No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Palace Hotel

4AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Oxford Street , Manchester, M60 7HA
Situated right in the heart of vibrant Manchester on Oxford St, sits the iconic four-star Palace Hotel with its distinctive clock tower soaring over the Manchester skyline. For business, you are at the very centre of the commercial and business district, opposite Oxford Rd train station and just a 10 minute walk from Piccadilly station both of which are served frequently from Manchester International Airport. The hotel has the North of England's largest event space our spectacular Grand Room which can comfortably cater for up to 1000 guests, we also have a fully equipped business centre and a further 18 Conference and Event rooms perfect for a meeting, private dinner or celebration. For short break guests, you’re in an extremely convenient location to uncover everything that Manchester has to offer. The Palace Theatre is across the road, Harvey Nichols and the main shopping district is close-by as is the Opera House, Manchester Central, the MEN Arena for world-famous concerts and Bridgewater Hall, home to the amazing Halle Orchestra. For football fanatics, Manchester is home to United and City and both stadiums can be reached easily from The Palace Hotel. When there is so much to see and do, after a day exploring the city, our Tempus Bar and Restaurant is a haven to relax and unwind with its wide range of cocktails, coffees and mouth watering menu with food to suit your every mood.
Picture of The Palace Hotel, Manchester at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 471 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
72% recommended this accommodation to a friend 73% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Highly recommend
Loved this hotel. The room was lovely. Very clean and excellent quality. The price we paid for a last minute deal was fab too. We paid for breakfast separately £10 each and each time a tray came to the room £10 each time. Just so you are aware. Over all highly recommend

Reviewed by
Michelle W

From Buckley, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A nice " refuge: "
Made very welcome at reception. Room with part of the walls having the original tiles of the refuge building seemed a bit quirky at first but soon got used to them. The room was nice and warm,had all requirements eg plenty coffee/tea,, books with info regarding Manchester/surrounding areas , tv The bed was a large double or king size and was very comfortable. Only one small complaint the bathroom looked a bit tired and felt it could do with a bit of a facelift.

Reviewed by
Heather Jones

From Dukinfield, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great location & lovely place
We had a great one nights stay at this hotel we went to watch a show whilst in Manchester an it was a really good location! Close to train stations & close to lots of bars/restaurants!
Hotel was lovely really big rooms!

Reviewed by
N King

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A superb architectural building, to which has been made sensitive alterations as a hotel
A great surprise on entering the reception area, in terms of C19th ambience retained. Courteous advice offered at reception. A very large and room, retaining original panelling. Rest of décor was fine. It would benefit from air con,,though heritage issues might make this difficult. Bath enamel was worn and needed replacing. Bed-side lighting awkwardly situated for reading. A larger work desk would help for those needing so to do-and there was plenty of space for such. Overall a fine place and deserves good publicity.

Reviewed by
Laurence Terence Sharpe

From Orpington, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

You get what you pay for
The room price for this hotel was good at £67, however I was checked into a room on the 'mezzanine' floor, which was a long hike for the main building, looked out onto an alley way, and had no aircon. However the room its self was OK
After complaining about the lack of aircon I was moved to the second floor - much bigger room facing the main street. However it had not been vacuumed, and the fittings were looking a bit tired.
All in all not what I would expect from a 4* hotel, but not bad for £67 overall !!
If I stay there again I will insist on NOT having a room in the mezzanine area

Reviewed by
John M

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good but....
The room and general standard was all very good but was let down by when checking in the receptionist insisted the room hadn't been paid for and checked me in under someone else's name. This happened to several people in our party and was done in such a way that it felt like a scam! We will be watching our credit card bills closely!

Reviewed by
Andrew P

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Beautiful hotel with historic character complimented by staff with excellent customer service ethos.

Reviewed by
Linda R

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fabulous service
We received fabulous service from arrival right through to checking out. It was our 25th wedding nniversary and everyone made the stay very specal.

Reviewed by
angela l

From Warrington, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

2 night break
This hotel was a bargain price with excellent breakfast. The only problem we had was when we checked out, although we had booked the special rate for breakfast on late rooms for £10pp, this special rate had not been sent to the hotel, so the hotel was charging us £15pp until i showed them the email and they agreed to honour the special rate.

Reviewed by
Lisa J

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent
For a Sat night stay it was excellent value, very big hotel but old and stylish !!
Breakfast was ok, eggs were hard and the bacon was fatty but overall the stay was good value for money

Reviewed by
Mark T

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 Next