Reviews - Newgate Hotel - Newcastle Upon Tyne



Price From 108.98 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.


All reviews (107)

47% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • Kate Henry

  • March 2015

You get what you pay for...

Entry to hotel from street is not very good for single travellers - quite distance to reception desk.

On arrival the greeting, or lack of a greeting, from the male receptionist (Steven) was dismal. Expected payment without allowing us to see the room. Our other dealings with staff were more pleasant and, even Steven, was helpful when storing luggage on departure. The room, bed and ensuite facilities were clean and room was fine. Could do with a coat of paint. However. extremely poor sound-proofing limited the sleep/rest we got. We could hear the people next door stir their tea and every TV programme they watched. Noisey lads on second night disrupted us at midnight, 5.30, 7.30 and 8.15 am. If you're in Newcastle for a stag or hen-do - this is for you otherwise avoid it.

  • Charles B

  • March 2015

Newcastle stop over

Seen better days but good value for night out,football match and close to nightlife and shopping.Would stay again.


  • Nicholas D

  • March 2015


Ropey place that is in urgent ned of redecoration and improvement.

  • James Lindsay

  • March 2015

Not A3 Star Hotel.

This hotel is a disgrace,I assume it was built in the sixtiesand has never been updated since.

the windows are single glazing with metal frames that rattle ,had to jam a piece of paper to stop rattle.the radiator had no heat control(HANDLE HAD BEEN REMOVED) maintenance man had to open it with a spanner so heat at full all the time or frozen all the time. bathroom was terrible,bath panel hanging off,towel rail fitting hanging off. Shower curtain and bottom of bath engrained with dirt. Staff helpful even they dont know how it gets away with 3 star rating. this hhotel is NOT doing your company any favours.

  • T Pickersgill

  • March 2015


A hotel I admired back in the 80's when I worked nearby and often popped into.

Chose this hotel as it was very close to where the function I was going to. What a let down. Badly in need of upgrading and what upgrades that have been done have been done badly. Before I entered the building it looked drab, tattered and dirty flags, and the net curtains looked washed out. Interior walls have been haphazardly painted in an effort to hide any attempts of repairs, that failed miserably. Woodwork is dull and out of date. The lift worked but, the call button is still over by the old lift shafts 15 feet away. Room was basic. 1970's metal window frames, no way to turn radiator down which was,so hot you could not touch it. Reception did turn it off mid afternoon but, room never did cool down to a comfortable temperature, resulting in sleepless night. TV picture was barely watchable probably due to the fact it was a pre digital portable. Bath had green streak of something coming from overflow, did not use it. Sink did not drain very well and you had to be quite small to squeeze into the corner to use the toilet properly.

Location is handy for everywhere in town, unfortunately the noise from the party goers on the streets below was heard all night. Like New York, I don't think Newcastle sleeps.

Breakfast was tasty, served in what I remember was a plush cocktail lounge. Now looks like it is waiting to be pulled down. Staff were friendly and polite but had that look of staff who were wanting this to be a real hotel again. I would not recommend hotel to anyone.

  • Hemel T

  • March 2015

Short stay for business trip

Great location in the center of the city.

I didn't realize it was on top of a nightclub so did get quite a bit of noise pollution 'til quite late into the early hours (even though it was a Sunday night). It would have been better if the Hotel had double glazing instead of aluminum single glazed windows. The Hotel itself is very dated like something out of the sixties but that didn't bother me as it was nice to stay somewhere different for a change. The staff are friendly and helpful and the breakfast was lovely. The free parking was a bonus.

  • Nigel M

  • March 2015

Great location for a Stag party

Located within a two minute walk from The Gate, Bigg Market, a massive shopping centre and loads of bars and eating places, this hotel really is a great location for those wishing to party the night away and not have far to stagger back afterwards.

It looks as if it used to be an office block that has been converted into a hotel. The rooms are outdated but similar to what you can expect at a Travelodge/Premier inn (Though not the updated versions)

There is a £30 deposit pp to cover breakages and rule breaking which will be explained to you through an email after booking. This is to ensure ALL guests enjoy their stay, not just the party animals

The staff are very friendly & welcoming. There was a water leak coming from the room above which meant we had to change rooms but we took up their offer of a free drink at the bar as compensation. If I was to come back to Newcastle for a night or two out I'd certainly book this hotel again. If I was coming to Newcastle with my family including Children I would book somewhere out of the City Centre due to Newcastle being very lively at night and not wanting to come "home" to drunken brawls etc.

  • d walton

  • March 2015

Newgate Hotel - Newcastle Upon Tyne

a bit noisy on a friday night, but otherwise a good hotel

  • D Wilcock

  • February 2015

Ok for 1 night

The room was a good size.

Quite noisy as we were near the doors, the television did not work. Parking is a bonus, would stay again if room was cheaper.

  • Liz G

  • February 2015

weekend in the toon...

brilliant location - really close to the Gate, Bigg Market & Eldon Sq..

The hotel staff are great & the breakfast is cooked fresh to order. Hotel itself is a bit tired but the rooms are clean & the beds are comfy!