No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Crown & Mitre Hotel

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
4 English Street , Carlisle, CA3 8HZ
The Crown and Mitre Hotel, Carlisle offers the perfect mix of Edwardian grandeur, beautiful original features including a real log fire and elegant sweeping stair case plus all the modern comforts of home to create a relaxed and welcoming atmosphere. Ideally situated for both business and pleasure, with a thriving shopping center, varied night life and popular historical attractions including Hadrian’s wall, Carlisle Castle and Cathedral and the delights of the Lake District are just a stone’s throw from the hotel.

At the end of the day, whether you've been hard at work or busy sight-seeing, why not enjoy a relaxing drink in our Tavern Bar or book a table in the Peace and Plenty Restaurant where we offer a tempting, mouth watering menu of both English and Continental cuisine, We also have a room service menu offering light snacks and hearty main meals. sandwiches available 24 hours a day.

Our other facilities include our recently refurbished swimming pool and Jacuzzi and an onsite secure car park to the rear of the hotel, both of which are free to use for all guests of the hotel.
Picture of Crown & Mitre Hotel, Carlisle at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 36 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
71% recommended this accommodation to a friend 73% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

good service
excellent service from the cleaner, the rooms was very clean and kept clean during our stay

Reviewed by
c bryson

From Doncaster, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Hotel was fine but I was not warned of the building works to the outside of the building. It was very noisy from 7am and there were workmen walking past the bedroom window on scaffolding platforms from early which meant all curtains and windows were shut on one of the hottest days of the year.

Reviewed by
tony wallace

From Bexley, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Weekend in Carlisle
Friendly and helpful Staff, Ideal location

Reviewed by
Andrew E

From Uxbridge, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Centrally located, old-town hotel; decor a little faded in places, but clean and tidy . Comfortable bedroom, though a trifle airless. Efficient, friendly and helpful staff. Good breakfast choice - buffet plus a choice of other items from the menu.

Reviewed by
A Davison

From Manchester, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Central Location, very friendly helpful staff.
Feel relaxed and at ease when eating alone in the bar

Reviewed by
Lynn S

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Crown and mitre hotel
Staff, accommodation extremely good. excellently situated right in the centre. Would recommend this hotel to anyone who has slight walking difficulties as shops are very convenient and on the door step

Reviewed by
I Parker

From Barrow-in-Furness, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice hotel
Nice hotel with friendly staff. I got there late and was a little disappointed to find that the 24 hour room service didn't include hot food. My room was big and spacious and bed very comfy. The walls are very thin though - I could here the person next door having a wee! Overall it was fine and I would stay there again. Staff are very helpful

Reviewed by
N Joyce

From Abingdon, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

paper walls
Walls were that thin that next door room kept me awake all night with their snoring, also rowdy guests until 4.30am. Car park nightmare to find. Not worth the money

Reviewed by
M Williams

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Overnight
The hotel staff were good but after a long journey we wanted to eat meal in the hotel but was
Told there was no room which meant we had to go out on a freezing night.

Reviewed by
P B

From England
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

over priced tired hotel
I perhaps expected too much for the price paid. But threadbare carpets on entry to the hotel do not fill you with hope. This unfortunately was continued throughout the hotel.
on arrival I was then informed I would have to pay an extra £7.50 for breakfast on top of what I consider to be a high rate. I stay in hotels every week and feel this was overpriced for the standard. Upon checkout I explained my discontent with the additional charge for breakfast whilst the couple next to me were complaining of the standard of their re-furbished room! Not a good sign for the refurbishment! The Manager did call me and asked me to search laterooms to see that hotels do not say anything if breakfast isn't included which I feel is devious and misrepresentation of charges.

Reviewed by
D Clegg

From York, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 Next