No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Marwell Hotel - a Bespoke Hotel

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Owslebury , Winchester, SO21 1JY
The 67 bedroomed hotel, offers a range of dining options, including 'The Dining Room' restaurant, bar and lounge and 24 hour room service.

All rooms are comfortable, en-suite with bath and shower and well equipped, with digital freeview television, complimentary tea and coffee, internet access, iron and ironing board and hairdryer and overlook the surrounding gardens.

The leisure centre offers complimentary use of the swimming pool, sauna, Jacuzzi and treadmills to all hotel guests.

With 5 Function and Conference rooms, the Marwell Hotel is the ideal choice for your wedding, function or conference.

The hotel golf centre, with two 18 hole golf courses, driving range, pro shop and Greenside Bar and Restaurant is just 5 minutes away

Picture of Marwell Hotel - a Bespoke Hotel, Winchester at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 99 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
84% recommended this accommodation to a friend 86% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very dated!
Dated decor, bathrooms definitely need replacing, mattress was like sleeping on edge of cliff. Quite depressing feeling and felt like I was in an old people's home. Would have been nice if receptionist gave proper instructions like the fact that room was upstairs, took ages to find room in drafty corridors. I was really disappointed and wouldn't return.

Reviewed by
K Gates

From Woking, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great family weekend at Marwell hotel
We booked one night stay for a mini-break at the end of half-term. While room itself was tired, the friendly service, great hot pool, value for money and good food in the restaurant more than made up for it. Perfect next to zoo.

Reviewed by
C Briggs

From London, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Marwell Hotel - a Bespoke Hotel
Buffet breakfast is ok if your early . But if your a late riser it could be cold.

Reviewed by
M Saker

From Ringwood, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Marwell Hotel - a Bespoke Hotel
Enjoyable time well worth it

Reviewed by
Karolyn Morison

From Fareham, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Have kids? Stay here!
Visited Winchester recently and stayed at the Marwell Hotel, which turned out to be the most family friendly hotel we have ever stayed in! We were presented with a pic 'n' mix for our little boy on arrival. When we entered the room there was a large fun pack on the bed full of stickers and activities. The heated pool was actually heated! (We have stayed at various hotels that claim to have a heated pool with water that was tepid at best). The Marwell's pool is heated to 29.5 degrees. There is a splash party for kids for an hour each afternoon, and the best bit - there are no restrictions on the times children can swim in the pool. They even had a games room for kids where they could watch CeeBeebies and also had bean bags, hula hoops, ping pong table etc. The food in the restaurant was excellent and the proximity to Marwell Zoo is great - it's just a short walk across the car park. You can buy tickets in the hotel which avoids having to queue at the zoo. Our one criticism was that the decor in our room was very dated (we stayed in room 303) as was the bathroom, although the room was very clean. Everything else was so good that the old-fashioned room did not bother us too much. We have already booked another weekend there in the Spring but have booked a more expensive room which we imagine will be more modern. We really enjoyed our stay at the Marwell and the staff could not have been more friendly and attentive.

Reviewed by
H Holleman

From UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great fun
Our 3rd stay here. The room was spacious enough for 2 adults & 2 children.
Nice clean white bedding & towels.
The room decoration could do with a fresh up, but was kept clean.
The breakfast was lovely. As were the staff.
We used the pool twice, had a run round the play area.
The kids were given a bag of sweets & a activity pack on arrival & after swimming a film was put on upstairs & drinks & popcorn supplied.
We will stay again.

Reviewed by
Denise M

From Bromley, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A standard room but a top dining experience!
A character hotel resembling a large safari lodge. The standard bedroom was large but the shower was erratic, there was no mirror within range of the fixed basic hair dryer. The tarrif rates were confusing, we paid £94 for a one night stay with breakfast and a further £95 for dinner, but noted that there were special offers for far less which included entry tickets for the zoo. However, we had a grand stay and the Dinner menu and dinner was truly fine dining and well worth the money. The staff were friendly and efficient.

Reviewed by
John Willison

From UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Staying at the zoo
It's not quite as the web site presents it. But, if you put the cold corridors, the tired bathroom in the bedrooms, and the out of date swimming pool and gym to one side. The young staff were superb, the bar was very relaxing (and child friendly), and the breakfast in the morning was superb. If they spent a little on the accommodation and the leisure club, then this would be a great place to stay.

Reviewed by
Brian T

From Wokingham, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Bespoke
Very nice, friendly staff and good food. Slightly cold in the room though it was freezing weather. Thank you.

Reviewed by
A Owen

From Sleaford, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Always a nice place to visit, all round good value and it manages to not compromise that lovely hotel feel by being child friendly. Will come back again and again...

Reviewed by
Emily w

From Brighton, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Family with young children

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next