No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Eight Acres Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Morriston Road , Elgin, IV30 6UL
Eight Acres is the largest hotel in Speyside, offering a wide range of first class accommodation with newly refurbished bedrooms and public areas.

Situated on the western approaches to Elgin, with a large car park it makes us the perfect place to stay and 'experience life the Speyside way'.

Whether you wish to relax and pamper yourself or find muscles you never knew existed our leisure centre boasts a 15 metre swimming pool, spa bath, sauna, solarium, gymnasium and squash courts.
Picture of Eight Acres Hotel, Elgin at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 47 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
56% recommended this accommodation to a friend 65% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely weekend
We stayed at this hotel for two nights for our wedding anniversary and also a friends wedding near by. We were upgraded to a suite which was fantastic.My only complaint about the room was the bed...it was so hard and could feel lots of springs. The room very clean and comfortable apart from the bed.Restaurant staff very very friendly and helpful. Reception staff were also lovely,, only complaint about staff was when we called down to book a taxi, we were told to do it ourselves from the taxi phone at reception, as were running a bit late anyway this was a bit irritating.

Reviewed by
Christa W

From Inverness, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

eight acres more like faulty towers
This place was very poor. We stayed for three days a group of twelve golfers.On friday we came back from playing golf and went into the bar for a drink we could not find anyone to serve us and the receptionist took half an hour to find the bar staff after which when we asked for or order we were told there was no guiness or heavy bear [this was for the three days we where there] then the lager went off and it took another half hour to fix. On sat. morning at breakfast it took three quarters of an hour to serve most of of or group and when it came you could have played squash with the poached eggs one of our group waited an hour and could not eat the eggs when they arrived because the were cld and solid. On sat. night the staff closed the bar at eleven o,clock.

Reviewed by
william hood

From Glasgow, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not a hotel I would use normally...

Reviewed by
T K

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Replace beds/mattresses

Reviewed by
James B

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Appalling mattress
Single room very tired, esp mattress otherwise fine.

Reviewed by
James B

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly Staff ,Only had one evening meal in the bar,,the steakburger was pretty bland.Breakfast was ok
Room was fine although the shower was quite difficult to work as water was coming out of the taps and the shower tried the mixer tap and both hot and cold taps to adjust the temperature.
Hotel fine for overnight stay.

Reviewed by
JOHN G

From Glasgow, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

General Comment
Staff were particularly helpful & friendly.

Reviewed by
Trevor Neale

From Scunthorpe, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

hotel was adequate but rooms require a little upgrading. Ordered breakfast to the room the first morning and it didnt arrive and when mentioned to a member of staff they just shrugged there shoulders with no apology or answer as to why it did not arrive. Food was good quality in the restaurant. Speaking with other guests they had issues with their rooms and had to do a bit of changing about into other rooms after the first night as the rooms they booked were unavailable.

Reviewed by
Duncan C

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Dogs
Had a great time at this lovely hotel,it was made all the more enjoyable as we were allowed to take our dog,for many years we have not gone to hotels as it was not possible to take dogs,now I have found this place I can have more weekend breaks,many thanks Marina

Reviewed by
Marina Macleod

From Fort William, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hotel with lots to offer.
Staff were friendly and helpful. Breakfast was enjoyable. A bit confusing though. Saturday porridge was available but not available on Sunday. The room was clean but needed just a little TLC. The hotel advertises a spa but we didn't make time to visit. The town of Elgin doesn't really have an area where the restaurants are all located. They are spread out so be prepared. Found a great restaurant/pub in Loussiemouth called 1629 Restaurant.

Reviewed by
Cynthia K

From USA
Who stayed in June 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 Next