No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Days Inn Gretna Green - M74

Self Classified Budget Hotel Ratings explained
Gretna Service Area , Gretna Green, DG16 5HQ
Free WI-fi facilities when you book this hotel.
Luxury suite featuring Jacuzzi bath for two !!

Located within Welcome Break Service Area Gretna Green. Days Inn offers an ideally located base for exploring Gretna Green, Carlisle and the Solway Coast. Situated just over the border in Scotland.

The hotel re-opened in April 2004 after a complete re-branding.All rooms are en-suite with both bath & shower. Remote control TV and complimentary hot drinks tray in each room.

The main services offers food 24 hours a day. As for Breakfast either a continental delivered to your room for £4.95 OR experience a full cooked breakfast from £6.99 in the Eat In restaurant in the main Services. Pets are welcome here and the Hotel is approved by the AA. It's the perfect location for a complete family breakaway. At Days Inn we offer FREE parking, FREE Newspaper & a 24 hour reception. Luxury suite available. BT Openzone available throughout at a small charge.
Picture of Days Inn Gretna Green - M74, Gretna Green at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 163 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
88% recommended this accommodation to a friend 90% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic value
Stayed 2 nights for £50
Hotel has clearly been refurbished fairly recently, all nice and new.
Room was no different to other hotels in this class, travellodge etc. in terms of quality.
Mattress was soft and a bit springy for my liking, but I've recently bought a tempur mattress so I'm a bit spoilt in this department.
The room was a family room so could have easily slept 4 adults, which meant we had plenty of space as we didn't need to get the third bed out.
Only complaint was that the end of the corridor we were at smelled a little musty, probably because it was near an exit and I'll guess the workmen left it open for the whole of the refurbishment, so it'll probably dry out given a bit of time.
Staff were very friendly, but then it was north of the border, and far enough from London for people to have manners and respect, so I've come to expect nothing less.
Planning to travel from Inverness to Manchester again in November and will definitely check out this hotel again then, breaks the journey up perfectly, English travel (pain in the ass) and Scottish travel (nice countryside and pleasant driving).

Reviewed by
Paul M

From Inverness, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

For the price, fantastic value!
My wife and I stayed in Gretna for a couple of days and found our stay in the Days Inn very comfortable. There isn't a restaurant attached to the hotel but services are a 30 second walk away consisting of a Papa Johns, KFC, Burger King, Waitrose amd WHSmiths. Crisps and drinks can be purchased from the hotel lobby.
Rooms - clean, tidy and quiet.
One slight disappointment was that nowhere sold alcohol so there was no chance of a pint with our meal after a long drive up (but I suppose it is a service station!) Alcohol is aloud to be purchased elsewhere and brought into the hotel,
Overall a nice stay.

Reviewed by
Andy H

From Chester, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Staff
The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful, The hotel is ideally situated for Gretna, Annan, Carlisle and Dumfries etc. We paid £120.00 for four night's on a room only basis.... incredible value for money. Will be back again next year.
I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

Reviewed by
James Dixon

From Newcastle upon Tyne, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

we booked breakfast at £7.00 each for 2 nights total of £28.00, shocking value for money, was not very warm and was not told we did not eat on premises or we would not have booked, would never use this service again, but accommodation was value for money and will use again

Reviewed by
k osborne

From Gourock, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Weekend shopping and relaxing break
Stayed for 2 nights fri-sat at September weekend, only paid £60 for the 2 nights room was clean towels where changed and tea and coffee replenished daily, Don't really have any complaints except the bed was a bit to soft , ideal place to stay if your wanting a break away from teenagers at home with some decent places to eat near by and do some shopping at the Gretna outlet 5 mins along road we will definitely go back although all rooms are non smoking now wasent a problem as all rooms where on the ground floor and weather was dry so it was fine.

Reviewed by
k allison

From Coatbridge, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Simple and friendly
The reception staff were very friendly and helpful, Nothing was too much trouble
Everything you'd expect from a Motel at a service area. The room was clean and in good order and excellent value for money

Reviewed by
Richard C

From goole, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Close to M74/M6
Convenient and acceptable stopover.
Helpful and friendly staff.
Restaurant nearby.

Reviewed by
George D

From Letchworth Garden City, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great service
Yann, the manager is great. We were well looked after during our two night stay.

Reviewed by
R Howe

From Ardrossan, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A nice welcome break
Great Scottish hospitality. Rooms a bit dated (1970s / 80s) but more than made up for by the great staff and value for money.

Reviewed by
Andrew N

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Short break
We enjoyed our stay at Days Inn at Gretna Green. Good location and good value for money.

Reviewed by
G Charlton

From North Shields, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Family

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next