No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Palace Hotel

4AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Oxford Street , Manchester, M60 7HA
Situated right in the heart of vibrant Manchester on Oxford St, sits the iconic four-star Palace Hotel with its distinctive clock tower soaring over the Manchester skyline. For business, you are at the very centre of the commercial and business district, opposite Oxford Rd train station and just a 10 minute walk from Piccadilly station both of which are served frequently from Manchester International Airport. The hotel has the North of England's largest event space our spectacular Grand Room which can comfortably cater for up to 1000 guests, we also have a fully equipped business centre and a further 18 Conference and Event rooms perfect for a meeting, private dinner or celebration. For short break guests, you’re in an extremely convenient location to uncover everything that Manchester has to offer. The Palace Theatre is across the road, Harvey Nichols and the main shopping district is close-by as is the Opera House, Manchester Central, the MEN Arena for world-famous concerts and Bridgewater Hall, home to the amazing Halle Orchestra. For football fanatics, Manchester is home to United and City and both stadiums can be reached easily from The Palace Hotel. When there is so much to see and do, after a day exploring the city, our Tempus Bar and Restaurant is a haven to relax and unwind with its wide range of cocktails, coffees and mouth watering menu with food to suit your every mood.
Picture of The Palace Hotel, Manchester at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 454 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
72% recommended this accommodation to a friend 73% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Rooms very dated

Reviewed by
Sue C

From Goole, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Comfortable and Cosy
My girlfriend and I stayed over the night before and the night of a recent concert and managed to pick up some last minute rooms at very good prices. Having never stayed at the Palace Hotel before we were pleased and relieved upon entry to our room as the room was a lot more than we expected to get for our money. The amenities were all great and the staff we dealt with were pleasant and easy to talk to. Would definitely recommend friends and family to stay here. Even though we got late tickets for cheap, we both agreed we would likely be willing to pay full price if we had to book way in advance just to stay with the Palace Hotel again.

Reviewed by
Taran D

From Blackburn, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

My boyfriend and I felt like king and queen
Originally booked a double room and got upgraded to a double double for free as we arrived at 8:30am to drop our bags in holding, when we should have checked in our room later that day at 2pm, so instead they kindly offered us a larger room. The room was beautiful and huge, and very comfortable to stay in, everything was clean and kept t a high standard. My only complaints are there was a crack in the sink and the room was right next to the train line so the big trains were rather loud.

Reviewed by
Catherine C

From UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room excellent, location fantastic

Reviewed by
Wesley H

From Walsall, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Architecturally interesting ,very airy and spacious,food and service very good ,central location.
Architecturally interesting ,an amazing building,impressive entrance hall and stunning dining room with high draped ceiling.Evening meal served by friendly efficient waitresses.Good quality food presented well.Interesting choice of wines.
Bedroom on lower ground floor easy access ,rather small however very clean and comfortable.
Hotel well situated for shopping and theatre.

Reviewed by
Margaret Y

From UK
Who stayed in February 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We recommend this.
Having admired the "Refuge" as a building, we were keen to see how the conversion to a hotel had been carried out. We were not disappointed - the public areas were impressive, and the room was modern, well furnished and comfortable. We had breakfast there, which was buffet style with an extensive choice and of an excellent quality. Although there was no on-site parking, the recommended carpark behind the hotel was convenient and secure.

Reviewed by
G Spong

From UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Eccentric and Fun
I had a wonderful eccentric room with fabulous tiling and pillars, plus an octagonal bathroom. It was great.

Reviewed by
Gillian G

From Stone, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Our stay at the Palace
We booked our hotel stay, because we were seeing a show at the theatre next door. We booked for 2 separate occasions without any prior knowledge of the hotel. We were delighted with the service and the accommodation at the Palace, so much so that we are looking forward to our next stay in March. We've already decided that the Palace will be our base every time we stay in Manchester.

Reviewed by
A Danne

From UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely romantic stay
Booked less than 24hours before stay and got an excellent price on a deluxe room. We where going to a show at The Palace theatre so opted to have the pre theatre dinner in the hotel. Unfortunately when our main course of roast chicken arrived it was very tough and we asked for it to be sent back to the kitchen. The staff couldn't have been nicer about it and they offered to cook us a fresh dish and gave us a complimentary drink whilst we waited, the fresh chicken was lovely. So I just reduced the score to a 5 from what would have been a 6.

Reviewed by
Pauline B

From Bolton, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Perfect Last Minute Getaway
The palace hotel was perfect for what we needed for our stay; Smack bang in the city centre, Affordable with a luxury feel, close to restaurants, theatres etc... Simply perfect. Would highly recommend.

Reviewed by
R S

From Doncaster, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 Next