No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Palace Hotel

4AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Oxford Street , Manchester, M60 7HA
Situated right in the heart of vibrant Manchester on Oxford St, sits the iconic four-star Palace Hotel with its distinctive clock tower soaring over the Manchester skyline. For business, you are at the very centre of the commercial and business district, opposite Oxford Rd train station and just a 10 minute walk from Piccadilly station both of which are served frequently from Manchester International Airport. The hotel has the North of England's largest event space our spectacular Grand Room which can comfortably cater for up to 1000 guests, we also have a fully equipped business centre and a further 18 Conference and Event rooms perfect for a meeting, private dinner or celebration. For short break guests, you’re in an extremely convenient location to uncover everything that Manchester has to offer. The Palace Theatre is across the road, Harvey Nichols and the main shopping district is close-by as is the Opera House, Manchester Central, the MEN Arena for world-famous concerts and Bridgewater Hall, home to the amazing Halle Orchestra. For football fanatics, Manchester is home to United and City and both stadiums can be reached easily from The Palace Hotel. When there is so much to see and do, after a day exploring the city, our Tempus Bar and Restaurant is a haven to relax and unwind with its wide range of cocktails, coffees and mouth watering menu with food to suit your every mood.
Picture of The Palace Hotel, Manchester at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 433 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
72% recommended this accommodation to a friend 73% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly


Reviewed by
Alan C

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Staff were very accommodating. Hotel was clean. Excellent room size, however unfortunately was not airconditioned.

Reviewed by
Judith S

From Biggleswade, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

After paying extra for an upgrade we were very disapointed as it looked like a standard room.
The bed was barely a double bed never mind a king size which it was meant to be. The room was lovely in itself but after paying 80 pound I just expected more.

Reviewed by
keeley h

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Superb although Minor problems
My only complaints were that the air conditioning controls and iron were very outdated and worn out. The iron was leaking profusely and the air conditioning never seemed to respond. I like my room to be very cold after I shower and dress to leave. Everything else was superb.

Reviewed by
RUKI K

From Milton Keynes, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

lovely room ...but horrible view!
Good room, with an impressive high ceiling, friendly staff, extremely spacious and elegantly furnished hotel.
Toilet and room clean, with a powerful shower and working drain.
There was only one bad point: my room was on the same level of the train platform and I had to keep the curtains closed at all times if I wanted to have a bit of privacy as my window was opening exactly on the train tracks!!! A few times I found myself staring on the face of the train driver or passengers when the train was going slow.
I am pretty sure they should have said this earlier, so I knew what I was getting when booking the room. Also if you are a light sleeper that room would have been a disaster: the noise of a train every 10 minutes until midnight or later and starting again at 6am would probably give you trouble in sleeping.
Luckliy I am not a light sleeper so I didn't have much problems with it but I wouldn't be happy if this would happen again.

Reviewed by
jenika i

From london, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We were celebrating our 4th wedding anniversary and the hotel was lovely. It is a beautiful building which has been converted to a fabulous standard without loosing its character. Our room was amazing for the price and very quiet from traffic, especially being as we were on the main road, but the only downside was the noisy air con system. We could not sleep because of it and could not locate the regulator to turn it off!
The breakfast was very good with lots of choice and all fully topped up straight upto 10am.
Great location for resturants and parking.
A lovely weekend!!

Reviewed by
Julie Hyslop

From Bolton, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Amazing decor and ambience
Loved this hotel. Had gone past it on the train many times whilst a student travelling home from Liverpool to Huddersfield- always wondered what it was like inside. Staff were very friendly, the place itself is amazing- like staying In a Victorian museum. Added bonus of an upgrade to a deluxe room. Double deluxe was £109 without breakfast. Was worth this for the decor and general mood and atmosphere of this iconic building. Discovered the marble staircase on way out. Beautiful. Can't praise the place highly enough. Housekeeping of our room and the hallways and communal areas was spotless. Was worried after reading some reviews on here, but 215 was lovely. Will be back. When I put pictures on Facebook lots of my friends said it looked amazing!

Reviewed by
H Whittle

From Huddersfield, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent location for city break.....

Reviewed by
Stephen E

From Accrington, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Palace July 2014
bookings were made for family members from 83 to 21 years old. And all worked very well providing a perfect location and experience for the party.
only suggestion to make is that there are a few steps for more fragile / elderly residents to cope with and it reminded me that I need to mention needs of my parents when i make booking, but everthing handled brilliantly, many thanks

Reviewed by
Deborah t

From Leeds, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Graduation Trip
Very friendly staff combined with old worldy and quirky building made for a very succesful stay

Reviewed by
J Kelly

From Northern Ireland
Who stayed in July 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 Next