No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Crown & Mitre Hotel

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
4 English Street , Carlisle, CA3 8AG
The Crown and Mitre Hotel, Carlisle offers the perfect mix of Edwardian grandeur, beautiful original features including a real log fire and elegant sweeping stair case plus all the modern comforts of home to create a relaxed and welcoming atmosphere. Ideally situated for both business and pleasure, with a thriving shopping center, varied night life and popular historical attractions including Hadrian’s wall, Carlisle Castle and Cathedral and the delights of the Lake District are just a stone’s throw from the hotel.

At the end of the day, whether you've been hard at work or busy sight-seeing, why not enjoy a relaxing drink in our Tavern Bar or book a table in the Peace and Plenty Restaurant where we offer a tempting, mouth watering menu of both English and Continental cuisine, We also have a room service menu offering light snacks and hearty main meals. sandwiches available 24 hours a day.

Our other facilities include our recently refurbished swimming pool and Jacuzzi and an onsite secure car park to the rear of the hotel, both of which are free to use for all guests of the hotel.
Picture of Crown & Mitre Hotel, Carlisle at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since June 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 43 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
73% recommended this accommodation to a friend 76% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Clean, comfortable and safe
This hotel was perfectly positioned for my stay. In the centre, close to everything including shops and cathedral. The room was clean, quiet and not overheated. It was comfortable, and I felt very safe. An important point for someone travelling alone.

Reviewed by
Anne J

From Launceston, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very good quiet stay
Lovely and quiet

Reviewed by
Kath C

From UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Ie Accommodatir

Reviewed by
Alan B

From Morecambe, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great value for money
The room did everything that was promised. Also free secure overnight parking. Hotel right in the middle of the city centre. Easy walk to station, cathedral, castle and the best of the shops.

Reviewed by
Robert C

From UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Accommodation at Crown and Mitre
Absolutely lovely. Room was for single occupancy but adequate space, spacious bathroom and generous, comfy bed! Cosy and comfortable and very clean. Hot water on tap. Great breakfast and very good dinner on the one night I dined there with a guest. Staff delightful - what really impressed me was the no fuss quiet efficiency and friendly service. Perfect location in the city - everything I wanted to do (including station) was no more than 5 minutes walk.

Reviewed by
Judith A

From UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Highly recommended
Loved the hotel - fab architecture. The rooms were modern and up-to-date with everything needed. The hotel is in the middle of Carlisle, which means easy walking distance to majority of venue's and eating places. We used the pool and jacussi in the morning before breakfast and then walked to the train station. Highly recommended.

Reviewed by
H Fitzsimons

From England
Who stayed in November 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wonderful character hotel
I love this hotel. Wonderful character, brilliant staff, central location, excellent pool.

Reviewed by
L Scott

From Hexham, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Stayed her before and will be back again
Building is currently having work done on it, but this did not affect my stay. very polite staff and service was excellent.

Reviewed by
P Hudson

From Leigh, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good choice in Carlisle
A decent hotel in Carlisle, with good rooms. Toiletries provided were very good. Convenient for the railway station, which I was using. Work taking place outside the hotel may mean the unwary may have trouble finding the entrance at present.

Reviewed by
Jeff P

From Manchester, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good Hotel
Great hotel for location and price
pool area was great to relax after a busy day
was in one of the rooms on the outside of the hotel and was newly renovated and great size
very good value for money overall

Reviewed by
Adam G

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 Next