No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Marwell Hotel - a Bespoke Hotel

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Owslebury , Winchester, SO21 1JY
The 67 bedroomed hotel, offers a range of dining options, including 'The Dining Room' restaurant, bar and lounge and 24 hour room service.

All rooms are comfortable, en-suite with bath and shower and well equipped, with digital freeview television, complimentary tea and coffee, internet access, iron and ironing board and hairdryer and overlook the surrounding gardens.

The leisure centre offers complimentary use of the swimming pool, sauna, Jacuzzi and treadmills to all hotel guests.

With 5 Function and Conference rooms, the Marwell Hotel is the ideal choice for your wedding, function or conference.

The hotel golf centre, with two 18 hole golf courses, driving range, pro shop and Greenside Bar and Restaurant is just 5 minutes away

Picture of Marwell Hotel - a Bespoke Hotel, Winchester at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 72 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
83% recommended this accommodation to a friend 85% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Family break to Peppa Pig World without the crowds
We decided to stay here for the overnight element of a 2-day break to Peppa Pig World as we left everything until the last minute but we lived the fact that the hotel was a 20 min 'air gap'. Hotel was lovely albeit our room was a little basic (plastic fittings on door and old bathroom it was very functional and beds were very comfy. Kids had fun in bunk beds too. We went for a dip in the pool which was a treat. Breakfast was lovely and plentiful but a busy smoking area directly outside the reception spoiled our hopes of a breakfast in the garden. This really was the only thing that let this hotel down. Maybe info about visiting the zoo would be usefil in the rooms?

Reviewed by
Sarah M

From Aylesbury, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent Food, Tired Accomodation
The room looked very worn, paper peeling from the walls, bathroom in need of updating and smelt a bit "fusty". However the beds were very comfortable, kids loved the bunk beds (although a reading light for the top bunk would be a suggestion)
The food was lovely we had 2 breakfasts and an evening meal which although not cheap was delicious and beautifully presented.
The leisure facilities were great too ..

Reviewed by
Katherine W

From Shipley, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great for family, ok for out of town business traveller
Staff are enthusiastic. polite and professional. Food is above average. Room was clean and well presented. Nice to have real chocolate drink in the room, would have been better if everything was replenished each day.
Kids are well catered for with organised games and films etc.
The venue is a bit hard to find at night, but as a cheap alternative to expensive Southampton - this is an excellent option about 20 mins drive from town.
Stay here again? Definately. Recommend? Also yes, especially for families.

Reviewed by
Alan G

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A lovely location, large rooms and friendly welcome. Different from the usual large chain hotels with great space and play areas for children.

Reviewed by
Elaine B

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very good

Reviewed by
Jessie Osullivan

From Barry, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent place to stay with a family
This hotel was perfect for us. We spent the day at the zoo (only a few yards from the hotel) and then went to Peppa Pig World the following day.
We couldn't fault the cleanliness of the room and the bed was really comfy. I saw previous comments about the decor; yes its a bit dated but that didn't bother us. The curtains were lovely and thick so they blacked out the room (great when travelling with a 3 yr old), the room was a good size and had everything we needed.
The best part of this hotel has to be the staff - every member of staff that we had contact with were friendly and helpful. All of them were great with our son and made a real effort to interact with him.
I would definitely recommend this hotel to others and I would consider staying here again. It gave us the perfect start to our holiday.

Reviewed by
F Morgan

From Banbury, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good hotel
Nice big rooms, friendly staff

Reviewed by
C Lacey

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Reception - initially overcharged in error on as-booked price on arrival. Twin bed room requested but initially not provided.
Mattresses etc. left outside room in public access area.
Young staff trying 'too hard' to please.
Cooked food just satisfactory at breakfast
Shaving mirror light and bedside light - bulbs not working.

Reviewed by
P Cooper

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Comfortable room, with a children's package. Clean and with enough space.

Reviewed by
C Smith

From France
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A disappointing experience
This is a lovely hotel in a beautiful woodland setting, and the room we had was a good size and nicely furnished. The room itself was clean, but we opened the door to the balcony/fire escape to be met by a curtain of cobwebs. As this was a working time for us we ordered room service breakfast for 6.30 as we needed to be on our way by 7.30. At 6.45 I checked outside our door to find the breakfast order had not been collected despite us having made sure it was placed well within the time requested. I went immediately to reception staff who promised food would be with us very soon - it was vastly different from what we had ordered but we had no choice but to deal with this. On the upside we were allowed to take the newspaper we had ordered free (value £1.50).
Despite these reservations we would still be likely to stay here again - though not for a business stay which might need an early start.

Reviewed by
Paul N

From Basingstoke, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Next