You have not entered any valid search criteria.

Please enter a keyword and perform your search again.

Reviews - The Palace Hotel

4

Oxford Street, Manchester, M60 7HA

Price From 292 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (175)

78% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • P Weller

  • June 2015

Accommodation experience

Very pleasant staff and good customer service.

The bar food was okay, but expensive considering the quality. There are good places to eat in close proximity to the hotel, which offer better value for money.

  • C Whitfield

  • June 2015

very run down

The reception area and outside of this hotel were very grand indeed.

We had booked a standard double room and were told we had been upgraded to a superior. Believe me there was nothing superior about the room. The windows were bolted down so they could not be opened and there was no air con in the room let alone a thermostat to control the temperature. It was boiling. We were told we could have a fan and a maid brought us one. The bathroom floor was dirty and had cracked tiles on it. The bed was not firm at all. We did not pre-order breakfast and we were twice asked at check in if we would like breakfast which we said we did not twice. When we paid our bill on checking out we had indeed been charged for breakfast and had to go back to the hotel and get a refund for this.

  • Christine W

  • June 2015

Beautiful Hotel

Cannot fault the hotel.

The room was great we booked a standard double which had 2 double beds. Staff were all polite, friendly and helpful. Would definitely stay again.

  • A Taylor

  • June 2015

A nice stay with a let down

Hotel is lovely.

The building is fantastic, the decor is great, and the staff were pleasant. However our room is right next to a construction site and we were woken at 7:30 with the usual banging, buzz saws etc. I realise there's not much they could do about next door, but I also think they were doing construction in the hotel itself near our room, which is where I think the majority of the noise came from. I'm 90% sure this is true, but I wasn't able to confirm because on checkout, we weren't asked how our stay was, so weren't given an opportunity to say anything. I realise I could've said anyway but it wouldn't have benefited me at all. Because of this, I would recommend this hotel for a short stay only. If you'll be out all day and waking up early, the noise probably won't matter. But if you wanted to relax in your room at all during the day, well...you've no chance.

  • Martin O'Shaughnessy

  • June 2015

Not 4*

The hotel needs serious updating with ripped carpets in the rooms and in the hallways in some cases repaired with gaffer tape.

Trolleys left lying around hallways and rotten windows. We also paid in cash on arrival only to be asked to settle when we left. When I told the receptionist we had in fact already paid she asked 'if I was sure' before looking to her supervisor who reluctantly nodded, making us feel as if we were trying to avoid paying. Shame really as although we did get a good price via a net booking we were expecting 4* accommodation, this was more like 2*.

  • Simon S

  • June 2015

Overnight stay

  • Hazel G

  • June 2015

Beautiful

Fabulous hotel, beautiful room in an interesting historic building.

Would definitely return

  • David B

  • May 2015

Lovely building with large rooms would definitely stay again

  • Kat L

  • May 2015

Room upgrade given at checkin but unfortunately right above building works so woken at 8am both days by incessant hammering.

Bathroom clean but with some signs of wear & tear and items needing replacement.

  • Danny F

  • May 2015

Staying in room 256 Palace Hotel Manchester

Check in took around 10 mins because even though there was a long queue there was only one member of staff on duty.

The keys to my room didn't work initially and had to be let by one of the cleaners, then I had to go back down to reception to get them done right. I ordered a newspaper for the morning which never arrived. The room itself was very spacious and generally clean and tidy however, when I picked up a cup to make a drink there was a hair stuck to it and a chip out of the rim. The air conditioning didn't work and in fact blew out warm air on the cold setting. There are two prominent iron burn marks on the carpet. The were cracked tiles all around the room. In the bathroom there was black mold around the edge of the bath and loose tiling alongside the basin pedestal and the basin had a massive spider-like crack in it which was about the size of a saucer. With the breakfast the selection was reasonable although I couldn't find any red or brown sauce and the bacon, eggs and fried bread were overcooked. Although I say I would stay there again I would demand a better room.