No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Palace Hotel

4AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Oxford Street , Manchester, M60 7HA
Situated right in the heart of vibrant Manchester on Oxford St, sits the iconic four-star Palace Hotel with its distinctive clock tower soaring over the Manchester skyline. For business, you are at the very centre of the commercial and business district, opposite Oxford Rd train station and just a 10 minute walk from Piccadilly station both of which are served frequently from Manchester International Airport. The hotel has the North of England's largest event space our spectacular Grand Room which can comfortably cater for up to 1000 guests, we also have a fully equipped business centre and a further 18 Conference and Event rooms perfect for a meeting, private dinner or celebration. For short break guests, you’re in an extremely convenient location to uncover everything that Manchester has to offer. The Palace Theatre is across the road, Harvey Nichols and the main shopping district is close-by as is the Opera House, Manchester Central, the MEN Arena for world-famous concerts and Bridgewater Hall, home to the amazing Halle Orchestra. For football fanatics, Manchester is home to United and City and both stadiums can be reached easily from The Palace Hotel. When there is so much to see and do, after a day exploring the city, our Tempus Bar and Restaurant is a haven to relax and unwind with its wide range of cocktails, coffees and mouth watering menu with food to suit your every mood.
Picture of The Palace Hotel, Manchester at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 471 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
72% recommended this accommodation to a friend 73% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Weekend break
Hotel in an excellent position for exploring the city, or getting out of it for Tatton Flower Show. Hotel is huge, with a real history, and lovely Art Deco type features. Friendly staff and a good room.

Reviewed by
D Pearson

From Thirsk, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Never again

Reviewed by
Daniel D

From Switzerland
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Break away
Very good service from staff to fix air con issue fast.

Reviewed by
P Pendlebury

From Blackburn, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Beds
The mattresses could do with replacing as ours had a dip in them but the location was very nice as we had a room over the canal and it was larger than our friends who also stayed here.

Reviewed by
daniel r

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent Customer Service
My stay was based on the need to travel to Manchester for Business. I must say that upon entry of the building, I was taken back a little. The building looked magnificent, the standard double room however was not to my specific taste. After communicating this with the receptionist (Yasmin) I was delighted to hear that upgrades were available at a very reasonable price. Once moved into the new room; the bathroom was massive, the bed extremely comfortable, the bar had excellent service, and the whole experience was a pleasure. I would recommend this hotel, and emphasise that it is excellent value for money. Thank you to all the staff for the experience, and I look forward to staying there whenever I am in Manchester.

Reviewed by
Kiran H

From St Albans, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly


Reviewed by
Alan C

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Staff were very accommodating. Hotel was clean. Excellent room size, however unfortunately was not airconditioned.

Reviewed by
Judith S

From Biggleswade, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

After paying extra for an upgrade we were very disapointed as it looked like a standard room.
The bed was barely a double bed never mind a king size which it was meant to be. The room was lovely in itself but after paying 80 pound I just expected more.

Reviewed by
keeley h

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Superb although Minor problems
My only complaints were that the air conditioning controls and iron were very outdated and worn out. The iron was leaking profusely and the air conditioning never seemed to respond. I like my room to be very cold after I shower and dress to leave. Everything else was superb.

Reviewed by
RUKI K

From Milton Keynes, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

lovely room ...but horrible view!
Good room, with an impressive high ceiling, friendly staff, extremely spacious and elegantly furnished hotel.
Toilet and room clean, with a powerful shower and working drain.
There was only one bad point: my room was on the same level of the train platform and I had to keep the curtains closed at all times if I wanted to have a bit of privacy as my window was opening exactly on the train tracks!!! A few times I found myself staring on the face of the train driver or passengers when the train was going slow.
I am pretty sure they should have said this earlier, so I knew what I was getting when booking the room. Also if you are a light sleeper that room would have been a disaster: the noise of a train every 10 minutes until midnight or later and starting again at 6am would probably give you trouble in sleeping.
Luckliy I am not a light sleeper so I didn't have much problems with it but I wouldn't be happy if this would happen again.

Reviewed by
jenika i

From london, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next