Reviews - The Palace Hotel


Oxford Street, Manchester, M60 7HA

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (274)

77% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • Marjorie Y

  • July 2015


Such a Beautiful hotel.all original int & exterior would like to move in permanently!'

  • C Swain

  • July 2015


The hotel is in a great location with Deansgate locks and Deangate/Spinningfields within 10 minute walks.

The hotel is hugely spacious and the rooms are massive with great, high ceilings and windows. We were on the road side, which was a bit noisey at night, but the room was clean and the bed comfy. The bath is lovely and deep, although the A/C in our room didn't work and as the windows do not open it did get quite hot at night.

Breakfast was lovely with a great choice of food no matter what your preference.

To sum up - a charming, old fashioned hotel with plenty of charcter that you will not get in any other hotel.

  • emma c

  • June 2015


The Palace was well worth the money.

It is a beautiful Hotel. The grand foyer is amazing. I went with my mother. Our twin room was enormous. So spacious and the bathroom was almost as big as the room itself. Very clean and i had no problems being woken up by guests in the night even though there was a charity ball event happening at the Hotel the night i stayed. Location is great. Close to transport links. Excellent value for money. I didn't eat here though as i chose to go out to eat but menu was good. Definitely stay here again.

  • Paul G

  • June 2015

Really nice hotel

Lovely stay at a thoroughly quirky hotel.

Only niggle was reception, very disorganised with long queues

  • j james

  • June 2015

very disappointed

The hotel was beautiful.

On arrival we were offered an upgrade for an extra 15pounds but we were not given one as the room was still a standard double. the room was very nice but was not upgraded. As this was booked for a special occasion we were a little upset about the upgrade. But as far as the hotel goes it was lovely.

  • Phil Barnett

  • June 2015

Two nights at Palace Hotel

This is a grand but oddly substandard hotel.

It has impressive public areas but my bedroom was very disappointing. It had been formed by an uncomfortable partitioning of a much bigger space. It's faded brown carpet was not clean. Paint was peeling from the cracked ceiling. Windows did not open. The bath was disgustingly damaged and rusty. It was not useable as a bath to lie in and unpleasant to stand in while showering. Breakfast service was very slow.

  • Robin Beach

  • June 2015

Gorgeous building in need of TLC

When you walk into the Palace hotel, there is a definite WOW factor.

This is a fantastic Victorian building with so much character and fabulous original features. Our room was on the 3rd floor and was generously proportioned and well appointed, if a little faded around the edges. The bathroom though was another matter. The room itself was large and spacious, but the bath was damaged, and the sink was cracked. The bathroom needed to be brought up to date desperately. What you have at the Palace Hotel is a once 5 star property which has found itself slightly on the wrong side of the city, and now finds itself needing a spruce up. On the other hand, the staff could not be more helpful and friendly.

  • P Weller

  • June 2015

Accommodation experience

Very pleasant staff and good customer service.

The bar food was okay, but expensive considering the quality. There are good places to eat in close proximity to the hotel, which offer better value for money.

  • C Whitfield

  • June 2015

very run down

The reception area and outside of this hotel were very grand indeed.

We had booked a standard double room and were told we had been upgraded to a superior. Believe me there was nothing superior about the room. The windows were bolted down so they could not be opened and there was no air con in the room let alone a thermostat to control the temperature. It was boiling. We were told we could have a fan and a maid brought us one. The bathroom floor was dirty and had cracked tiles on it. The bed was not firm at all. We did not pre-order breakfast and we were twice asked at check in if we would like breakfast which we said we did not twice. When we paid our bill on checking out we had indeed been charged for breakfast and had to go back to the hotel and get a refund for this.

  • Christine W

  • June 2015

Beautiful Hotel

Cannot fault the hotel.

The room was great we booked a standard double which had 2 double beds. Staff were all polite, friendly and helpful. Would definitely stay again.