You have not entered any valid search criteria.

Please enter a keyword and perform your search again.

Reviews - Crown & Mitre Hotel

3

4 English Street, Carlisle, CA3 8AG

Price From 124.81 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (33)

94% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • Dennis Toye

  • July 2016

Pleasant weekend

Extremely comfortable with an excellent location.

Slightly disappointed that we were given twin beds rather than the double we'd requested but set against the hotels high quality service this is a detail.

Breakfast and customer service extremely good.

  • E Moore

  • May 2016

A treat

Staff, accommodation, little touches to make it personal (welcome drink of wine on arrival) couldn't find fault with every aspect of our stay.

But along with the white dressing robes, hot chocolate in the drinks caddy, as a non tea n coffee drinker this was A1. Cleanliness and space were greatly appreciated

  • Daniel Posthill

  • April 2016

Very accommodatinig

A very accommodating and friendly hotel.

The staff were great who welcomed us and offered to take out bags. The beds were comfortable and the rooms were cosy would highly recommend this hotel to anyone who is in the Carlisle area.

  • C Taylor

  • March 2016

crown and mitre

Great hotel lovely staff.

Couple of upgrades to the rooms would make it even better.

  • David Leckie

  • February 2016

Crown & Mitre Hotel

The hotel is set in a nice central setting .lovely pool & Jacuzzi,great breakfast ,one complaint on arrival our room was covered in long black hair mainly in the bathroom .

  • DAVID L

  • February 2016

CROWN & MITRE

I stayed at this hotel about 15 years ago and it was a bit "tired" then so was pleasantly surprised at the refurbishment.

Our room was very big and the walk-in shower [ as requested when we booked ] was excellent. The hotel is in a good position for walking round Carlisle. It was nice to have dedicated free parking in the centre of a city.

  • Anita D

  • January 2016

Excellent value for money

Lovely hotel, Great location for shopping and having a look around Carlisle.

The Jacuzzi and Pool were spotless and plenty of towels, Lots to choose from from both bar and restaurant menus. Breakfast was a bit expensive at £8.95 each only because i dont eat a lot, but there was lots of choices so if you are a big eater, you can fill your boots .

Staff very accommodating, and friendly..

  • janet m

  • November 2015

team really friendly. nice atmosphere in the hotel.

  • P Jones

  • September 2015

Good quality if slightly faded hotel

The Crown and Mitre is a beautiful hotel which was clearly once rather grand.

It is now rather tired looking but the service provided was excellent and, for the price, it is excellent value. It is ideally located for those who want to explore beautiful Carlisle.

  • Hazel C

  • August 2015

Noisiest room I've ever stayed in

The hotel car park was really difficult to find so I was a bit hassled by the time I arrived.

the check-in desk in reception is tucked away in a corner and seems to only ever be manned by one person causing queues to build up and considerable waiting time - even just to ask a question. The stair carpet is getting pretty threadbare in places so the hotel has a bit of a shabby air to it. Our room seemed ok but with no air con we had to leave a window open and the noise was incredible. At first I thought the bin lorry had arrive but it went on and on so I can only assume it was normal kitchen/glass disposal/bar noise. Staff communication walkie-talkie radios could be heard blaring in the corridor outside our room from early on so little chance of a peaceful lie-in. Checking out took a while because of a queue and we were asked if we needed to get our car out of the car park, which we did. We were told someone would be straight out to unlock the gate and let us out. I had to go back in twice to remind them we were still waiting and 20 minutes into the wait, following my second return, the Duty Manager agreed to let us out. There was no proper apology for the ridiculous wait, just an explanation of how the system 'should' work (which it obviously wasn't). Customer service in this hotel is sadly lacking and there's a worn down, uncaring vibe from the staff so something has gone wrong and needs looking at.