Eight Acres Hotel

3

Morriston Road, Elgin, IV30 6UL

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Good

All reviews (37)

51% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • Alistair R

  • May 2015

Spent a comfortable evening and had a good night sleep.

  • G Cowie

  • February 2015

Eight Acres Hotel

Was a bit disappointed as came out of room in morning to be faced with a big dog from the room next door.

I am very allergic to dogs and could not understand why a hotel like this would be allowed to have pets in their room beside where other people were staying surely they should have a separate area for this.

  • Karen G

  • October 2014

Generally good

Only stayed one night and shared a twin room which was good and functional but the bathroom was a little sad with slightly mouldy ceiling and the hotel does not have a lift.

Main lounge area quite attractive. Unfortunately we didn't have time for the spa.

  • Ken Laird

  • October 2014

Other than the receiptionest who was excellent, poorly trained staff and 1960s anicent decor,grubby.

This hotel is stuck in a time warp, handle fell off door, 60s furnishings, poor quality bedding, disinterested and offhand staff, evening meal was poor and the breakfast next morning a disgrace -- half cooked sausage, burnt fried egg(how you burn an egg I do not know) and cardboard bacon.

All served by a rude arrogant waitress.

  • Fiona F

  • October 2014

Not as it looked on the website!

The room was very small.

The bedside light did not work. The deduction on the cost was not accurate as the prices displayed were equivalent to those on the website not a great deduction as it appeared. Overall the hotel felt dated and had seen better days. I asked for hard boiled eggs and got soft boiled ones.

  • D Willetts

  • October 2014

Family visit

Hotel room lovely and clean.

Staff were friendly apart from grumpy lady doing breakfast orders. 1 poor rate... Was it was school holiday and we had to be up early as breakfast finished at 9. Not good with a teenager and small child. Think 10 in school holidays would be better. Over all really nice trip.

  • Christa W

  • October 2014

Lovely weekend

We stayed at this hotel for two nights for our wedding anniversary and also a friends wedding near by.

We were upgraded to a suite which was fantastic.My only complaint about the room was the bed...it was so hard and could feel lots of springs. The room very clean and comfortable apart from the bed.Restaurant staff very very friendly and helpful. Reception staff were also lovely,, only complaint about staff was when we called down to book a taxi, we were told to do it ourselves from the taxi phone at reception, as were running a bit late anyway this was a bit irritating.

  • william hood

  • September 2014

eight acres more like faulty towers

This place was very poor.

We stayed for three days a group of twelve golfers.On friday we came back from playing golf and went into the bar for a drink we could not find anyone to serve us and the receptionist took half an hour to find the bar staff after which when we asked for or order we were told there was no guiness or heavy bear [this was for the three days we where there] then the lager went off and it took another half hour to fix. On sat. morning at breakfast it took three quarters of an hour to serve most of of or group and when it came you could have played squash with the poached eggs one of our group waited an hour and could not eat the eggs when they arrived because the were cld and solid. On sat. night the staff closed the bar at eleven o,clock.

  • T K

  • September 2014

Not a hotel I would use normally...

  • James B

  • September 2014

Appalling mattress

Single room very tired, esp mattress otherwise fine.