You have not entered any valid search criteria.

Please enter your destination and perform your search again.

Reviews - Crown & Mitre Hotel


4 English Street, Carlisle, CA3 8AG

Price From 183.35 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (26)

92% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • Diane J

  • October 2016

Crown & Mitre Hotel

Excellent location with free parking and upgraded bedrooms.

The staff were great, very friendly. Free car park was excellent and the guy who met up offered to take in our luggage. We had an upgraded room which was great, there is a lot of evidence of work going on. The location is brilliant, easy walking to the centre, bars and restaurants. The only downside, and a big one when you are treating yourself to a weekend away was the quality of the breakfast. We were crammed in a meeting room, we hade to squeeze past tables to get to the buffet tables. the food choice was very limited and poor. There were four in our party and only two eggs and one piece of black pudding with no signs of a top up. My bacon was hard and tasteless. we paid extra for breakfast - it was not worth it.

  • Dennis Toye

  • July 2016

Pleasant weekend

Extremely comfortable with an excellent location.

Slightly disappointed that we were given twin beds rather than the double we'd requested but set against the hotels high quality service this is a detail.

Breakfast and customer service extremely good.

  • E Moore

  • May 2016

A treat

Staff, accommodation, little touches to make it personal (welcome drink of wine on arrival) couldn't find fault with every aspect of our stay.

But along with the white dressing robes, hot chocolate in the drinks caddy, as a non tea n coffee drinker this was A1. Cleanliness and space were greatly appreciated

  • Daniel Posthill

  • April 2016

Very accommodatinig

A very accommodating and friendly hotel.

The staff were great who welcomed us and offered to take out bags. The beds were comfortable and the rooms were cosy would highly recommend this hotel to anyone who is in the Carlisle area.

  • C Taylor

  • March 2016

crown and mitre

Great hotel lovely staff.

Couple of upgrades to the rooms would make it even better.

  • David Leckie

  • February 2016

Crown & Mitre Hotel

The hotel is set in a nice central setting .lovely pool & Jacuzzi,great breakfast ,one complaint on arrival our room was covered in long black hair mainly in the bathroom .


  • February 2016


I stayed at this hotel about 15 years ago and it was a bit "tired" then so was pleasantly surprised at the refurbishment.

Our room was very big and the walk-in shower [ as requested when we booked ] was excellent. The hotel is in a good position for walking round Carlisle. It was nice to have dedicated free parking in the centre of a city.

  • Anita D

  • January 2016

Excellent value for money

Lovely hotel, Great location for shopping and having a look around Carlisle.

The Jacuzzi and Pool were spotless and plenty of towels, Lots to choose from from both bar and restaurant menus. Breakfast was a bit expensive at £8.95 each only because i dont eat a lot, but there was lots of choices so if you are a big eater, you can fill your boots .

Staff very accommodating, and friendly..

  • janet m

  • November 2015

team really friendly. nice atmosphere in the hotel.

  • P Jones

  • September 2015

Good quality if slightly faded hotel

The Crown and Mitre is a beautiful hotel which was clearly once rather grand.

It is now rather tired looking but the service provided was excellent and, for the price, it is excellent value. It is ideally located for those who want to explore beautiful Carlisle.