No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Eight Acres Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Morriston Road , Elgin, IV30 6UL
Eight Acres is the largest hotel in Speyside, offering a wide range of first class accommodation with newly refurbished bedrooms and public areas.

Situated on the western approaches to Elgin, with a large car park it makes us the perfect place to stay and 'experience life the Speyside way'.

Whether you wish to relax and pamper yourself or find muscles you never knew existed our leisure centre boasts a 15 metre swimming pool, spa bath, sauna, solarium, gymnasium and squash courts.
Picture of Eight Acres Hotel, Elgin at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 47 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
56% recommended this accommodation to a friend 65% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Generally good
Only stayed one night and shared a twin room which was good and functional but the bathroom was a little sad with slightly mouldy ceiling and the hotel does not have a lift. Main lounge area quite attractive. Unfortunately we didn't have time for the spa.

Reviewed by
Karen G

From London, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Other than the receiptionest who was excellent, poorly trained staff and 1960s anicent decor,grubby.
This hotel is stuck in a time warp, handle fell off door, 60s furnishings, poor quality bedding, disinterested and offhand staff, evening meal was poor and the breakfast next morning a disgrace --
half cooked sausage, burnt fried egg(how you burn an egg I do not know) and cardboard bacon.
All served by a rude arrogant waitress.

Reviewed by
Ken Laird

From Dalkeith, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not as it looked on the website!
The room was very small. The bedside light did not work.
The deduction on the cost was not accurate as the prices displayed were equivalent to those on the website not a great deduction as it appeared.
Overall the hotel felt dated and had seen better days.
I asked for hard boiled eggs and got soft boiled ones.

Reviewed by
Fiona F

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Family visit
Hotel room lovely and clean. Staff were friendly apart from grumpy lady doing breakfast orders.
1 poor rate... Was it was school holiday and we had to be up early as breakfast finished at 9. Not good with a teenager and small child. Think 10 in school holidays would be better.
Over all really nice trip.

Reviewed by
D Willetts

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely weekend
We stayed at this hotel for two nights for our wedding anniversary and also a friends wedding near by. We were upgraded to a suite which was fantastic.My only complaint about the room was the bed...it was so hard and could feel lots of springs. The room very clean and comfortable apart from the bed.Restaurant staff very very friendly and helpful. Reception staff were also lovely,, only complaint about staff was when we called down to book a taxi, we were told to do it ourselves from the taxi phone at reception, as were running a bit late anyway this was a bit irritating.

Reviewed by
Christa W

From Inverness, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

eight acres more like faulty towers
This place was very poor. We stayed for three days a group of twelve golfers.On friday we came back from playing golf and went into the bar for a drink we could not find anyone to serve us and the receptionist took half an hour to find the bar staff after which when we asked for or order we were told there was no guiness or heavy bear [this was for the three days we where there] then the lager went off and it took another half hour to fix. On sat. morning at breakfast it took three quarters of an hour to serve most of of or group and when it came you could have played squash with the poached eggs one of our group waited an hour and could not eat the eggs when they arrived because the were cld and solid. On sat. night the staff closed the bar at eleven o,clock.

Reviewed by
william hood

From Glasgow, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not a hotel I would use normally...

Reviewed by
T K

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Replace beds/mattresses

Reviewed by
James B

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Appalling mattress
Single room very tired, esp mattress otherwise fine.

Reviewed by
James B

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly Staff ,Only had one evening meal in the bar,,the steakburger was pretty bland.Breakfast was ok
Room was fine although the shower was quite difficult to work as water was coming out of the taps and the shower tried the mixer tap and both hot and cold taps to adjust the temperature.
Hotel fine for overnight stay.

Reviewed by
JOHN G

From Glasgow, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 Next