No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Palace Hotel

4AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Oxford Street , Manchester, M60 7HA
Situated right in the heart of vibrant Manchester on Oxford St, sits the iconic four-star Palace Hotel with its distinctive clock tower soaring over the Manchester skyline. For business, you are at the very centre of the commercial and business district, opposite Oxford Rd train station and just a 10 minute walk from Piccadilly station both of which are served frequently from Manchester International Airport. The hotel has the North of England's largest event space our spectacular Grand Room which can comfortably cater for up to 1000 guests, we also have a fully equipped business centre and a further 18 Conference and Event rooms perfect for a meeting, private dinner or celebration. For short break guests, you’re in an extremely convenient location to uncover everything that Manchester has to offer. The Palace Theatre is across the road, Harvey Nichols and the main shopping district is close-by as is the Opera House, Manchester Central, the MEN Arena for world-famous concerts and Bridgewater Hall, home to the amazing Halle Orchestra. For football fanatics, Manchester is home to United and City and both stadiums can be reached easily from The Palace Hotel. When there is so much to see and do, after a day exploring the city, our Tempus Bar and Restaurant is a haven to relax and unwind with its wide range of cocktails, coffees and mouth watering menu with food to suit your every mood.
Picture of The Palace Hotel, Manchester at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 426 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
72% recommended this accommodation to a friend 73% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Almost an enjoyable stay
Stayed just for the Saturday night in a large double room which was really nice and quiet with a comfortable bed and all the usual amenities you would expect. My only complaint was about the receptionist when I checked in. I pointed out that I had accidentally ordered two breakfasts when booking online but she was quite churlish and insisted on charging me for two although I was clearly travelling alone. That kind of thing is likely to have me looking for an alternative hotel next time.

Reviewed by
gary thompson

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great!
The Palace is a beautiful building and the room we were given was very large and clean. I would definitely stay again.

Reviewed by
Luke R

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Another hotel with great character
An old Assurance Company headquarters of classical architecture of the time. My "room" was a suite of very generous proportions. A great location for night out in Manchester.

Reviewed by
Kevin Wilkins

From Newtownabbey, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly
Friendly staff, good customer service, old fashioned decor, good room.

Reviewed by
Jane A

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Palace doesn't look fantastic from the outside, very dirty looking and industrial but the room we had was large, modern and very nice. The bar was nice and the ladies behind the bar were fun and had a laugh with us.

Reviewed by
neil bassett

From Leigh, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Return visit
This is our third time at the Palace hotel , we have stayed in quite a few hotels in Manchester and the Palace is value for money on a Saturday night . Love the Victorian detail of the building . The only negative was we kept getting lost from room 5321 not enough signs from that area to reception . Staff helpful and friendly , breakfast good value .

Reviewed by
G Poole

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Our stay...
Awesome stay - start to finish, from a grand entrance/check-in to a really nice room (we stayed in the Excaliber rooms which are particularly special).

Reviewed by
Dipak P

From Coventry, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excelleny stay
All very enjoyable.

Reviewed by
Philip H

From Penrith, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Mouldy smelling room
The room smelled of mould with no ventilation and unable to open windows.
The breakfast can only be described as a shambles.
Cold food and plates with long delays between the food being replenished.

Reviewed by
Jeff O

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fine accommodation
Good quality room with extremely high ceilings. Hotel is like an old banking hall/Victorian railway station - interesting architecture inside with loads of tiles.
Didn't use services.
Hotel was more expensive than I would normally use - other accommodation was full up due to football. Happy to visit again (if the price is right).

Reviewed by
David N

From Spalding, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next