No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Palace Hotel

4AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Oxford Street , Manchester, M60 7HA
Situated right in the heart of vibrant Manchester on Oxford St, sits the iconic four-star Palace Hotel with its distinctive clock tower soaring over the Manchester skyline. For business, you are at the very centre of the commercial and business district, opposite Oxford Rd train station and just a 10 minute walk from Piccadilly station both of which are served frequently from Manchester International Airport. The hotel has the North of England's largest event space our spectacular Grand Room which can comfortably cater for up to 1000 guests, we also have a fully equipped business centre and a further 18 Conference and Event rooms perfect for a meeting, private dinner or celebration. For short break guests, you’re in an extremely convenient location to uncover everything that Manchester has to offer. The Palace Theatre is across the road, Harvey Nichols and the main shopping district is close-by as is the Opera House, Manchester Central, the MEN Arena for world-famous concerts and Bridgewater Hall, home to the amazing Halle Orchestra. For football fanatics, Manchester is home to United and City and both stadiums can be reached easily from The Palace Hotel. When there is so much to see and do, after a day exploring the city, our Tempus Bar and Restaurant is a haven to relax and unwind with its wide range of cocktails, coffees and mouth watering menu with food to suit your every mood.

Parking is available at NCP Manchester Palace Car park’ on Whitworth Street a short walk from the hotel. The reduced rate for 24 hours/Overnight car parking is £15. This is payable locally at the Hotel.
Picture of The Palace Hotel, Manchester at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 396 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
72% recommended this accommodation to a friend 73% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent value for money.
Great hotel, spacious and impressive building.
A bit noisy from the main road, however, this did not keep me awake.
Great nights sleep.

Reviewed by
Kevin W

From Cheltenham, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

a Waterhouse gem.
We thoroughly enjoyed our short stay at the Palace Hotel, designed by the same architect responsible for Manchester Town Hall and The Natural History Museum.The hotel has been sympathetically converted from its orginal use and now provides excellent convenient accommodation for visitors to central Manchester. Staff were helpful and friendly and the room was clean, with the added advantage of ironing facilities. Worth a visit just for the building itself.

Reviewed by
J B

From England
Who stayed in February 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Palace Hotel
Fantastic old building. Room was very clean and so was the bathroom. The bathroom was huge bigger than the actual bedroom. I would have no problems stopping again.

Reviewed by
Martyn Smith

From Stoke On Trent, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Beautiful, majestic hotel
The hotel is stunning, the foyer alone demands your attention. We booked very last minute, a couple of hours before setting off, yet everything was sorted out when we got there. All of the staff were pleasant, cheerful and extremely helpful. We only ate bar snacks before going out and the breakfast but could not fault any of it. Overall it was a delightful stay, if I had one thing to pick on, and I would be nit picking, it would be the bar closing at 12. We had just got back from a show, didn't want the hustle of town and just wanted a few drinks in the peace of the hotel but were only the one.

Reviewed by
J Martin

From Chorley, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great hotel and fantastic customer service
Room was generous in size, comfortable and clean bed.

Reviewed by
P Wright

From Manchester, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room service
Excellent spacious room, was charged £10 more than booking but on site on room more than happy to pay. Tried to order room service several times and it didn't materialise. Only disappointing part of my visit.

Reviewed by
Paul S

From UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Stunning Hotel
Staff were very efficient and friendly. The hotel was beautiful.

Reviewed by
J PLATT

From St Helens, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Beautiful hotel - thoroughly enjoyed the stay
Beautiful hotel with attentive staff - went the extra mile to ensure the stay was as plesant as possible. Breakfast was lovely in the morning with great service from staff providing drinks. Really happy with the experience and will definitely be booking again.

Reviewed by
Sophie W

From Alcester, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Noisy and dated
The room faced onto the main street with no double glazing to quell the noise from the drunks singing outside until 04:00. In addition to the fights and police vehicles the fact the hotel in 2015 still does not have double glazed windows especially street facing rooms is ridiculous and serves to having no sleep whatsoever. The rooms are garishly decorated and very dated.

Reviewed by
m enderby

From UK
Who stayed in February 2015

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Disgraceful customer service will never return
There's many reasons I will not return rude reception/check in staff. Tried yo put us in the wrong room, made to pay twice for our booking and still attempting to claim it back. Cold basic room with filthy matted fur bed spread and cushion. Refused drinks at the bar unless it was room service even though other people were drinking in the bar and told the bar was for paying guests/residents only and refused to accept cash as payment when they did eventually serve us. Noise all night from passionate guests above us but nothing was done by reception (this went on until 8am).

Reviewed by
E Nicholson

From York, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next