Reviews - Eight Acres Hotel


Morriston Road, Elgin, IV30 6UL

Price From 150.24 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.


All reviews (34)

53% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • Matt Farr

  • September 2015

Excellent hotel

Excellent hotel would definitely recommend this to others staff are very friendly and very helpful and the rooms are very nice and have everything you need for a short stay

Brilliant hotel would definitely stay here again

  • Trevor Neale

  • September 2015

General Comment

Really enjoyable stay, friendly & helpful staff.

Excellent value for money. My third stay at this hotel & I shall be back in 2016.

  • C Boyle

  • September 2015

Great staff. Needs updating

We have stayed at the Eight acres on quite a few ocassions.

Staff always very friendly and helpfull. Food we had breakfast which was lovely and well cooked , welcomed by nice staff and restaraunt very clean. The downstairs bar area very lovely and clean with lots of nice areas to sit at and loovely comfy chairs and sofas. However although the room was lovely and spacious we feel that it is in need of a makeover and mattress needs replacing not at all comfy which lead to not a very nice sleep.

  • L Duguid

  • August 2015

Ok Stay

Hotel in need of refurbishment.

Bathroom very dated. Mattress hard. Windows require replacing. Plenty of parking. Easy to find.

  • G Miller

  • July 2015

Eight Acres Hotel

Excellent hotel to stay, food was fantastic as was all the staff

  • Alistair R

  • May 2015

Spent a comfortable evening and had a good night sleep.

  • G Cowie

  • February 2015

Eight Acres Hotel

Was a bit disappointed as came out of room in morning to be faced with a big dog from the room next door.

I am very allergic to dogs and could not understand why a hotel like this would be allowed to have pets in their room beside where other people were staying surely they should have a separate area for this.

  • Karen G

  • October 2014

Generally good

Only stayed one night and shared a twin room which was good and functional but the bathroom was a little sad with slightly mouldy ceiling and the hotel does not have a lift.

Main lounge area quite attractive. Unfortunately we didn't have time for the spa.

  • Ken Laird

  • October 2014

Other than the receiptionest who was excellent, poorly trained staff and 1960s anicent decor,grubby.

This hotel is stuck in a time warp, handle fell off door, 60s furnishings, poor quality bedding, disinterested and offhand staff, evening meal was poor and the breakfast next morning a disgrace -- half cooked sausage, burnt fried egg(how you burn an egg I do not know) and cardboard bacon.

All served by a rude arrogant waitress.

  • Fiona F

  • October 2014

Not as it looked on the website!

The room was very small.

The bedside light did not work. The deduction on the cost was not accurate as the prices displayed were equivalent to those on the website not a great deduction as it appeared. Overall the hotel felt dated and had seen better days. I asked for hard boiled eggs and got soft boiled ones.