The Palace Hotel

4

Oxford Street, Manchester, M60 7HA

Price From 116.44 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (369)

75% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • C Douglas

  • February 2015

Breakfast

Breakfast although buffet style could have been warmer and the waitress was slow with the coffee and toast.

  • Paul S

  • February 2015

Discount Room, Discount Experience.

We booked what we thought was a bargain a £220 room for £77.

However, we were very disappointed. We arrived at 2pm to check in and were directed to our room. The fire door for our corridor had a black box on the bottom right hand corner which was alarming a series of beeps every 3-5 seconds, this was reported to reception at roughly 5 o'clock following a fire alarm test, which we were not warned about. We were told someone would be sent to sort it out, but it continued all night and for the duration of our stay. We had no hot water in the shower and the hair dryer in the room didn't work. When checking out we were asked if we had rang reception about any of these issues, we had the fire alarm but not the water as so close to check out time. The receptionist said "oh sorry, have a nice day"

A reduced room rate should not mean a reduced quality of experience.

  • Ian M

  • February 2015

Elbow weekend

the Hotel is brilliant (customer services restaurant etc).

the room we stayed in was very tired and doors all around us could do with closers on them as all night doors would bang very loudly. glad that it is having a makeover soon and that is the only reason I would be happy to return.

  • j wildey

  • February 2015

Great staff let down by a tired hotel

A continuous door alarm forced us to move rooms at 3am Upon my return to the original room I discovered there was no hot water for a bath.......so a tepid shower it was.

  • Charles D

  • February 2015

Amazing

When we arrived at the hotel we were amazed at the size of the reception let alone the hotel, very grand entrance.

the receptionist was very helpful and gave us directions to our rooms as we had taken my mum with us on a theatre trip. we managed to find the rooms no problem. we checked our room first and it was a twin which we were a little upset at, but the room was lovely, so we thought we'd check my mums first before settling in ours. when we opened the door to my mums room, it was amazing, it had a lovely four poster double bed, the room was toastie warm, so we kind of changed rooms, which my mum says she didn't mind but I didn't want to pass up the chance of staying in this room. Had an amazing night sleep and a lovely weekend, and the difference in rooms was crazy to say we paid the same price, so think we had a really good deal.

  • S Downey

  • February 2015

Wonderful large hotel - would benefit from reviewing plumbing

The Palace Hotel is a striking venue.

The large dome in Reception is striking - as is the service from those working there who spent time orientating us to the city and recommending eateries. The hotel is huge. A warren of rooms. The night my sister and I stayed there was a wedding on and another awards event - but the hotel was so large it could accommodate both easily and not impact on us at all.our only gripe regarded the bathroom: the toilet was tricky to flush and took a long time to refill and in the morning there was no hot water for the shower - a basic requirement.

  • Paul Schofield

  • February 2015

Ideal location

Lovely hotel and had a thoroughly enjoyable stay,just took 10 mins to get served at the bar.

Can understand the young girl behind the bar has other duties as she was putting out condements on the dining tables but she clearly saw us and smiled but still took another 5 mins to serve us.. No harm done and had another lovely stay, thankyou!!!!

  • Shane Davis

  • January 2015

The best hotel in Manchester

Perfect old & classy, unbelievable style & perfect experience.

Food, service, everything. The whole package. Just book it, you won't be disappointed. Also the ceilings in the rooms are massive!.

  • m dunne

  • January 2015

spot on!!

Cant complain about this hotel.

Rooms really nice with ultra high cielings. Staff helpful and friendly. And location was perfect. All in all a good experience.

  • Graham T

  • January 2015

Manchester - A City with character

The Room was a lovely size with a very comfortable bed.

Although there is no parking on site the Euro carpark just around the corner was good value at £8.50 for 24 hours. Very central for most of the sites, bang opposite the theatre. Very nice hotel but if you got a room on the railway side it might be a little noisy.