviewed by
Ken S

From Sheffield, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Ideal
Basic but ideal for anyone wanting to be in the heart of things going on, beds were very comfortable and very clean

Reviewed by
Jean B

From Middlesbrough, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Newgate Hotel
Very close and convenient to local attractions. Hotel staff polite and helpful. Food good and chef very friendly.
Rooms cmleaned on a daily basis
Wi fi in public areas. It would have been nice to extend this to rooms
Free car parking was a boon.
Will certainly return

Reviewed by
James Short

From Salford, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

You get what you pay for!
Which was not a lot! Room shabby with torn curtains, poor TV, definitely needed refurb. Staff fine, helpful. Only had breakfast on last day which was very good and the surroundings in the restaurant are lovely - pity the rest of the hotel was not as good!
Location good - but was noisy on occasions during the night due to is closeness to clubs and pubs.

Reviewed by
Gloria F

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Awful!!!
The most unhygienic place I've ever seen!
And on my request of changing the room with appropriate bathroom , manager replied: l don't mind cleaning it for you myself if you are not happy. All our rooms like that. Hotel is old and very busy..
Had to take a refund, cause wouldn't even shower a dog in that bathroom .
Apart from location- disaster !!!

Reviewed by
k snelling

From Bournemouth, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Needs modernising but cant fault it
Its a bit like staying in the 1970's however the linen was spotless and the dated bathroom was spotless. The location for the city cannot be faulted and the free car parking is superb.
For the money you cannot fault this hotel - its just dated. The night porter was also superb and very helpful.

Reviewed by
T Vincent

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next