Newgate Hotel - Newcastle Upon Tyne

3

NEWGATE STREET, NEWCASTLE UPON TYNE, NE1 5SX

Price From 89.02 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Good

All reviews (127)

53% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • d martin

  • November 2013

The newgate

Very handy for all the shops restraunts, and pubs.

Helpful staff TV and shower didn't work when we arrived but was sorted within five minutes of reporting it to reception. Post code for car park could be put on website as the one we were given took you to the front of the hotel. Otherwise a pleasant two days stay. Bathroom and room were kept clean.

  • Fiona D

  • November 2013

Utterly Appalling.

It has been decades since I stayed somewhere as badly maintained and scruffy as this place.

It was grubby, stuff was damaged and the heating never came on all night. The curtains were hanging off and the carpet in the entrance and lobby was worn and dirty. Stay somewhere else people.

  • R Papworth

  • November 2013

Very basic but comfortable.

Room was a little tatty and could do with a revamp.

  • j elliott

  • October 2013

Basic but clean -- but handy for city centre

  • Charles T

  • October 2013

The 2 rooms we had are desparately in need of refurbishment - certainly not currently up to 3 * rating.

Bottom of the bath was stained, water drained very slowly from basin, hot tap dripped constantly & cracked, leaky cups. Also bed was a bit too soft for our liking

  • s michie

  • October 2013

Really enjoyed my stay.

staff friendly

  • Mark B

  • October 2013

Shabby not chic

I have stayed at this hotel many times over the years and put up with the general dilapidated state of the place purely because of its great location, car parking and freindly staff however accomodation standards have hit rock bottom and I will not return.

I paid £52.25 for my room this was £52.00 too much .

  • K Wilkinson

  • October 2013

The hotel staff were lovely and very friendly the food was fine too.

The only issue we had was that the toilet filled when flushed and bath filled with water when used. When the water eventually went down It sat in the plug hole so just needed a good unblocking. The sink was slightly cracked. the rest of the room was absolutely fine. Bed was very comfy. Very central

  • Adam D

  • October 2013

Great Place To Stay

Great location, free and easy parking.

Close to local bars and attractions. The hotel was clean and good facilities for the price it cost. The staff were also very friendly.

  • M Barnett

  • October 2013

Town centre hotel

The only food on offer was breakfast which I was unable to have as it was served after my departure time.

It's time more hotels recognised that people staying for business purposes need more flexibility about this. For evening meals, one is required to go out to local eateries. A comprehensive list of local resteraunts would be helpful.