No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Marwell Hotel - a Bespoke Hotel

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Owslebury , Winchester, SO21 1JY
The 67 bedroomed hotel, offers a range of dining options, including 'The Dining Room' restaurant, bar and lounge and 24 hour room service.

All rooms are comfortable, en-suite with bath and shower and well equipped, with digital freeview television, complimentary tea and coffee, internet access, iron and ironing board and hairdryer and overlook the surrounding gardens.

The leisure centre offers complimentary use of the swimming pool, sauna, Jacuzzi and treadmills to all hotel guests.

With 5 Function and Conference rooms, the Marwell Hotel is the ideal choice for your wedding, function or conference.

The hotel golf centre, with two 18 hole golf courses, driving range, pro shop and Greenside Bar and Restaurant is just 5 minutes away

Picture of Marwell Hotel - a Bespoke Hotel, Winchester at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 75 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
84% recommended this accommodation to a friend 86% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Different
The zoo or should I say the safari theme works well.
But is in need of some TLC now as the rooms are tired.
Food was good, but I was not told about the £10.99 steak deal and a glass of wine.
Breakfast great.

Reviewed by
Richard Holliday

From Thornton Cleveleys, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely place to stay. A lolly legit run down I. Rooms , could do with a bathroom upgrade.

Reviewed by
J Vibrans

From , UK
Who stayed in November 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Would visit again.
We visited as part of a wedding party, though we only stayed for one night we were impressed by the service and quality of the room. The breakfast was also good quality and the staff were eager to help.
The hotel is literally on the other side of the road to the zoo (Marwell Zoo) so is a perfect place to stay if you are visiting, it also has a spa and swimming pool which although we didn't use, seemed reasonably priced. The décor of the hotel is modern with an African twist so adds to the zoo atmosphere.

Reviewed by
D Towers

From Ramsgate, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent hotel, lovely stay
Our room was immaculate with lots of extras, iron and ironing board, a hair dryer, tea and coffee facilities, option of room service and breakfast in bed, although our order was lost but as soon as we called down it was brought up promptly. The food in the restraunt was absolutely perfect though I would say slightly over priced. All round a good stay.

Reviewed by
R King

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

family wedding
Having stayed before ,we hoped it would be as good as last time and we were not disappointed.

Reviewed by
Paul Dallow

From Southampton, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Perfect
All good no problem with anything

Reviewed by
m berg

From Downham Market, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Marwell will now always be a special place for us!
My partner and I decided last minute to treat ourselves to a night in a hotel as this is something we rarely do. Marwell was so perfect for us. We are both nature-lovers and to feel like we were sleeping in a cabin in the woods was exactly our kind of environment. The staff were lovely and went above and beyond to make sure we had everything we needed. When it came to breakfast we realised that although when we'd ordered it the night before and asked if they do black pudding which they said they didn't, well they obviously went the extra mile to get us some. It was a lovely gesture and a nice surprise to wake up to. We halve both agreed that this is a place we will always come back to.

Reviewed by
Hannah Whitchurch

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great stay
Although I only stayed at the Marwell for one night, I was very impressed with the room, the customer service and the hotel in itself. Would highly recommend.

Reviewed by
Cathryn R

From Glossop, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Family break to Peppa Pig World without the crowds
We decided to stay here for the overnight element of a 2-day break to Peppa Pig World as we left everything until the last minute but we lived the fact that the hotel was a 20 min 'air gap'. Hotel was lovely albeit our room was a little basic (plastic fittings on door and old bathroom it was very functional and beds were very comfy. Kids had fun in bunk beds too. We went for a dip in the pool which was a treat. Breakfast was lovely and plentiful but a busy smoking area directly outside the reception spoiled our hopes of a breakfast in the garden. This really was the only thing that let this hotel down. Maybe info about visiting the zoo would be usefil in the rooms?

Reviewed by
Sarah M

From Aylesbury, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent Food, Tired Accomodation
The room looked very worn, paper peeling from the walls, bathroom in need of updating and smelt a bit "fusty". However the beds were very comfortable, kids loved the bunk beds (although a reading light for the top bunk would be a suggestion)
The food was lovely we had 2 breakfasts and an evening meal which although not cheap was delicious and beautifully presented.
The leisure facilities were great too ..

Reviewed by
Katherine W

From Shipley, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Next