Reviews - VILLAGE URBAN RESORT Newcastle


Cobalt Business Park Silverlink, Newcastle Upon Tyne, NE27 0BY

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (83)

82% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • Richard W

  • December 2014

The bees knees

Helpful staff great food nice room to, would stay again if in the area

  • Chris O

  • December 2014

Lights anyone?

I got room 150, disabled bathroom which was fine., lots of space & nice & bright which was very useful as I had to go in there to work as the rest of the room was very dark....

Broadband was also very slow and limited TV choice. Room is great to just get your head down for the night but useless for a business trip.


  • December 2014

Price we were charged for a disabled room ( no bath) was daylight robbery.

The food at breakfast was Cold and there was no side plates for toast.

  • Paul L

  • November 2014

Good stay

A bit pricey at £125, but comfortable, generally very clean and facilities seem good (free wifi, breakfast included, etc., although why do so many hotels not have a power socket by the bed?).

Receptionist on check-in very helpful. Hotel generally very clean, although the carpet in my room had a crusty brown stain on it that a bit of elbow grease would doubtless shift, and the bathroom was a bit tired. Ignore the message on the wall about the water being very hot BTW - it's not, sadly, so absolutely no risk of injury on that score.

Breakfast was good, although nobody on desk to see us in or explain that drinks are brought to table.

Overall, a decent stay, but some attention to detail (and a bathroom refurb) would make this even better, and better justify what's a reasonably hefty price tag for the north-east.

  • R Holgate

  • November 2014

Happy Stay

Gym & Spa Very Pleasant along with staff

  • C Davis

  • November 2014

Nice room, not such a 'Victory' though!

As I have come to expect from Village hotels, the room was very good and the sports facilities excellent.

The meal I had at the Victory pub was rather less so. In fact. I had breakfast at Morrison's cafe next morning, it cost less than half what I paid for my meal the previous night and was superb by comparison. It was freshly cooked which was more than I could say for my garlic bread. Maybe the chef had been otherwise engaged by the function on that evening; either way, I wish I had gone elsewhere for my evening meal!

  • D Butchart

  • October 2014

Okay Stay

Hotel was okay.

Reception staff were not too friendly and the process to check me in was under 5 minutes. Dinner was poor and not too tasty and was not as described in the menu which was disappointing. I have stayed here before but I think standards have slipped as it used to be fine

  • A Richards

  • October 2014

Fab but dark , dark room

After a hard day's work covering many miles it was a delight to be greeted at reception and offered a welcome glass of wine whilst checking in .

As I looked like a pack mule with suitcase , laptop etc I was offered assistance to my room . Used the pool which was one of the best in the area and had room service for dinner which was great . My only criticism was that it was a beautiful summer's evening and the decor , whilst attractive was so , so dark (chocolate , teal colours) with chunky wooden venetian blinds. So I pulled the blind right up to open the window and let some light in and the window frame was really dirty . I brought it to their attention on leaving as the staff were super and the cleanliness of the room was otherwise great . I would book in again as I'm up there every month - but maybe across the winter months when that decor wouldn't be an issue!

  • L Bennett

  • October 2014

the Village experience

I have stayed at this Village Hotel before and enjoyed the experience but it is a bit expensive for frequent stays when visiting family in North Shields.

So I was delighted to get a late deal for 1 night at a very good price and we even had time for a swim. I was also delighted to hear there are three new Village Hotels opening in central Scotland in the near future.

  • Stella C

  • October 2014

We spent a very comfortable 2 nights at The Urban Village.

Pleasantly surprised at the quiet, comfort and space of the bedroom.