No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Newgate Hotel - Newcastle Upon Tyne

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
NEWGATE STREET , NEWCASTLE UPON TYNE, NE1 5SX
With free parking right in the centre of Newcastle, The Newgate Hotel offers modern rooms with coffee makers. Newcastle’s central shopping and nightlife can all be reached within a 10-minute walk.

The Gate, with its bars, shops, and cinema, is just a 2-minute walk away, and Eldon Square shopping centre is 5 minutes away on foot. Newcastle Rail and Metro Station is a 5-minute walk, and the Metro Radio Arena is 15 minutes’ walk away.

Each room includes a private bathroom with a hairdryer. Guests can relax with a TV in the room, along with a work desk and tea/coffee.

Full English breakfasts are served in The Rooftop Restaurant with panoramic views over Newcastle city centre. The Terrace Bar provides free Wi-Fi, Sky channels on a large-screen TV, and a wide range of drinks.

Please note that all bookings of 3 rooms or more will be required to pay
a cash security deposit upon arrival at the hotel. Further information
will be provided once a reservation has been confirmed
Picture of Newgate Hotel - Newcastle Upon Tyne, NEWCASTLE UPON TYNE at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 123 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
47% recommended this accommodation to a friend 55% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A good basic hotel
Nice and central, excellent value, room was clean and comfortable, good shower, a very nice budget stay. There was an issue on checking in, in that our laterooms.com booking hadn't made it on to their system, but thankfully there was room for us as the expected rate.

Reviewed by
Paul M

From Hitchin, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great hotel
Always a pleasure to stay in this hotel, good friendly staff, would recommend this hotel.

Reviewed by
B Hargreaves

From Derby, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

hotel was clean staff friendly well situated town center and trains
room was comfortable however the bathroom had a broken tile which made tt look grubby. the breakfast was good, staff were helpful and friendly.

Reviewed by
william chapman

From Sheffield, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Watch for wrong postcode
I had to park near so that I could walk to the hotel to get directions. My NEW SATNAV did not recognise the code and was given another when I arrived, plus a map to get me into the free parking area. All said, the free parking is a real bonus as you can get stung for £16 in other cities. To be honest the staff had obviously had this issue before and had maps available but I was quite wound up when I got there. The hotel itself looks like its on its last legs with large spaces unused as you walk to the dining area.
Staff are friendly and helpful and breakfast was OK so if we were in the area I would use this again but the area is a bit on the downside and away from the more cosmopolitan upgraded parts of the city. Its trying but not hard enough to attract it cliental.

Reviewed by
N Clarke

From Kidderminster, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Value for Location
Not the easiest to find, but when finally got there secure car park was a great start. Ok the hotel perhaps isn't in it's prime anymore but still ok and location is great. Out onto the street right by just about all you could ask for all within a few minutes walk.

Reviewed by
Carl Watson

From Cleator moor, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great city stay
If you're looking to stay somewhere central this is the place for you. Rooms are clean, maintenance fixed any issues I had quickly and within minutes. It's right in the heart of the city perfect for group stays and business people

Reviewed by
holly m

From UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hotel was very shabby, thread bare carpets, grubby wall and very tired. Room itself was clean

Reviewed by
A Thomas

From UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

good location good breakfast good parking and the room was okay

Reviewed by
Brian T

From Penicuik, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Frayed round the edges
The Newgate Hotel is in a great position in Newcastle, being right in the City Centre. However, one taxi driver commented to us that it was the only hotel in town that had had no money spent on it in recent years and this showed. Very shabby, although it was clean and the staff were great. Good that it has free parking as well which was a bonus. No air conditioning meant that the window was kept open overnight which resulted in a very poor nights sleep as the streets were busy with party goers until the early hours. On top of this, the recycling lorry picking up the large bins full of empty bottles nearly caused a coronary at 4am as we thought a tank had rolled over the cars in the car park - the noise was deafening. Generally run down and in need of some TLC. It could be a fantastic hotel as it has some great features but seems that there has been no investment in it for a long time.

Reviewed by
Fiona C

From Edinburgh, Scotland
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

brilliant
Staff were great helpful, free parking, rooms clean and tidy , close to everything (the gate, eldon sq, quayside) will defo be booking here again.. Verry verry happy !

Reviewed by
j heslop

From Carlisle, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 Next