No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Eight Acres Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Morriston Road , Elgin, IV30 6UL
Eight Acres is the largest hotel in Speyside, offering a wide range of first class accommodation with newly refurbished bedrooms and public areas.

Situated on the western approaches to Elgin, with a large car park it makes us the perfect place to stay and 'experience life the Speyside way'.

Whether you wish to relax and pamper yourself or find muscles you never knew existed our leisure centre boasts a 15 metre swimming pool, spa bath, sauna, solarium, gymnasium and squash courts.
Picture of Eight Acres Hotel, Elgin at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 43 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
57% recommended this accommodation to a friend 65% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Dogs
Had a great time at this lovely hotel,it was made all the more enjoyable as we were allowed to take our dog,for many years we have not gone to hotels as it was not possible to take dogs,now I have found this place I can have more weekend breaks,many thanks Marina

Reviewed by
Marina Macleod

From Fort William, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hotel with lots to offer.
Staff were friendly and helpful. Breakfast was enjoyable. A bit confusing though. Saturday porridge was available but not available on Sunday. The room was clean but needed just a little TLC. The hotel advertises a spa but we didn't make time to visit. The town of Elgin doesn't really have an area where the restaurants are all located. They are spread out so be prepared. Found a great restaurant/pub in Loussiemouth called 1629 Restaurant.

Reviewed by
Cynthia K

From USA
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very clean and comfortable room. Breakfast very good. Staff helpful and friendly. Would recommend

Reviewed by
Laura C

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We were in room 55 and it was a very long way to get to it including two sets of stairs

Reviewed by
b scott

From Orkney, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not recommended
I stayed there thinking that it looked a very nice looking place from having driven past a few time. Inside I was very disappointed especially since the full price was £95 for a single room glad to say I only paid £65 which in my opinion was too much for a single room. It was clean but the quality of the room was very poor and extremely small. A tired hotel that needs to be upgraded

Reviewed by
W Sclater

From Kirkwall, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

work in progress
reception area and lounge are of a high standard but stairwell and upstairs accommodation require repair and updating (stairwell banister joints held together with silver duck tape, bath and shower in room very dated). Breakfast was of an excellent standard with very good waiting staff but evening meal was tasteless and bland which meant we went to bed hungry. Overall a pleasant stay but cost did not reflect standards of bedroom (bit pricey for accommodation standard). Bedroom accommodation pictures on website do not reflect actual room standards. On the positive manageress and other member of staff visiting from oban were lovely and helpful same can be said for female member of waiting staff who served us our breakfast of both mornings.

Reviewed by
C Smithies

From Huntly, England
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Why don't we learn?
Having read the reviews I agreed with the hotel directly that I would book only if I was allocated a refurbished double room ( not a single)
On arrival none were available and in fact most "refurbished" rooms had been done 6 years ago so although they tried to offer alternatives all the rooms I saw were tired and shabby.
In future I need to heed advice!!!

Reviewed by
marilyn e

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

satisifed customers
This was the first time we had stayed at the Eight Acres Hotel and we would certainly tell our friends about it . The room was really nice and the food was excellant. The staff were very helpful . The staff were always there if you needed anything but never in your face asking if everything was alright which we liked.

Reviewed by
Isabel B

From Ellon, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hotel Needs upgrading. You can see it has been given a cheap makeover but heating windows & bathrooms all need replacing. The single room I had was very small and would say is over priced.
Food and service in restaurant & bar good.

Reviewed by
S Mann

From UK
Who stayed in February 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Short Stay
The room was large and clean, although just very dated especially in the bathroom. Breakfast was included in the price which was a good thing. Breakfast is expensive in this hotel. Staff helpful and friendly. No lift for getting bags into the room, stairs only to the rooms which could be difficult for some guests.

Reviewed by
Susan M

From UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 Next